1998 Chevrolet Malibu LX 3.1 V6 from North America


If someone wants to sell you one RUN!


Had to pull the transmission out. Cracked valve body made by steal channel balls. AC works only on speeds three and up. Transmission ran hot and had to put a cooler on the transmission. ABS light comes on. AC would come on and off.

General Comments:

This car is a lemon and will never buy one again. Buy a Honda next time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th May, 2005

19th Nov 2015, 21:13

I realize you are unhappy with the one particular car you owned, but the fact remains that the Malibu is a good, highly dependable car, and while it is clear from the way you state things that your knowledge of cars and their mechanical issues is limited, you were more than likely a victim of a seriously dishonest repairman than a lemon of a car, since the problem you mentioned is more than simple to fake, especially if the customer is in no way mechanically inclined. The fact that you had trouble with this particular car does in no way mean that the whole line of cars are lemons, but that people react and respond poorly without objectivity when voicing their complaints; this is unfortunately, normal.

23rd Nov 2015, 18:47

We have a garage kept 2002 and have nothing but praise. We have had to replace bulbs in the rear lights a bit more than usual. But just routine maintenance and fluid changes. We have the 6 cylinder. Has pretty good power and a nice sound system. Very easy to park in the city. Mileage to date is 77000.

1998 Chevrolet Malibu LS from North America


Nice family car


Replaced transmission at 23,000 miles.

First set of brake pads at 13,000, second replacement at 23,000 was a full set of brakes and rotors.

Coolant warning light is stuck showing a problem. No Problem.

General Comments:

Nice riding car, comfortable, smooth ride whether city or highway driving. Great pick up and fast response.

Maintenance very high in all areas.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th May, 2005

29th May 2005, 19:43

We have had more problems with the 1998 Malibu LS than any other car we've owned. We have replaced 3 wheel bearings, manifold gasket, head gaskets, muffler, struts, many brakes, too many rust & corrosion problems to mention. We'll never buy another Chev product because of the Malibu. We had a 1990 Beretta and because they stopped making them we bought the Malibu which replaced the Beretta. No problems with the Beretta in 9 years so I guess they decided to substitute them with the miserable Malibu.

Big Mistake!!

1998 Chevrolet Malibu from North America


My first and Last


My ABS light comes on from time to time. The car would go dead making a right turn. I took it to the dealership, to find it was a loose vacuum hose. The passanger mirror fell off. I do not get good gas mileage.

General Comments:

Nice looking car,beautiful body style.Handles very well on the road.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th May, 2005

1998 Chevrolet Malibu 3.1 V6 from Guatemala


A very nice, powerful and elegant car


Minimum problems. Just the usual.

General Comments:

I got this car on August of 2002 with 75000 miles on it. Now, after 2 years the car stills working good. I think that was the good purchase I made, I did not have problems with this car. Runs good, it's elegant, a good 3.1 V6 machine. What else I need? Just make the service on time (every 3000 miles). I recommend this car to the people that loves GM cars. And yes, I would like to have another Chevy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd February, 2005

1998 Chevrolet Malibu from North America


What a piece of junk!


The passenger side power window button does not work.

When you unlock the car doors the right backseat door does not open from the inside. If there is a passenger in the back on the right you have to open their door from outside.

The car makes a loud rattling noise when it is started. The noise goes away after driving a few minutes.

At 98,000 miles the gas gage and temp. gage quit working. The gas is always on empty and temp is always on the lowest.

At 98,000 miles the dash light indicating your bright lights are on quit working.

The car sucks gas like there's no tomorrow.

The radio doesn't work. It quit working in August of 2003.

When the car is driven in rain or snow the ABS light occasionally comes on. Mechanic said that Malibu's have that problem because the wires get wet under the car.

The right back brake light quit working in 2002. It is something electrical.

The a/c & heat blower quit working in 2002. We would have to drive fast for the defrost to blow hot air on the windshield.

Car makes rattling noises in the rear.

General Comments:

The car is nice looking and roomy.

The trunk is big.

The seats are comfortable.

I hope to get rid of this car soon, but the trade in value is so low.

I don't think I'll ever buy an American made car again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th February, 2005

16th Feb 2005, 14:01

You may have child-proof locks on the rear doors. There should be a small lever on the edge of the door after you open it.