1998 Chevrolet Malibu 3.1 from North America


Good lease vehicle, but ditch after 36,000 miles


Power Steering Hose leak which is a $200 repair.

Very slow coolant leak is a broken manifold gasket which is another $700 repair.

General Comments:

To date, I loved my Malibu. I had a bunch of little (and not so little) things break when the car was under warranty such as the gas cap, split folding back, and ABS locking up.

But $900 for repairs for 2 faulty parts on a car with only 52,000 miles is unacceptable. I might be inclined to pay and keep the car, but after reading this site, I see that the manifold gasket is a recurring problem with the Malibu. I'm thinking I should trade the car in now and cut my loses.

I hate to do it, but I'm probably going to get a Toyota or a Honda like all the yuppies I work with. It's ashame because I always buy American. I think that's about to end.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th January, 2003

18th Jan 2003, 00:01

Did you have a bad experience with your Celebrity as well?

1998 Chevrolet Malibu 3.6 liter from North America


Overall this car is a good family sedan with something still left for the parents


Put new battery in shortly after purchase $40.00 at approximately 50,000 miles.

At roughly 55,000 miles the lights for the gear shift indicator on the floor board went out. Still not fixed. Luckily there is still the dash board gear indicator.

Replaced front brake pads and one rotor $100.00 at about 65,000 miles.

Just replaced passenger side brake light bulb $2.11. It was also somewhat melted, but feel freely from the socket.

If using the cigerette lighter and you allow it to "pop out" itself it will completely eject out onto the floorboard!

Find that replacing wiper blades is needed to often.

In this car I also experience some front end vibrations at higher speeds. I have tried several things to remedy this to no avail.

General Comments:

This car has some serious power and with proper tires handles like a race car.

The interior is roomy and quite comfortable for its price range.

The interior lighting in this car is excellent with a dome light and lights on the review mirror.

The daytime driving lights are an excellent feature on this car.

However if entering a military base headlamps are supposed to be turn off and that is impossible with this feature.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th January, 2003

4th Feb 2003, 18:49

The things you commented on are for the most part small. The car over all is a good car. When you come upon a military base press down on the emergency brake slightly to cut the headlights.

5th Nov 2005, 12:13

Very interesting; in reference to the above post about pressing down on the emergency brake slightly to cut the headlights, I also own a '98 Chevy Malibu. It has DRLs too and usually they work just fine, but once in a good while I notice the automatic headlights don't come on at night. I remember having to reset my emergency brake at the same time. Correct me if I'm wrong, but if the headlights don't come on at night, I'd either have to reset the brake or just use the power switch on the turn signal lever. Will experiment with this at sundown. My car's been okay, but I guess it's not as well-assembled like other cars, say, Buick Century or Toyota Camry. I haven't given my overall review yet, but will sooner or later.

1998 Chevrolet Malibu from North America


A great buy!


The button to pop the trunk from inside the car does not work.

General Comments:

The car is very comfortable and it is very fast.

It has good handling and rides very smooth.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th January, 2003

1998 Chevrolet Malibu LS 3.1 (3.1L) V6 from North America


High Maintenance Family Sedan


Since I have own this car, I have had a lot of the problem described in others review happen to my car. In the 2 years I have own this car I have had the HVAC Control Head replace, Engine replaced due to Piston problem, the battery had to be replaced after busting, the replacement engine had to be replaced for the same reason (piston), the Alternator was replaced in August 2002, and right now this day 1/8/2003, it is currently at the Chevrolet dealership having the Lower Intake Manifold gasket replaced for approx $752.

General Comments:

I love my car when it is functioning properly. This car seems to has more problems that currently exist in newer Malibu's and it is just disappointing that GM will do NOTHING to fix these problems. I have an extended warranty on my car that expires at 127K miles, BUT they would not cover the Manifold Gasket because gaskets and seals are NOT cover unless they are needing replacement in conjunction with a failed part. So I had to foot the bill myself. GM is well aware of this problem and offers not financial support or moral comfort when dealing with this manifold problem. I am very disappointed as will never buy a Chevrolet again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th January, 2003