1998 Chevrolet Malibu LX from North America


It is worst car I have ever owned


The AC cycles on and off a $400 fix.

The front brakes have been replaced with rotors.

The ignition switch froze-up. $600 to repair with a $250 tow bill.

The transmission is going out.

General Comments:

I wish I had never had bought this car. It has been a real problem. This car is a real plus for the Honda and Toyota. You never know what is going to happen to it next. The dealer service is very bad, they don't know a thing about the problems. The first and last GM I have ever owned.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th March, 2003

1998 Chevrolet Malibu LS 3.1 V Six from North America


A money pit that'll drain your repair budget and your patience


Replaced lower intake manifold gasket at 57,000 miles. Rear brake wheel cylinder was leaking at 50,000 miles. Heater/air fan doesn't work on low speeds.

General Comments:

The Malibu should never have been rated as Motor Trend's Car of the Year in 1997. Someone was bribed for that one. GM has tens-of-thousands of claims against them for the leaking intake manifold gaskets that plague every Malibu owner. Repair price for this is $750 at the dealer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th March, 2003

18th Mar 2003, 21:38

I absolutely agree with you. GM is well aware of the problem with the intake manifold gaskets leaking. Mines started leaking right about 84K miles. I work at a dealership, and that's how I found that this problem is something that GM is well aware of. It is a very pricey repair. It cost me $545 dollars to get it repaired and that's INCLUDING a 45% Part and Labor discount.

1998 Chevrolet Malibu V6 from North America


A reliable, fuel-efficient joy to drive


At 60000 miles battery died on a very hot day without any warning.

I have a slow coolant leak currently.

The A/C flicks on and off and feels a little weak. My research has shown that this is a known bug with this car, but I have not seen any known fixes. Please let me know if anyone has been able to fix it.

Brakes grind when wet. I have not had to replace brakes/pads yet though.

General Comments:

My Mailbu is efficient, comfortable and has good pick-up.

In over two years, I have only had one urgent problem when the battery died on me. The A/C flicking on and off at will is a little frustrating, but I just live with it.

I don't doubt all the reviews that say it's been high-maintenance for them, but this has not been my experience at all. Perhaps its because my Malibu is loaded with a V6, premium wheels, CD player, leather interior. I'm not sure why all that would matter except maybe it got better treatment at the plant?

My husband has a Ford Taurus and says my Malibu's handling, brakes and fuel efficiency are all notably better than his.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th March, 2003

27th Apr 2003, 12:35

It doesn't matter. My Malibu was loaded also, and has been a money pit.

Your slow coolant leak is a very serious, very common problem with Malibus, and any other GM car with the same engine. It's the intake manifold gasket. Get it fixed NOW or you will be in for big trouble. It causes coolant to leak back into the engine, which will require a major repair, at a very high price. Trust me, I know.

1998 Chevrolet Malibu LS 3.1 from North America


A worthless piece of CRAP!


Everything and Anything is wrong. What's the deal with the "Anti Theft System" on this vehicle that will not let me start my car!

Hub Bearings... replaced 2X

ABS...on and then off... on and then off

Breaks...lucky if they last 6 months!

Tires...I have a better chance on this car running without tires!

General Comments:

Is there any way all 98 Malibu owners can get together and let it be known to GM that this particular vehicle is NO GOOD!

If anyone feels the need to do so please email me at I_hate_my_98_malibu@yahoo.com.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd March, 2003

3rd Apr 2003, 08:13

I purchased a 1998 Malibu in 1998 and have had problems ever since. For the past two and a half years it has become very temperamental. At times it will not start. Give it 10-20 minutes and then it will start right up. This can happen at any time. First thing in the morning, after stopping at the store or any time. GM dealer said they could not help unless it does it right at the shop. And like many of you I had the intake manifold gasket replaced. Once that was done, my mechanic indicated that one of the lifters may be going bad. I am trying to hold on long enough to get rid of this imitation of a car.

18th Jul 2003, 06:37

My mother purchased a 1998 Malibu in 2001 with 23,000 miles on it. The car now has 41,000 miles. So far she has had alt. replaced 2 times, which required two batteries to be installed. The anti-theft system will not allow her to start her car often. It is a real annoyance, especially if she is in a hurry to get somewhere. If anyone has figured out a way to solve this problem please let me know at esillery@bellsouth.net.