2000 Chevrolet Silverado Reviews - Page 7 of 15

2000 Chevrolet Silverado c2500 6.0L Gas from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 6.0L Gas Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance58500 miles
Previous carChevrolet Silverado

Summary:

Would buy another Silverado, but would get a diesel next time

Faults:

3rd and 4th doors were almost impossible to shut and latch when it was very cold (20-30 degrees F) out. Dealer tried to fix many times before replacing latches with new design that fixed problem.

Cold breeze in passenger side foot well from under dashboard. Dealer tried several times to fix with limited success, finally replaced complete heater and ductwork unit in dash which corrected the problem.

CD player skips after extended use. Dealer replaced, new unit is better, but occasionally skips when hot.

6.0L gas engine is underpowered for this truck at Denver, CO elevations. When on cruise control at highway speeds the transmission frequently shifts out of overdrive to climb hills when speed is 70mph or higher. Too much weight and wind-resistance for gearing and horsepower/torque curve.

6.0L gas engine must be revved to pull camper and cargo trailer up hills, results in 9-10 mpg. Truck only gets 14-16mpg when unladen if I don't go any faster than 68mph; above 68mph the mileage drops quickly.

General Comments:

Nice truck, very comfortable for a 3/4 ton truck, but the 6.0L gas engine is not powerful enough for what I do. I would've bought the new diesel, but demand was so high Chevy wouldn't sell me one at the time I ordered this one.

This is an extended-cab, 8' box truck, when I tried to order it Chevy wouldn't allow my dealer to place the order for several months and then they wouldn't build it with the diesel. To get the truck ordered I had to write nasty letters to GM on their website, surprisingly the very next day my dealer called with the OK to place the order-- I'd been waiting several months to give them my money and they couldn't take it. What a screwy way to run your business.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th December, 2004

22nd Mar 2005, 16:50

That is really something that you had to practically beg Chevy to take your money. I am fond of GM, but some of their business practices do often times leave me scratching my head.

Thank you for a very nice, complete, review. It was good of you to mention about the altitudes you are operating the truck at, possibly causing some of power issues. I do not live in a high area, but have experienced those altitude effects on vehicle performance, when I have been on travel. I was surprised at how pronounced it was.

I guess the real question, for those of us who live at sea level, is how does the Silvarado compare to other comparable vehicles in that environment? I know they run tremendously well here.

Regards.

2000 Chevrolet Silverado 2500 LT 6.0 liter from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 6.0 liter Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired200 miles
Most recent distance81000 miles
Previous carNissan Pickup

Summary:

Good Truck, but there is room for improvement

Faults:

I have the bump/Clunk in the drive train. I have been quoted $330 to fix.

My fuel sending unit is staring to get temperamental.

The service 4X4 light is coming on, and I am told that the fix is to replace the switch?

General Comments:

I like this truck ergonomically, it fits me well. When I buy another truck it will be a Quad cab long bed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th September, 2004

29th May 2012, 21:03

The bump/clunk is axle wrap, causing the slip yoke on the drive shaft to clunk... can be fixed permanently by putting spring clamps on the leaf springs. Cost $15 at Autozone, and can be installed in 15 minutes.

2000 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 4.8 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired22000 miles
Most recent distance58000 miles
Previous carChevrolet S-10

Summary:

Good full size, but not without its' problems

Faults:

Drive train had a clunking sound when rounding a corner and accelerating. Still under warranty, the dealer's fix was to lube the drive shaft yoke. There are TSB's (Technical Service Bulletins) out on this very problem, as hundreds of Chevy trucks, covering many years, also encounter this clunking.

For the most part, the noise has gone away. It's just something you might have to live with if you buy one.

Another nuisance was a vibration, almost like a clunk, felt in the steering wheel. Again, a TSB indicates that the intermediate steering shaft needs to be removed and lubricated. This was done under warranty, and I've had no further problems.

The latest problem I've had with it is a bad fuel sending unit, which is the component in the gas tank that sends a signal to the fuel gauge.

Again, there are many GM vehicles with this problem; do a Google search and you'll see. The problem stems from additives in the gasoline that deteriorate the contacts of the fuel sending unit. This causes the unit to send erroneous information to the fuel gauge. The gauge can read full one minute, and the next minute, it will slam down to empty.

A possible remedy for this, short of replacing the sending unit (dealer quote of $550) is to add some fuel injector cleaner to the gas tank. I did this twice, and it actually worked. I did this only last week, so I can't say for sure if it's going to stay that way, but it appears to have remedied the problem.

General Comments:

I like the roominess of the truck and its' load-carrying capability. I dislike having to park it, though. I previously drove an S-10, which was a great truck. With this one, I don't enjoy city driving it or parking it.

As another reviewer mentioned, the sheet metal is thin. I've dented my third door, simply by accidentally running into a 55 gallon plastic drum. I managed to pull about 2/3 of the dent out using a Dent King tool.

I will switch back to an S-10 when I'm done with this truck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd July, 2004

15th Nov 2004, 22:08

If you take good care of your truck now you won't be 'done' with it for a LONG TIME!

11th Mar 2005, 19:22

That clunk when turning? There is a coupler in the steering column that needs about 2 minutes of your dealer's time to lubricate. My 2001 did that, and the dealer in Walnut Creek Ca had it fixed before I could get to the waiting room. That was at about 6500 miles; I am now at 79,600 and the problem has not returned. Oh, and so far, $42.00 in repairs in that mileage.

24th Feb 2007, 09:36

Hah! I realize I'm beating a dead horse here, but these problems listed above are very well documented on the internet.

Now, what is driving me nuts is how people are saying "this will be the last Chev I buy", or "shoulda bought a Toyota", or whatever.

In 7 years of ownership, and 100k miles, I've encountered all of those issues. But, these are the only issues I've encountered. Easily less than $600 in repairs in 100k miles is a great deal in my book.

Not to bash anyone who has "come of age", but replacing a vehicle over a few hundred dollar repair is absolutely insane, and it's something my dad would do... and he's in his 60's. If a $300 fuel pump drives you buying a $20k compact P/U that down the road, it too will have issues, then be my guest. But, I cannot fathom buying a different rig based on such minor issues.

Ahhhh, I feel better. I guess I'll wash some dishes or something. =D.

JT

Lynnwood, WA.

24th Feb 2007, 12:20

I agree people overeact and then spend a bundle on a smaller underpowered compromised vehicle. I would also never go from an existing full size to a small truck. I would buy a car with a trunk and tie the lid down... I recently had to buy tires on a truck that I now own. It's a lot cheaper than running out as you say and plunking down $35,000 because I had to spend money on replacement tires.

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 54 reviews