2000 Chevrolet Silverado Reviews - Page 6 of 15

2000 Chevrolet Silverado 2000 chevrolet 1500 2wd 5.3 vortec V8 295hp from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 5.3 vortec V8 295hp Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance110000 miles
Previous carToyota 4Runner

Summary:

Great workhorse with o. k reliability

Faults:

Transmission went out at 80,000.

Rear end went out at 75,000.

General Comments:

I love this truck, its comfortable fast and looks good, this truck is a great hauler and gets good mileage for how much power it has, I have a 6 inch suspension lift and 35 inch bf goodrich all terrains and it looks sweet I have taken this truck on many road trips and it has never failed me once.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th March, 2006

2000 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 LS 4.8L V8 5speed from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4.8L V8 5speed Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired72000 miles
Most recent distance101500 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

Well worth it - I'm hooked on Chevy Silverado now!!

Faults:

The only thing that went wrong (warranty item) was the power steering boot started a slow drip/leak. That was it. Nothing else has ever gone wrong.

I LOVE THIS TRUCK! IT IS BUILD LIKE A ROCK!!!

General Comments:

I had a Ford Ranger for years and drove it into the ground. 139,000 miles later it started giving up, so I traded it in and upgraded to a Chevy Silverado 1500LS shortbed with a V8 and a 5speed manual tranny. I haven't looked back... This truck is awesome and can go anywhere and do anything.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th February, 2006

2000 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 2wd 5.3 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 5.3 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance110000 miles
Previous carToyota Tacoma

Summary:

It is awesome

Faults:

The rear end went out at 80,000miles, but it was because of my stupid ass wife not knowing how to drive.

The transmission went out at 85,000 miles.

General Comments:

The truck is awesome it is pretty good quality, but the performance is awesome, I've town about 9000 lbs. with it and it rode great, and it is fast as hell, 0-60 in 8 seconds. this is a kick ass truck, if you are lookin for a truck that gets good mileage and works great for towing and working with, gt a chevy 1500.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th January, 2006

19th Jan 2006, 15:32

How do you screw up driving an automatic? If it was a standard then I can see her (or you with all your drag strip excursions) messing the rear end up with bad clutching and gear shifting. However I'm curious how a kick ass truck like this can handle some power to the rear end and the tranny too, sounds pretty weak to me. And 8 seconds with an AUTO tranny on a stock engine doesn't sound very believable to me unless you modded it.

2000 Chevrolet Silverado LS 5.7L from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 5.7L Automatic
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Silverado

Summary:

Trash

Faults:

Sticking Throttle plate at 12,000 miles.

Sticking throttle plate at 20,000 miles.

Piston slap begins at 45,000 miles.

New transmission valve body at 55,000.

Rebuilt transfer case at 58,000 miles

Fixed bearing in rebuilt transfer case at 58,050 miles

Looking to sell at 60,000.

General Comments:

This is my 5th Chevy truck and the worst! I've always been a Chevy guy;just can't buy a Ford so, Unfortunately, I will go to a Nissan Titan next.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th October, 2005

17th Oct 2005, 14:04

Did you maintain it? Like oil changes and oil filter changes. That might account for your piston slap and bearing failures.

The transfer case needs to be taken care of as well. I believe your supposed to follow the owners manual and I thought you had to engage 4wd every once and a while to lubricate the 4wd components...

2000 Chevrolet Silverado LS 5.3 Liter V8 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 5.3 Liter V8 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired26000 miles
Most recent distance110000 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

A good truck, but seems to have some of the problems as other silverado owners

Faults:

The fuel pressure regulator. 3rd gear went out in transmission. Wheel bearing went out, causing ABS sensor to go bad. Door seal leaks on the passenger side. The service 4 wheel drive light comes on after about 20 or so miles. Problems with the air condition not being cold enough. Problem with the heater not being warm enough.

General Comments:

The Engine (5.3 Liter) has plenty of power and hasn't had one problem. The cab has plenty of room in the front and back.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd August, 2005

2000 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 ex cab 5.3 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 5.3 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance84000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Silverado

Summary:

I don't like to complain, but this is a sad truck

Faults:

Motor ticks when started up for last 30000 miles

Tail gate fell off going down road

Brakes would go to floor on a rough road

Seats starting to fall in

Had door rubbers glued back up in place

Power steering pump replaced

And finally the fuel gauge is now bouncing from full to empty all the time

Replaced driver lites three times and last power windows starting to go up slower.

General Comments:

This truck has been driven to work on paved highways the past five years. This is my 5th new Chevy truck over the years and it is going to my 16 year old daughter next month because they say don't buy a good vehicle for their first car. I hate to say it, but a ford is in my future and I have worked for a certain car company for 25 years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th July, 2005

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 54 reviews