2000 Chevrolet Silverado Reviews - Page 5 of 15

2000 Chevrolet Silverado from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance32000 miles
Previous carNissan Hardbody Pickup

Summary:

Nice ride, but the quality is extremely poor

Faults:

Bearings falling out of the rocker arms. These were discovered while having a regular oil change done. 14 were found in the oil.

General Comments:

A service representative at a local Chevrolet dealership was contacted by phone concerning this problem, and he responded with the following comment "If you have good oil pressure and the engine is not knocking, just keep driving it."

This truck has never towed anything, never been driven hard and has never had more than a few hundred pounds hauled in the bed.

General Motors response is to not fix the problem. I will buy only foreign made vehicles from now on and will encourage everyone I know to do the same. When our American manufacturers close the doors because of poor quality, and their don't give a damn attitude toward the people who purchase the overpriced, poorly constructed cars and trucks, it will not be a bad thing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th October, 2007

2000 Chevrolet Silverado 5.3 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 5.3 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance121000 miles
Previous carToyota Tacoma

Summary:

Comfortable ride with high fuel cost and too many recalls

Faults:

This is my first American made vehicle. I have had three recalls so far. I never had any recalls with any of my previous Toyota's that I owned. This must be a common problem with American vehicles.

I had a recall on my anti lock brake sensors, then I had a recall on my tail gate cables, and then it was recalled for a headlight issue.

Also the center console broke very easily and the lights on my radio are half blown out.

It is very hard to start at times.

I never had these problems with my Toyota's. Other than these issues, so far it seems to be OK.

General Comments:

I love the performance of the V-8.. I was used to driving 4 and 6 with Toyota's. It is a very comfortable ride, but very bad on gas compared to a Toyota. At $2.70 a gallon and with a 34 gallon tank, it takes about $92.00 to fill this beast up. The sound system is great!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th October, 2007

2000 Chevrolet Silverado LS 4.8Litre from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4.8Litre Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired181123 kilometres
Most recent distance222000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet C1500

Summary:

CHEVY is a REAL truck

Faults:

In this trucks lifetime it has had these problem:

-The starter went for the first time at 194000km,

-3rd door is sticky,

-At 210000km the fuel sending unit went,

-A couple of U-joints through time, but understandable for the work it does,

General Comments:

This truck has had an extremely hard life and has had several broken parts such as axles and drive lines, but this truck is from Nothern Ontario and gets beaten everyday. It is on and off road, but mostly offroad in the bush and mud. This truck has spent at least half of its life in the bush and I would NEVER regret buying a CHEVY. I am a mechanic and work on all kinds of trucks and CHEVY has the least problems that I have seen.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th November, 2006

22nd Nov 2006, 20:22

2000 Silverado 1500. Over 100.000 miles. Same comments...

Gas gauge flips out on occasion, replaced one u-joint.Otherwise, a perfect truck. Looking forward to next 100,000 miles.

2000 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 4WD LS Standard Cab Long 5.3L V8 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 5.3L V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired71000 miles
Most recent distance84000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Passat

Summary:

Reliable and powerful truck that I can comfortably drive 600 miles in one sitting and on one tank

Faults:

The fuel pressure regulator was leaky causing hard starts, but did not affect performance. Replaced for less than $50.

General Comments:

Cab interior rattles due to plastic components.

Handles great off-road and in fields.

Engine is quiet, but sounds aggressive during acceleration.

34 gallon tank hurts on fillup, but lasts over 500 miles.

The long bed makes hauling easy and convenient.

Adding a toolbox to the bed makes up for the lack of back seats due to standard cab.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th October, 2006

2000 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 LS Ext Cab Z71 5.3L Vortec from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 5.3L Vortec Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance165000 miles
Previous carGMC Jimmy

Summary:

Money well spent!

Faults:

Auto Transfer Case malfunctioned at 120,000, it turned out to be an electronic malfunction and was relatively inexpensive, approximately $140.

A handful of safety recalls including driver airbag, tailgate cables, brakes, etc. All were dealt with well by my dealership.

Fuel pump failed at 155,000 miles.

Water pump and fan clutch failed at 160,000 miles.

Right rear brake seized at 160,000 miles resulting in complete rear brake job. Must state that this was first brake job ever required. The brakes still had adequate life left in pads. Every oil change at approximately 4000 mile intervals the brakes were checked and measured. I was amazed at the brake life, the fronts are still going strong. Obviously I put a ton of interstate miles on this truck and brake much less than average driver.

General Comments:

I have been very pleased with this truck. I ordered it new and it was one of the first to come out of the factory with the fourth door on the drivers side of the extended cab. I loaded it out with options, up to level of LT, but without the leather. The interior is very comfortable and has held up great. Wind noise has always been a bit loud at the right rear window, but was able to live with it.

Aside from routine maintenance, and things that one would expect to start going out after 100,000 miles, this truck has been very solid. I am due for another tune-up with about 165,000 miles, but my first tune was after 100,000 as advertised.

Gas mileage is actually improving in these later miles. I average 16.5-17mpg around town and nearly 18 on highway. I burn the cheapest gasoline I can find, mostly 85 octane now that I am in Colorado and it is the cheapest. For a 4x4 gasoline powered truck of this size, I feel that is more than acceptable, and for whatever reason is much better than what some other owners are experiencing.

A/C has been great and has never needed service to date. I lived in Dallas for nearly 8 yrs and put the A/C to the test most of the year.

I have been very pleased, and sometimes wonder if I just got lucky, based upon the amounts of negative feedback that I have seen on these trucks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th August, 2006

20th Feb 2008, 10:31

Retired this 2000 1/2 ton in Jan 2007 for a new 2006 2500HD crew cab SWB with Duramax/Allison. The 2000 is now the hunting/four-wheeling vehicle that stays down in SW Colorado. It is still going strong, nearly 190000 on it now. Starts right up even after sitting for 3+months in cold garage. I have had great experience with GM trucks and hope it continues with new 3/4ton.

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 54 reviews