2001 Chevrolet Silverado Reviews - Page 7 of 7

2001 Chevrolet Silverado LS 6.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 6.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired1 miles
Most recent distance4500 miles
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

It's not

Faults:

Oil leak in area of rear seal. In for repairs 4 times for a total of 19 days out of service in the first 3 months of ownership.

Steering column rattle. In for repair 1 time. Renewed rattling with first mile.

I have not returned for additional work on column.

Engine noisy and running rough.

Service manager said they all run a little rough and the noise is caused by wrist pin and loose sleeve, that GM knows about the problem and that no fix is forth coming.

Wind noise.

Not in for service yet. Whats the point they haven't fixed any of the other problems.

General Comments:

The vehicle has been in the shop a total of 21 days since I purchased it in November 2001.

It has been to two different dealers and I have talked to 3 different customer service managers for G.M.

They tell how sorry they are for the trouble I'm having and call they if I'm not satisfied. When I call back they tell me how sorry they are I'm having trouble...

This was my first and last G.M. product.

It's back to Fords for me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th April, 2002

13th Jul 2003, 08:09

I have had nothing but trouble with GM products either. I bought a Ford F150 and couldn't believe how much more dependable there trucks were the that Chevrolet. I talked to a mechanic and he told me the newer GM gets the worst there products are.

5th Dec 2004, 17:46

F-150's are notorious for blown engines.

Dodge's are known for lack of power, blown tranny's, and leaking rings.

Chev's known for overpriced, cheap looking, but reliable transportation - boxes are not strong enough to support loads.

Regardless of what you pick, you'll never be happy as something will always go wrong. I own a 2001 Dakota Quad Cab with a V6 - gas guzzling POS. It's been reliable, but I've had a few problems with some heater controls, balls joints, and rear differential. It's ran well, but I've had enough of the Dodge crap. I'll never purchase DCX again and am reluctant to purchase a Chev, but I'll never own a Ford.

Everyone will find a vehicle they like - little things will always go wrong. When the powertrain disintegrates, then you've got yourself a lemon.

9th Jun 2006, 09:45

The only F-150's known for blown engines are the 97-98 v6 which was a new engine.

9th Jun 2006, 14:25

Fords notorious for blown engines? Yea, right...

Hemi engines have no power? Right... sure.

5th May 2007, 09:00

Comment to 16:30... Do you really have to have a Hemi, 5.9L or a V10 to get the power you need? And at what price?!

I have a Pontiac Grand Prix GT2 with a 3.8L and it has awesome acceleration. I don't have to bet it to run at all.

2001 Chevrolet Silverado LS 8.1 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 8.1 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance4800 miles
Previous carChevrolet Tahoe

Summary:

Unreliable when towing a 29 ft travel trailer

Faults:

At 4700 miles, the engine "blew", one of the rods in the engine had to be replaced.

Two weeks later, it was back in the shop for another noise complaint coming from the engine compartment.

General Comments:

Other than these problems, the truck has been reliable.

The Alison transmission is noisy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st November, 2001

9th Jul 2012, 16:31

I am truly shocked that you're having these issues.

I have a 2001 HD with 8.1 with an M1000 Allison. I'm ready to hit 300,000 miles too.

I pull trailers all day... no kidding! A 48 footer, 38 footer, and my everyday car trailer that weighs 3300lbs. I have never encountered any issues like yours.. my biggest load yet was over 43,000, and it pulled it like everything else... not fast, but it pulled it.

The longest and hardest trip was to Denver from Cal. pulling a loaded 2 car trailer with a trailer weight of nearly 20,000. Up and down the passes with no other issue.

I pull my 38'er to Glamis and back loaded too.. over 15,000lbs trailer alone. No problems.

I'm going to rebuild this engine and trans before I spend a gang of dough on a new truck. It has been the best truck I've ever had, and I have had a lot of trucks!

2001 Chevrolet Silverado Four door Extended Cab 4.8 liter V8 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4.8 liter V8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired66 miles
Most recent distance9000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

2001 Lemon

Faults:

After 3,000 miles on the truck, there was no oil in the engine.

After 9000 miles I am still having the same problem (losing oil) and Chevrolet has not fixed it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th August, 2001

28th May 2003, 12:33

It is normal for a new engine to consume some oil. You should have been maintaining the oil level at every fuel-up. Since it was run out of oil, it sounds like the rings are shot.

11th Jul 2007, 23:44

It is very common to burn up engine oil, even more common if you have a lead foot! What is not common is not checking your fluid levels.

6th Jun 2008, 14:36

The 2001 Silverado has a warning center that tells you when you are more than a quart low, and it has an auto protect feature that limits rpms and cuts out four cylinders. I very seriously doubt this person ran out of oil.

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 20 reviews