30th Mar 2009, 14:08

173k on my '98 Silverado Z-71 bought new. Overall a good truck, but they're not built to go over 100k.

Water pump, alternator, door handles, gas gauge and fuel pump.

Front brake rotors constantly warping (replaced with drilled and slotted model that seems to work), rear tailgate and jerky power steering.

Windshield wipers died, O2 sensors and catalytic converter.

In the shop now for coolant leak at the intake manifold.

Well maintained truck, not abused, tow a light boat occasionally.

Leather seats ripped on driver's side after about 50k.

Every time it goes to the shop it's $800.00.

So far no problems with the tranny, but when it goes I'll replace it. It's way cheaper than a new truck.

Next truck will be a Toyota cause I think when I'm ready to buy, GM will be gone in its present form.

19th May 2009, 14:18

56k-front rotors replaced

80k-Driver side and passenger side door handles broken driver side replaced

95k-Fuel pump replacement

110k-Windshield motor replacement

120k-Master brake cylinder replacement

135k-Alternator replacement

140k-1 Tailgate cable broken

156k-Rear main seal replaced & replaced one water plug to block. Other issues currently are vibrating fuel gage & electric door locks stick in cold temperatures. mechanic suggests water pump and timing chain/cover replacement soon. Engine and transmission still running strong.

26th May 2009, 01:18

I have a 1999 Silverado with 401,000 miles. I just had to replace Trans, fuel pump. I’m still on original brakes, It’s not so much the car co's (they are way over-priced because of the Gov. regulations and Unions), it’s the way you operate the vehicles.

20th Jul 2009, 09:57

I am the original poster.

This will be my last entry.

I am done with this truck, done with Chevrolet, and done with GM.

Our Trailblazer transmission completely self-destructed internally - $2700 to replace.

And this Silverado, well, you've seen the litany.

Sorry folks, they blew it. Nissan or Mitsubishi will now get a try from me. We have a 1993 Nissan Quest/ (Mercury Villager) with 240,000 miles on it and it runs fine. It's ancient, creaky, and very long in the tooth. But it has been much more reliable than the Chevys.

1st Dec 2009, 19:15

Thanks to all you 98 Chevy 1500 truck owners! I have had some of the same problems and now I'll know what to look for when the other problems arise. I have a squeaky blower motor right now, did not see this problem with anyone else though. Thanks again.

28th Dec 2009, 22:28

Hey guys, I have a 1998 Silverado I bought six months ago.

I just had the fuel pump replaced, and man that hurt; $1000.00

Drove it home and smelled antifreeze. Found the water pump leaking on the floor, this I will change myself. I also think the intake gasket are about to go. The truck looks great and the motor was dry, so I thought I would take a chance. Seems like it was a mistake. But there is just something I like about the truck, just don't like all the repairs.

10th Jan 2010, 01:57

98 GMC Sierra K1500 here. I'm pushing 130k miles in this thing - savage brutal miles - I mean racing dirt bikes through the rocky mountains in 4 low kinda miles. I've done 2 fuel pumps, idler/pittman arms and the battery cables. The front end problems were self inflicted, but the fuel pumps really annoy me. The part isn't cheap, and they seem to fail when I've just filled up. Otherwise this thing is a tank. My 89 ran 240k before I ran it into the ground, and I'm sure this one will do the same.

I can't really comment on the radio lights like other people have. My stock radio is up on a shelf in my garage.

Drive it till the wheels fall off!

20th Jan 2010, 18:28

I have 98 Chevy Silverado, and right now staring at having to replace the radiator for the 3rd time in 2 years.

When it was replaced the last time, the mechanic ran a pressure test and found nothing out of the ordinary. In all 3 instances the leak is on the left side of the radiator (i.e. driver's side). After driving the truck and turning it off, can see small amounts of coolant dripping right below the bumper, almost directly in front of the left tire. The overflow tank is also always empty. When I remove the radiator cap, it still has sufficient amounts of coolant though. Could this be a thermostat problem?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

29th Jan 2010, 13:04

I have a 1999 Chevy ck 5.7 Liter Vortex engine with 107,000 miles. It started out with a code for misfire #4 cyl, and now it's a random misfire. Engine runs very rough when accelerating and decelerating, then seems to smooth out at normal driving speed. Idle is high when in park or neutral. Can anyone HELP!!!


22nd Feb 2010, 21:05

My 98 Silverado is quite reliable at 177,000. I have the warping rotor problem, the broken door handles and tail gate issues, a broken visor, blower motor noises, water pump failure, fuel pump replacement, ignition switch replaced, A/C actuator switch inoperable, leaking heater core.

Now I have the pleasure to replace the intake manifold gasket.

So all in all, she has not been too much of a problem, she always waits til we get home.

27th Feb 2010, 18:39

I have a 1998 Chevy Silverado truck. I have a problem with the truck not starting, acting like it's out of gas, but it's not. Sometimes I can keep turning it over and it will start, other times I have to put some gas in the tank that is about full already and then it will start. Replaced the fuel pump twice, still having this problem, can anyone help?

29th Mar 2010, 17:30

Hello, I recently bought a 1998 Sierra (same as Silverado) 350 Vortec 1500 ext cab last October. It has turned out to be one of the biggest basket cases I have ever known.

Just after buying the truck, the Service Engine Soon Light came on indicating a multicylinder misfire. Turns out one of the fuel injectors failed and the previous owner tried fixing it himself. He broke the injector while trying to install it, and then proceeded to burn up a valve because of it. To mask this problem, he simply elevated the idle RPM to around 900-1000 RPMs. A valve job and two new injectors cured this problem.

As for the intake gasket, the previous owner tried using bondo to seal it and slapped it back together. This didn't exactly do the job. Also had to replace the gasket.

Waterpump replaced as well, the wiper motor also went, and the blower motor began the famous ticking noise this winter; still haven't replaced it.

Fuel pump went this January, truck would start hard and then wouldn't rev above 1700 RPMs, talk about frustrating.

Now the code for one of the O2 sensors has come up and the drivers side door needs new door pins. Cab leaked water. Found the leak and fixed it. Tailpipe fell off over the winter and I will probably put duals on it.

Now for the positive side of it. After the valve job and new injectors, fuel pump, etc. it is one of the smoothest trucks I have ever driven. It is considerably more powerful than my buddy's 2000 Sierra with a 5.3 in it.

Despite all the bad luck, I still like how the truck looks and drives. There is no doubt in my mind that GM should have stuck with the older throttle body injection, but when the kinks get worked out of the Vortec, it seems to work well.