1998 Chevrolet Silverado Z71 5.7L 350 c.i. V8 from North America

Summary:

Not quick, but can be flashy and WILL get the job done

Faults:

Alternator has only been replaced once in its lifetime.

Cracked intake manifold at 98,000 miles.

Starter went out at 86,000 miles.

Fuel pump replaced at 98,000 miles.

General Comments:

This truck is a true workhorse when it needs to be.

Extremely powerful engine.

Easy to find parts for. Easy to fix.

Spacious and comfortable cabin.

Good gas mileage... for a truck anyway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd November, 2006

1998 Chevrolet Silverado 3500 7.4, 454 from North America

Summary:

Most dependable longest lasting trucks on the road

Faults:

Intake manifold gasket slowly began to leak. Let it go for 40000 miles finally changed. Truck Runs great. Very reliable. Will always buy Chevy.

General Comments:

Love the truck. Very reliable. Lots of power. Still gets 11mpg which is pretty good for a 454.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd August, 2006

1998 Chevrolet Silverado LS 5.7L from North America

Summary:

Satisfying

Faults:

The alternator failed in the first year. The dealer replaced it with a new one under the warranty.

A/C compressor failed within a month of the warranty expiration. I had to pick up the full tab on this repair.

Experienced a partial brake failure when ascending a steep hill. I was lucky to maintain control and get it to a safe stop. They found brake line failure from corrosion to be the culprit.

General Comments:

I have a utility body on this truck. It has a normal weight around 7500 pounds with the 373 rear end, and I usually get 11 mpg around town, but surprisingly will attain 17 or 18 on the highway with the A/C running.

Very comfortable to drive, it handles well and with the posi rear I have not had any troubles in the snow.

So far the body and paint are holding up well in the coastal New England weather.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th August, 2006

1998 Chevrolet Silverado from North America

Summary:

Junk

Faults:

Consistent sensor problems.

Fuel pump and module consistently fail even after replacement.

Transmission cooler inefficent.

Motor lacks power under light towing.

Gas mileage is terrible when under load and when empty.

General Comments:

Junk, would never touch one again, same goes for my 2003 silverado.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd August, 2006

1998 Chevrolet Silverado Z71 5.7L V8 from North America

Summary:

This truck is a work of automotive art.

Faults:

I had to replace all the common problems such as the steering box, intake gaskets, and idler pulley.

All other parts replaced have been strictly maintenance items.

General Comments:

I love this truck. It does everything well, and is an extended cab so there is also ample room and comfort.

This is a truck that drives like a car, yet is not afraid to be used as a workhorse.

This truck is exceptionally well built. 120,000 miles with no squeaks or rattles, and everything functions as well as the day it rolled off the assembly line.

Fuel mileage is poor, but very respectable for a four wheel drive, full size truck.

Engine performance is nothing short of excellent. The truck is quick, reliable, and tows a trailer with ease.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd December, 2004

16th Dec 2005, 21:24

This review is a very accurate description of what it takes to be happy with any truck. It seems that satisfaction depends on personality. I too own a 1998 silverado, and work at a Chevy dealer. I have seen many silverado's come in and out of the garage for all kinds of service, and repairs. It always comes down to what the truck is used for, and how it was driven. Also, no matter what the manufacturer there will always be signature repairs for any type of truck. Overall, it seems that by '98 GM had developed one of the best platforms for a reliable truck to ever hit the roads, or TRAILS!!!

1998 Chevrolet Silverado Z71 5.7 Vortec from North America

Summary:

Built like a rock for the first 100,000 miles?

Faults:

87,000 miles air condition, compressor failed - repair cost $788.20.

92,000 miles 02 sensor failed - repair cost $85.50.

96,000 miles left front brake rotor failed - repair cost $114.10.

97,000 miles drivers side window motor failed - repair cost $87.50.

101,000 miles alternator failed - repair cost $285.76.

104,000 miles wiper motor control board failed - repair cost $178.13.

107,000 miles right front wheel seal failed - repair cost $117.55.

111,000 miles exhaust manifold failed - repair cost $330.95.

119,000 miles water pump failed and head gasket failed - repair cost $776.30.

121,000 miles left front brake rotor failed - repair cost $0 (warranty)

121,000 miles ignition relay failed - repair cost $119.00.

124,000 miles left front brake rotor failed - repair cost $292.00 (replaced with heavy duty rotor)

126,000 miles wiper motor failed - repair cost $381.65.

130,000 miles fuel pump failed - repair cost $644.30.

General Comments:

"Black & Chrome" with 130,000 miles and my Z71 looks as good as the day I bought it.

Looks can be deceiving.

Body and Drive Train - excellent.

Electrical Components and Systems - poor service and quality.

What my trucks overall performance be if I towed a boat or trailer, ran off road, hauled heavy loads?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th November, 2004

4th Dec 2004, 16:23

My silverado just hit 260,000 miles and all I have replaced is the rotors, water pump, alternator and fuel pump. Considering I am a traveling salesman that takes me into Utah, Idaho, Wyoming, Montana and Nevada. The roads I ride are just not Interstate travels. I carry a Cooler also that is over 1,000 pounds. The silverado is much better that the other trucks I have owned. To make sure you don't have HIGH repair costs. I keep mine well serviced. I do most repairs my own.

The FishmanLarry

Larry Pedersen

Surf & Turf Foods.

29th Jul 2005, 23:27

I have a 1998 Chevrolet Z71 and have nothing, but problems. I have had replaced the alternator, motor, fuel pump, and transmission (2 times). I love the look and performance of my truck, but when it comes to repair costs, it isn't worth the trouble.

21st Nov 2007, 00:21

I also got one of these animals. I am surprised you didn't have an intake manifold coolant leak. Everyone I know with the 4.3 up to the 5.7 97 and 98 had leaks.

I disagree with your rotor complaint, they are consumable like the pads. Usually they don't make more than 2 or 3 brake jobs before you can't cut em again.

Yep the other ones kinda wear on ya. I too had the fuel pump go and the wiper motor.

Good luck anyhoo.