1998 Chevrolet Silverado 5.7 ltr. Vortec from North America

Summary:

Great learning experience: old and new school

Faults:

Bought the truck at 182000 miles, it didn't run. Replaced fuel pump, most of a head set: (head gaskets, valve cover, upper and lower intake, throttle body.) Also I installed new fuel injectors from BWD, great upgrade from the stock ones they are suppose to be as good as OEM, but I find them a great bit better.

Also I didn't know if these parts were bad, but I replaced them when I rebuilt it; power steering pump, water pump, the fitting where the heater hose runs into the intake (replaced it with a 1/2 inch barbed ended hose fitting with a hose clamp, found it on the performance wall at Autozone). I also put 2" drop shackles on when we did the fuel pump. And replaced the starter and battery recently.

General Comments:

Now runs like it's brand new, and I was amazed at how simple this motor really was. Most people with a little patience and time could do all their repairs with just a few dollars and access to a few special tools.

The only problems I have now are A/C, but it's winter and the heater works.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st November, 2009

1998 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Z-71 5.7 350 V8 from North America

Summary:

Great looking, quick, and dependable, with some repair work!

Faults:

Had to put a new motor in it.

General Comments:

Great looking if you fix them up and keep them clean. Dependable.

Seats with arm rest are comfortable, rides well, and handles smooth.

I've had two of these trucks, and they both have had their problems, but overall they are great trucks!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th August, 2009

16th Aug 2009, 11:22

How is this a dependable vehicle when you had to replace the entire engine and yet the truck itself only has 117,000 miles on it? You domestic owners are in so much denial. A 117,000 miles on a Toyota isn't even a quarter of its life, and yet you insist on buying a throw-away Silverado and replace the entire engine in the thing?

11th Nov 2011, 16:26

We "Domestic" owners, as you term it, bother to keep these trucks on the road because they can tow serious loads compared to your plastic Toyota. Some of us work for a living using our trucks.

19th Dec 2012, 01:24

Americans love American vehicles. Maybe a foreign vehicle will run longer, but will it save your family in a collision? I feel my chances are better in my Chevy Silverado or my Plymouth Fury. :-)

10th May 2013, 02:10

I've got a question. What model of Toyota truck can you haul 10,700 lbs with? Answer that and I'll gladly trade my cheapy Chevy in for a TOYota...

10th May 2013, 08:22

You get 480000 miles out of your Toyota trucks, same engine and trans? Maybe I should trade in my Silverado that tows a 27 foot boat in bumper to bumper traffic 2 hours on hot weekends. That's very impressive.

1998 Chevrolet Silverado K 1500 Z-71 5.7L (350) Vortec from North America

Summary:

A good truck, I like it a lot!

Faults:

The intake manifold was leaking coolant, a new gasket took care of that. 115,000 miles.

The rear end was noisy... new bearings took care of that problem. 117,000 miles.

This truck has 121,000 miles now, and is running good and strong!

General Comments:

This pick-up is the 1500 Z-71 4X4 Extended cab third door with leather interior (which I like a lot).

It has the push button shift for the transfer case (which I'm not too crazy about).

The A/C is ice cold, and the heater works good.

The truck handles and rides like a car... A little weird at first, but it is easy to get used to... A much better feel than the 1993 Dodge truck I had... :)

The L31 5.7L (350) Vortec power plant makes plenty of power, it is good off the line and pulls the hills pretty well... 255hp and 330lb-ft of torque... I really like lots of power, so at some point, I plan on installing the HT383E GM crate engine... 330hp and 435lb-ft of torque would sure be nice!

The 4L60E 4 speed Automatic W/Overdrive transmission is a good match for this application, although I have been told that the 4L80E is a good upgrade for towing and so-forth... maybe someday I'll do that too... (LOL)

I like this truck a lot; it goes everywhere I want it to, and it is dependable. It gets 17+ MPG HWY, which I think is pretty good for a full size extended cab 4X4 pick-up truck.

This truck has duel exhaust from the engine all of the way back to the muffler, where the two pipes dump into a two in - one flow-master muffler, then it is split in two, into a pair of 2-1/4" pipes and comes out under the back bumper with a pair of nice chrome 3" tips... it sounds deep and mean when you romp on it!

I plan on keeping this truck along time, so I'm glad I bought it... If you're looking for a good used truck, you would be smart to choose one of these! I sure do like mine! :)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th August, 2009

2nd Sep 2013, 19:03

Update:

My truck now has 177,000 miles on it.

Two years ago I replaced the G80 Gov-lock with a Detroit Tru-Trac rear diff carrier, just because I was afraid of a catastrophic failure... which never happened, and a new water pump last year.

Other than that, just normal maintenance, and this truck has been running strong and true the entire time. No major problems. A good truck!