1998 Chevrolet Silverado CK 1500 5.0 V8 from North America


Most power, looks, and performance for the cost


The fuel pump has made high screeching noise since I purchased it.

Fuel pump was replaced at 70,000 miles.

General Comments:

I have replaced spark plugs and have done routine maintenance on vehicle.

It has been driven on trips taking 2-3 days and has never had any problems.

It gets a little uncomfortable on long trips, but it is not a Cadillac, it is a truck.

Overall I am extremely happy with my Chevy truck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th May, 2003

27th Jan 2004, 17:45

So far my truck has 211,148 miles on it and its still running fine. The only work done on it so far were tune ups, oil changes and tires. What can i say, im a chevy guy.

5th Aug 2004, 17:45

I have a 1997 Chevy 1500 with 17700 miles it has had to have 3 fuel pumps at this point. Other than that the truck has been pretty much maintanance free. Mark Dille Cary NC.

15th Aug 2004, 08:40

Make sure when ever you change out the fuel pump:

1.) flush the tank first!

2.) Inspect the connectors at the top of the Modular pump assembly, look for corrosion and/or arching caused by a poor electrical connection. If the connector looks corroded or dark on/around the pins, splice a new connector in before installing a new pump.

5th Jan 2010, 16:36

As a part of regular maintenance and when changing the fuel pump, DO NOT FORGET to change the GAS FILTER fastened to the frame rail of the truck!

1998 Chevrolet Silverado Z71 350 (5.7L) from North America


Awesome truck, much better than Ford or Dodge


Nothing major.

The "quick disconnect" on the heater hose that connects to the manifold started to seep coolant, but the dealer repaired it with no questions asked.

The check engine light has come on a couple of times when it was really cold out, but it went away the next day.

General Comments:

The 5.7L is a powerhouse. It smokes my friends 2001 Chevy with a 5.3L in a race.

Totally beats the crap out of my 1990 Ford F-150 in every aspect.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th July, 2002

8th May 2006, 22:33

Better than a Dodge? you have about 80000 miles and are comparing it to a dodge! I have a 156,000 miles on mine with fewer problems.

30th Mar 2010, 20:37

The Silverado is a beast, no one will ever beat it!

9th Nov 2010, 08:02

She's still going strong with 111,000 kms. Still smokes anything on the road. As for the Dodge comment, they have no chance against my Silverado. Dodge is garbage. I even smoke Hemi's in a race. This truck is a freak!

1998 Chevrolet Silverado CK1500 V8 from North America


Great used vehicle!


Fuel pump replaced.

Air compressor replaced.

General Comments:

Great truck! Nice looking, we have the two tone paint Z71 Maroon color. Nice to drive.

We have two children. The back seat is adequate for them.

The seats are comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st June, 2001

1998 Chevrolet Silverado Vortec 5000 from North America


High appointments makes it feel less truck-like



General Comments:

Truck is a bit sluggish with the 5.0, however it rides like a luxury car.

4 wheel ABS brake pedal feels mushy.

Speed sensitive power steering can be a bit weird when de-accelerating on a curved off ramp, got to be used to it.

Extremely quiet ride, makes my '93 F150 seem like a cargo train.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th February, 2001

19th Sep 2002, 18:18

You have the 230hp vortec 305 right. it should'nt feel sluggish.

28th May 2003, 04:04

News Flash! GM's 305 have always been know for being gutless.

5th Feb 2010, 01:43

I have a Vortec 305...not sluggish at all, my guess is some people think they should run like sportscars?

23rd Dec 2010, 21:36

Bought my "98" 5.0 litre Silverado Ext. cab in "06" with 108,000 miles.

Still going strong with 151,000 miles. Great truck, luxury ride, tough and a great hauler. Have pulled 4tons of equipment numerous times.

I would have preferred a 5.7 litre, but this engine has been great for all I have asked of it.

It has no resemblance of past anemic 305's. Would recommend to anyone.