1999 Chevrolet Tahoe Reviews - Page 7 of 10

1999 Chevrolet Tahoe LT 5.7 V8 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 5.7 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired29000 miles
Most recent distance75000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

I love it

Faults:

Nothing Yet.

General Comments:

I bought my 1999 Tahoe in September, 2003, it had 29,000 miles on it, and first owner was a police officer. I now have 75,000 mile on it August 30, 2006, with not one major problem. I do the regular maintenance as recommended. I replaced the original tires and all the brakes at 60,000, which is normal. I am still riding on the original shocks, which is not normal, but I think I will need to replace them because it’s starting to affect my trailer towing.

I may not be putting a lot of miles on her, but she will do anything I ask her to. Pulling 12 and 14 foot trailers loaded with furniture. I live in northern Wisconsin and the weather is tough here in the winter. This is not flat country either so she climbs hills on almost every trip. I love my Tahoe, I call her my poor mans Cadillac with 4WD. If you treat her good, do regular oil changes, etc, then she will last 150,000. Merrill, WI.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th August, 2006

1999 Chevrolet Tahoe LT 3.0 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired5000 miles
Most recent distance111000 miles

Summary:

A very costly vehicle to own, repair and drive

Faults:

I bought this SUV from a GM employee with 5000 miles on it! This has been the most Expensive auto I have ever owned! I had the front brakes rebuilt at 23,000 miles. Then had to have them rebuilt again at around 55,000. Had the transmission rebuilt at 65,000 miles, Had (2) alternators put in 2003. Radio lights are out and the AM is, Gas gauge stopped working, fuel pump went out at around 80,000, A/C has leaked out all the feon fall of 2005, Power lock button on drivers door works then it doesn't Steering column has a clicking that sound like a blinker is on all the time. Power steering is now acting up? Drivers seat is in poor condition as I am in and out of the track a lot for work.

General Comments:

I really like the Tahoe's room and storage.

Rear windows are a poor design only able to open 1/3 of the way.

But with gas the way is going up I may have to sell it and go with a small vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th May, 2006

5th Feb 2008, 14:21

Tahoe 1500's only came with 350 or 6.2 diesels, not a 3.0.

1999 Chevrolet Tahoe LE from North America

Year of manufacture1999
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Distance when acquired26000 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles

Summary:

Dangerous lemon!!

Faults:

Purchased the Tahoe in Aug 2002 w/23K miles. At 46K things started to unravel. Fuel pump, intake manifold, thermostat, brakes (2x), even the radiator--all these items have had to be replaced! Also, some kind of sensor that was located in the steering wheel had to be replaced because I would suddenly lose control, although briefly, while turning both to the left & right and on curves -very dangerous! Today, I'm driving down the road & when I started off at a red light, it didn't want to change gears (it is auto) You guessed it-transmission now needs replacing. I drive the car very easy-only work (4 miles RT) church, grocery store. It is well maintained and it is most definitely a major LEMON. PLEASE DON'T BUY ONE!!It will cost you more than it's worth.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th April, 2006

1999 Chevrolet Tahoe LT 5.7 liter, 350cid gas from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 5.7 liter, 350cid gas Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance81000 miles
Previous carHyundai Elantra

Summary:

Comfortable, but not reliable and not worth it

Faults:

Car drifting all over road. Front end alignment 50300mi. Still drifts today at 81000.1-19-04.

Engine had miss with no power. Changed plugs, wires, cap and rotor. Better, but not fixed.7-8-05.

Replaced catalytic converter power problem fixed.8-2-05.

Car will not start. Replaced starter and positive battery terminal cable.9-12-05.

Intake gasket blew. Replaced gasket and plugs.10-7-05.

EGR valve quite working. Replaced valve. Fixed 1-3-06.

Car will not keep running after start. Replaced ignition switch. 3-16-06.

General Comments:

I have had car 27 months and put 31000 easy miles on it.

That's only 1,148 miles per month.

If you consider tires and brakes (seems to go through brakes like crazy) and problems with them sticking to the point they caught on fire once.

I have spent $3,280 on the car in 27 months. That's $121.00/month or $9.50/miles.

There is also a thump when you start from a stop. No one can tell me what it is. It will probably break soon and I'll know then!

I have always been a GM guy, but not too sure anymore!

The only reason I still have it is it is very comfortable. I am 6'3" 260lbs and I can't say that about too many vehicles. That's why I don't have the Hyundai anymore.

It's been towed three times in 27 months!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th March, 2006

16th Jan 2007, 12:03

This Chevy Tahoe is comfortable, but the belt squeaks too much of the time and it eats up the brakes like mad, plus it gos through gas like sin if I had to rate it on a level of 1 to 10 I would rate it 7.5/10.

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 40 reviews