2002 Chevrolet TrailBlazer Reviews - Page 7 of 19

2002 Chevrolet TrailBlazer from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired96600 kilometres
Most recent distance110600 kilometres
Previous carChrysler Intrepid

Summary:

A purchasing mistake

Faults:

Shortly after we purchased our used Trailblazer, the fan clutch went, an $800 expense.

Then last month (July 2007), the fuel sending unit went, which cost us $1,000.00. This was a bargain as the dealership wanted $1,250.00. I understand the NHTSA has investigated this problem, and there is a possible recall.

General Comments:

After reading all the other reviews, I worry that this vehicle will be a bottomless pit for repairs, and wonder if I should sell it.

The vehicle rides quite nicely, and we happy with it otherwise.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th August, 2007

2002 Chevrolet TrailBlazer LT from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic

Faults:

Add another Trailblazer to the list. My fan clutch needs replaced. I love my Trailblazer, but I am selling it after it gets fixed! Not sure if I will buy another GM car. Very frustrated with the problems I've had. Has anyone had issues with their headlights/day-lamps not working?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th June, 2007

2002 Chevrolet TrailBlazer LTZ 4X4 EXT 4.2 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4.2 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired88015 miles
Most recent distance91301 miles

Summary:

Great overall car

Faults:

I got the fan clutch replaced today. It cost me more than 700.00. Everyone with this problem needs to go to chevy.com, then click on contact us, then email them about getting this recalled. The more people, the better the chance. If you keep the invoice from the dealer that fixed your car, you will get you money back if it is recalled. Thanks for taking the time to do this. It only takes a minute.

General Comments:

Other than this fan clutch the car has been great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th April, 2007

2002 Chevrolet TrailBlazer LS from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance49500 miles
Previous carSaturn SC

Summary:

Satisfied

Faults:

The air bag sensor went out at 30,000 miles.

The rear lights went bad at 10,000 miles.

Fan clutch went bad at 48,000 miles.

General Comments:

Overall happy with the vehicle.

It has been reliable and low-maintenance with the exception of factory defaults such as the rear light.

Same “Jet Engine” problem as all the other Trailblzer reported. I have a 2002 Trailblazer with 49,500 miles on it. I will be contacting GM to inquire about covering the expense and filing a complaint.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th April, 2007

2002 Chevrolet TrailBlazer LX 4.3 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 4.3 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 miles
Most recent distance82000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Summary:

Unrealiable

Faults:

I have an 02 trailblazer and experienced the "Jet engine" sound then the check engine light. Local dealership quoted me $900!! I have 82K Miles currently.

This should be a recall!!

I am going to go trade it in for a Honda.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th April, 2007

2002 Chevrolet TrailBlazer LT 4.2 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 4.2 Automatic
Previous carToyota Pickup

Summary:

Trailblazers have electrical issues that GM needs to address

Faults:

Engine will not turn over with key.

General Comments:

When ignition key is turned to start,dash lights turn on, but engine will not turn over, if I leave ignition switch in the on position I can 'jump' the starter and the engine will turn over and start.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th April, 2007

9th Apr 2007, 19:12

Electrical problems were a big issue with the 2002 (first year of the design) Trailblazer. ALL first-year models of ANY car have these kinds of issues. I waited until 2003 to buy our GMC Envoy (same vehicles as the Trailblazer, but we got a better deal). In nearly 4 years and 60,000 miles we have not had a single problem with this car. It is the best we have ever owned. On our summer vacation we got 24mpg on the highway running 75mph with the air on. When this one hits 200,000 miles we'll be buying another one just like it.

25th Apr 2007, 04:38

I love my 2002 Trailblazer, but I recently have had issues with the rear windows not working. Now the interior lights, all windows, radio, dash illumination lights, and tailights do not work. I am told that it is probably the BCM. Still not bad for having 100K on the odometer.

25th Aug 2007, 22:04

My 2002 had the fan clutch with speed monitor go bad again. It was replaced at about 50,000, and now it started crap out again at 107,000... e.g. cruise control did not activate at times when pressed, bad gas mileage, noisy fan clutch, bad shifting, second gear was hard to drive in, check engine light lit up and disappeared... all this stemmed from the computer speed module attached to the fan clutch... can't wait for the Ford F150 diesel...

Average review marks: 6.0 / 10, based on 64 reviews