2002 Chevrolet TrailBlazer Reviews - Page 8 of 19

2002 Chevrolet TrailBlazer LT I6 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission I6 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired89000 miles
Most recent distance118000 miles
Previous carFord Thunderbird

Summary:

One of the worst vehicles GM has ever made

Faults:

Fog light switch pushed completely inside of the panel.

Automatic Mirrors stopped working.

AWD went out just after having the vehicle 13,000 miles.

Engine was loud with every start up, and had a faint knocking sound, similar to a rod knock.

Tire wear was horrible.

Computer needed replacement at 110,000 miles\

Door locks would sometimes fail, and the front passenger door would sometimes only open from the outside.

The gauges for fuel, battery, and oil pressure would stop working, and when this happened check engine, oil, ABS, airbag, and ect lights came on. This occurred while driving every time, daily, and would knock out the cruise feature.

General Comments:

It was great when we bought the vehicle. We needed something that would tow a U Haul comfortably, be roomy for many trips (military lifestyle), and hopefully would last us maybe 10 years.

After the estimated mpg (22) turned out to be more like 12 (highway) and all of the electronics errors occurred was when we decided that we just couldn't afford the vehicle any longer.

The value of the vehicle dropped to almost $7000, that was a drop of half the value in 2 years. Repairs alone would total to half of the value!

The GM extended warranty covered the light switch repair, but the repair price didn't even go over the deducible, which is $100. The warranty was worthless, a poor use of $2500.

The only great thing about the car was that is never left us stranded, rode like a car even over the most unrepairable roadways, comfortable rear leg room, compliments, and it had a nice lumbar.

The storage space in the back is over exaggerated. We get about the same space in our Vibe.

We traded it in last month, but we wouldn't have had it any other way.

I like GM vehicles, but will never buy a TrailBlazer ever again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th March, 2007

31st Aug 2010, 13:39

It sounds like you treated your Trailblazer like a truck, which it is not. That could be why you had problems.

1st Sep 2010, 11:00

Towing a 2000 pound U-haul with a vehicle rated at 5,000 pounds is treating it like a truck? So you should drive it like a little old lady and never pull anything with it, even though it comes standard with a hitch?

Trailblazers are full of problems, and they are the most unreliable SUV's ever made. They are also the reason I will never buy a GM product ever again. They started in 2002, and never updated or improved them before they discontinued them last year. Junk, junk, junk!!

1st Sep 2010, 21:19

"Trailblazers are full of problems, and they are the most unreliable SUV's ever made."

Couldn't prove that by us. We have three in our family that have all been totally flawless. One has 110,000 miles, one has 90,000 miles and one (the 2002) has 165,000 miles. No problems with any of them.

2nd Sep 2010, 12:15

I don't need to "prove" anything. The two I had were junk and there are scores of others on any given TB forum that will prove whatever you like. There is a long list of "proven" problems on the TB many of which should reside on recall lists like the infamous clutch fan failure and the stalling issues that no one seems to be able to fix. No more GM for me. Sorry, Government Motors can find other suckers to make their money from...

2nd Sep 2010, 22:09

In our circle of friends, no one owning a Trailblazer has ever even heard of these issues that keep coming up about the fan clutches (a simple fix anyway) or any stalling problems.

3rd Sep 2010, 12:20

I can only suggest you do a simple five minute search for them. There are many forums listing multiple faults of the Trailblazer. Believe me, I wish we hadn't had any issues with ours. It simply was not the case and people should really be wary of the common problems as they are expensive when they do occur. I am not saying there are no problem free TB's, but I was two for two on the ones with issues.

4th Sep 2010, 17:14

I hate to be a party pooper, but there are forums on the internet listing faults for EVERYTHING. People who buy used and abused vehicles with 300,000 miles on them love to seek out such forums to vent their totally unjustified anger. Such forums are totally meaningless.

2002 Chevrolet TrailBlazer suv 6 cylider from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 6 cylider Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 miles
Most recent distance67000 miles
Previous carJeep Cherokee

Summary:

Unreliable

Faults:

I purchased this vehicle in Nov. 2003 with 20,000 miles on it.

April 2004, replaced both rear sway bars (warranty).

Aug. 2004, replaced all 4 rotors (warranty), I paid for new pads.

2005 replaced ac and high beam relays.

April of 2006, replaced Master cylinder.

June of 2006 Replaced rack and pinion.

Feb 2007, replaced 4 wheel drive switch.

General Comments:

This vehicle has cost me $2500+ in repairs.

My next vehicle will not be GM.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th February, 2007

Average review marks: 6.0 / 10, based on 64 reviews