2002 Chevrolet TrailBlazer Reviews - Page 9 of 19

2002 Chevrolet TrailBlazer LX not sure from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission not sure Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles
Previous carToyota Tercel

Summary:

Too many repairs and recalls

Faults:

At 6 months the fan clutch went out.

My lights were always going out, once a month. The light assembly was recalled and they were replaced, but I still carry 6 bulbs at all times.

My rear window leaked.

My mirrors went in all directions and were recalled, but still do it.

It has been in the shop 20 times.

Last month it wouldn't start and the wiper assembly had to be replaced. In the shop 12 days, $865.00 rental, that the dealer refused to pay.

Last Tuesday they replaced my tie bar.

Thursday my rear end went out, it's still in the shop.

Thank God, I purchased an extended warranty. Love the ride, love the car, but not the headaches.

General Comments:

There is wind noise from the windows.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th January, 2007

12th Jan 2007, 08:04

Did you have a GM extended warranty? I thought that included a car rental. Maybe my memory is wrong on that.

I haven't had any problems with my 2004 TB, but I have read of many problems with them prior to 2004, with 2002 as the worst year. If shopping for a used one, I wouldn't consider anything older than 2004.

2002 Chevrolet TrailBlazer EXT 4.2 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4.2 Automatic
Distance when acquired2 miles
Most recent distance56000 miles
Previous carNissan Pathfinder

Summary:

I hate it!

Faults:

Water pump failed at 55,000 miles.

Fan clutch failing at 56,000 miles.

General Comments:

I have a 2002 Trailblazer with 56,000 miles on it.

Had the water pump replaced a couple of months ago.

Today, I called the dealership about the "jet engine" sound, and they said the fan clutch is bad, and it will cost $650 to repair it.

I will write an email to GM, and include the link to this website so they can see the future business they are losing.

I can't imagine why they would not recall these vehicles for this problem and risk losing $30K from each of us when we buy our next vehicle. We'll see. Japanese for me too (unless GM stands behind this)!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd November, 2006

1st Jan 2008, 22:29

I am having the same trouble and the 4wd is gone. I wish I had keep my payed for ford that I did nothing, but put gas in and keep the oil changed. GM got me this time, but never agine.

2002 Chevrolet TrailBlazer LT 5.0 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 5.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Lumina

Summary:

Overall good, but not good enough for a repeat purchase

Faults:

Four wheel drive switch.

Fan clutch.

Cosmtic interior, dye off dash.

General Comments:

How about that! All of these TrailBlazers have the same PROBLEM, but we are expected to accept this as a CHARACTERISTIC. “Jet engine” sound and “service engine soon” light always on. I just received a quote for approximately $600 to replace the fan clutch with no guarantee that the CHARACTERISTIC (problem) would be completely resolved, or would not reoccur. As a faithful owner of both new and used GM products since the ‘70s I found it hard to believe that this was not a recall. I too expected GM to stand behind the product and correct a widespread problem. Instead I find a multitude of other poor schmucks that will have paid this out of pocket repair for what is obviously a product defect. Is it any wonder GM business is falling “Like a Rock”?

KP.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th October, 2006

2002 Chevrolet TrailBlazer LS from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Previous carHonda Accord

Faults:

Code PO 495 - Fan clutch.

General Comments:

My 2002 Trailblazer sounds like a jet engine when driving. It is "sluggish" to go when first driving. AutoZone ran a diagnostic - PO 495 which I understand is a fan clutch. The car has less than 80K miles. I further understand this repair is costly, probably greater than $600.

The check engine light came on a few days ago and I hope it will run a few days while I call around for repairs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th September, 2006

11th Jan 2007, 21:30

How can we pass all of these comments on the Chevy?

14th Jan 2008, 09:27

I had the same problem with my 2002 trailblazer. It was the fan clutch. The dealership wanted to charge 750.00 to replace it. We called around auto parts stores and got it for about 150.00 and my husband fixed it himself. We just bought a Haynes repair manual for the trailblazer and it was fixed in a couple of hours and saved us a whole heck of a lot of money.

Average review marks: 6.0 / 10, based on 64 reviews