2004 Chevrolet TrailBlazer Reviews - Page 6 of 6

2004 Chevrolet TrailBlazer LS 4.2 from North America

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.2 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired42 miles
Most recent distance19000 miles
Previous carHonda Odyssey

Summary:

A major disappointment!

Faults:

At 88 miles the module for the 4 wheel drive went bad.

At 188 miles the module failed again.

Around 5,000 miles the tank would no longer receive gas and a Technical Service Bulletin was issued resulting in replacing the filler tube.

Around 6,000 miles squeaks in door and hood were repaired.

Around 12,000 miles the latch for the hidden compartment broke.

At 18,000 miles the rack and pinion was leaking and the whole assembly replaced. The truck out of service 5 days.

At 18,002 miles the Axel and CV joint leaking and seal was bad. It was replaced and the vehicle was out of service for 5 days.

At 19,000 the directionals work inconsistently.

At 19,000 the shifter lock is going.

General Comments:

Don't waste your money. I'm a die hard Chevy guy and this truck is a major disappointment.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st September, 2004

22nd Feb 2005, 15:12

I have a 2004 Trailblazer EXT LT with 24000 miles and have had only one problem, a dead battery. If I had read your review, I might not have bought it, but I am glad I did and will hope for the best. Seems like there are good and bad examples out there.

26th Feb 2007, 05:32

I think this person is trying to stear people away from good Product, & into possibly one they work for! Maybe like "Toyota" or, etc... Some people will do any thing for a sale. Could be, there jealous of this product! It Would have sounded almost covencing until the last part of the post...

"At 19,000 the directionals work inconsistently"

"At 19,000 the shifter lock is going"

I see this strategy on reviews & forums a lot.

26th Feb 2007, 09:14

I have the new Trailblazer with 10,000 miles...no issues whatsoever........ a couple oil changes and even better than my last one. Love the Onstar as well.

2004 Chevrolet TrailBlazer EXT V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.6 / 10
Distance when acquired1 miles
Most recent distance4200 miles
Previous carIsuzu Rodeo

Summary:

A very expensive problem..

Faults:

Engine would vibrate on startup and engine would stall at stop signs. Dealer reprogrammed idle control module. It is now doing it again... see what happens this time.

Air conditioner clutch is squealing pretty loud.

Left driver side body side molding almost fell off.

Rear hatch door had to have the weather stripping re-installed since it was installed incorrectly in the first place.

CD player skips and resets all by itself.

General Comments:

Comfortable vehicle and nice to drive.

Sad thing is that it only has 4000 miles and will going to the dealership for the 4th time with multiple problems every visit.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th June, 2004

13th Aug 2004, 11:37

You titled your review "a very expensive problem", yet since you have only 4000 miles on the vehicle, it should be covered under warranty...I'm confused.

1st Aug 2005, 07:59

You stated that the Trailblazer has a "V6 Automatic." That is not true. Your vehicle has come equipped with the standard 4200 Vortec Inline 6. It is a 4.2 liter, dual overhead camshaft, four-valve per cylinder engine with variable exhaust valve timing, chain driven camshafts, and an aluminum engine block/cylinder heads. Please be more specific next time because there are potential buyers that will confuse this product with others produced by GM and it's competitors. Additionally, the automatic transmission is a four-speed Hydramatic 4L60-E for those who are interested. Please be more in depth in your reviews too.

2004 Chevrolet TrailBlazer LS from North America

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired14 miles
Most recent distance6000 miles
Previous carDodge Durango

Summary:

The best purchase I've ever made

Faults:

Nothing at all. Run like a champ.

General Comments:

I felt this car was very reliable. Unfortunatley the truck was stolen from me at 6,000 miles, but we never had one problem since we purchased the truck.

The truck has a lot of room and very comfortable seating.Also holds lots of people, all with seatbelts, and still enough room for cargo.

Automatic lights are the best.

The truck has great towing ablity.Sucks down gas when towing, but you cant feel anything.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th May, 2004

2004 Chevrolet TrailBlazer LS 4.2 from North America

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.2 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance1000 miles
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

Highly recommended SUV

Faults:

Nothing, yet.

General Comments:

The Trailblazer is probably the most comfortable SUV I have ever driven. It compares with ease to the larger ones from Chevy and other manufacturers. I would have given it an 11 out of 10 if I could have. The space of the interior is fantastic. I am 6 foot 8 and I am not even on the furthest back seating position. The head room is great and so is the leg room on the passenger side.

The power of the engine is impressive and so is the ride comfort. In my opinion it surpasses the comfort of many luxury cars (inc. Mercedes, Cadillacs).

Sound system is also great and beats the one from Ford's easily.

It's not a cheap SUV, but the little extra pays for my comfort.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th February, 2004

25th Oct 2004, 22:58

I totally agree, I am 6'7" and bought it today. driven 50 miles and love the ride/room.

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 23 reviews