2003 Chrysler PT Cruiser Reviews - Page 10 of 10

2003 Chrysler PT Cruiser Touring from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired2 miles
Most recent distance18000 miles
Previous carAcura Legend

Faults:

This car is excellent. I bought it brand new and have put 18,000 miles on it so far. The brakes are starting to squeal, so I will replace them soon (just routine maintenance).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th August, 2003

2003 Chrysler PT Cruiser GT Turbo 2.4L turbo from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.4L turbo Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired36 miles
Most recent distance6000 miles
Previous carDodge Ram Pickup

Summary:

A real hoot to drive!

Faults:

The power steering hose ruptured at 1,500 miles. Repairs were delayed by 2.5 weeks waiting for a back ordered part.

The factory installed flame graphics were damaged by movement of a heavy accumulation of ice during subsequent melting, after being parked for 3 weeks under 3 feet of snow. The graphic was replaced as a warranty item.

General Comments:

I found a fully loaded GT in black with flame graphics on the dealer lot and was immediately taken by the image it presented.

I really enjoy driving this car. A 15 minute test drive sold me on it.

It handles very nicely and it has much less body roll than it's height might suggest.

It has no trouble accelerating from 65 to 80 for highway passing, even when running up hill.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th July, 2003

12th May 2004, 05:29

I just bought a brand new, never been off the lot, Black with Flame decals, 2003 GT PT Cruiser. I got it about a month ago and I love it. I have gotten several comments about it. I once test drove a 2001 and was very impressed. It is amazing how much get up and go a 2.4L with turbo can have. I would love to get the upgrade packages, but for one, can't afford it, and two I don't need it. The stock package is enough for me. I knew the moment they were introduced I wanted one, and I was right. I love the simplicity of the automatic transmission and the convenience of the auto stick. I enjoy going down the road and being able to pass somebody with adequate speed using the auto stick. In the area I live in, most of the other PT Cruisers around are just the strip down versions, and it thrills me that mine sticks out in a good way. Its almost impossible to describe the way I feel driving my new car, but I do know that I present so much confidence when I am in the car. To be frank and with all honesty, I truly feel "cooler" than everyone else on the road!! Thank you for your time, and for making such a wonderful vehicle.

Sincerely.

Drew Noffsinger.

2003 Chrysler PT Cruiser GT 2.4L intercooled turbo from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.4L intercooled turbo Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired30 miles
Most recent distance920 miles
Previous carChrysler Sebring Coupe

Summary:

Wow, what a ride!!!

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Much more power than I thought ever possible with such a small power plant.

Sure wish my wife could drive a manual???, had to get auto c/ sport shift, not bad, but miss the manual shift.

Add a bass box and the stereo is perfect!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th March, 2003

2003 Chrysler PT Cruiser Turbo (GT) 2.4 Liter turbo from Germany

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.4 Liter turbo Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance2350 miles
Previous carDodge Ram Pickup

Summary:

Awesome car that's fun to drive

Faults:

None.

General Comments:

I am very impressed with the PT Cruiser Turbo. I live in Germany and have a U.S. Spec car. I have driven my PT Cruiser on the Autobahns at high speeds and for long distances. I will usually drive the car at 105 MPH while on the Autobahn. At higher speeds I feel the car starting to sway some, but not much.

The best gas mileage I have gotten was 250 miles on a tank and that was with driving over 100 MPH for around 100 miles of it.

The mileage in the city is not very good, I average around 200 miles per tank.

The turbo kicks in around 3400 RPM's which give the car great acceleration. There is no delay when hitting the gas pedal.

The interior is very versatile with the rear seats being able to fold down, lifted up or be taken out.

Has a wider turning radius than I expected for a car that size.

For a car, the PT Cruiser Turbo is awesome and I have no real complaints about its performance or looks (I'm more of a truck guy)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th February, 2003

2003 Chrysler PT Cruiser GT (Turbo) 2.4L Gas turbo from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.4L Gas turbo Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired17 miles
Most recent distance1800 miles
Previous carn n

Summary:

In a word: FUN

Faults:

None.

General Comments:

Well assembled and fun to drive. Very quick with turbo. Mpg poor at 14-22 on premium fuel. Small gas tank=short range. Very easy to get in and out. In short, it is fun. Lack of refinement doesn't seem to matter because of the fun factor.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th October, 2002

4th Nov 2002, 11:14

I traded my 2001 silver limited for a 2003 inferno red GT, and I find a lot of the original personal touches were carried over. But I found a number of refinements they have done to make it feel and look even better then before. If you're a die hard Cruiser you have to check out the GT. Hands down its got more for the buck then some of the higher end street rods (ha ha)

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 29 reviews