2003 Chrysler PT Cruiser Reviews - Page 9 of 10

2003 Chrysler PT Cruiser LIMITED EDITION 4 Cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4 Cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired25000 miles
Previous carChrysler PT Cruiser

Summary:

I can't wait until I can buy the convertible

Faults:

The only problem that I have with my car is that I need to get my tires balanced. It is time for an oil change and it was sold to me pretty much as is. But that is ok, because I got a pretty good deal. The car is fully loaded and it has enough room for my husband and two of friends.

General Comments:

This car eats a lot of gas, but I have squared off with my husband, who now takes my son to the day. That saves me from filling up every three days.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th June, 2004

3rd Dec 2004, 07:48

The convertible model PT's are pretty nice.

Especially either of the turbo models.

2003 Chrysler PT Cruiser Limited Edition non-turbo 4 banger from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission non-turbo 4 banger Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance19000 miles
Previous carJaguar XJS

Summary:

Looks cool and runs well, but very thirsty

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong; it is a very reliable car.

General Comments:

The car gets terrible gas mileage.

I bought this vehicle to drive to work and save my Jaguar XJS from things like snow and salt. I know it isn't a fair comparison in many ways, but I think it is a notable point that my 6-cylinder 4 litre British grand tourer delivers a solid 26-28 miles per gallon while the Cruiser struggles to achieve 23.

Handling is mediocre, but I'm spoiled in that department.

I love the style of the little beast, though, and the interior is great.

Chrysler designed a great deal of efficient space into the Cruiser. It is very versatile.

I would stand in line to buy one with a hybrid engine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th March, 2004

17th Apr 2004, 07:07

Well, gas mileage depends on your driving habits. Yes, if you constantly drive like your're in the Indy 500, you are going to have poor mileage. If you only drive like that on occasion, you're going to have better mileage.

19th Jul 2004, 20:33

Best trip mileage we could get was 26 mpg (accurately checked). Disapointing.

20th Jul 2004, 06:30

I agree totally on the mileage issue. My PT is used for daily commutes to work of 13 miles each way (country roads), with an occasional run on the turnpike every few weeks. It doesn't matter - my mileage ALWAYS hovers around 21-23 mpg, with better mileage in summer than winter. I read the owners manual - the PT's curb weight is over 3200 pounds - which is more than likely the reason for the mediocre gas usage. But I still love my PT - I wouldn't trade it for anything!

20th Mar 2005, 11:20

I love my Cruiser! Now, having said that, there are times (especially at the gas pumps) that I wish I'd never bought it. I was "caught" by the looks and feel when driving. I was driving a 10 year old van with over 100,000 miles before and it got close to 30 mpg. Imagine my surprise when I could only reach 19 mpg in country road, winter driving. True, it does better on highway driving (22-26mpg). Especially in the spring and fall when you don't need the heater or air conditioner.

I was just chalking up the bad gas mileage to the fact that I bought the car on Sept 11, 2001. Bad vibes that day!!! But that excuse can only go on for so long.

A hybrid would be interesting (and appealing) but this is the last time I splurge on "looks and feel". Next time it will be economy and practicality.

If gas money is not an issue to you, then get a Cruiser. You'll love it!

2003 Chrysler PT Cruiser GT Turbo turbo from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission turbo Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance27000 kilometres
Previous carNissan Pathfinder

Summary:

Fun, but a lemon

Faults:

Power Steering pump, various electrical problems, spark plug wires, locking mechanism.

General Comments:

I enjoy driving it, but frankly I think the quality of the car bites. I will not buyer another Chrysler again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd February, 2004

2003 Chrysler PT Cruiser Limited Edition from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired35 kilometres
Most recent distance7452 kilometres
Previous carChrysler Shadow

Summary:

The most fantastic car I have ever owned

General Comments:

This car has so much room inside and the headroom is more than enough.

The headlights are are fantastic.

I love this entire car from front to back.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th October, 2003

14th Oct 2003, 13:19

I am new to the 'PT' thing myself... I have only had mine since 9/23/03. You're right PT's are great cars, they drive as well as they look.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 29 reviews