2003 Chrysler PT Cruiser Reviews - Page 8 of 10

2003 Chrysler PT Cruiser 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance16000 miles
Previous carFord Focus

Summary:

A car that appeals to the head and the heart

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

This is the best car we have ever owned. It has been a trouble free experience since we picked the car up in July 2003.

Absolutely love the looks! It is without doubt one of the most distinctive looking cars on the road. You either love or hate the PT Cruiser! The "Electric" special edition has wonderful electric blue metallic paint. The interior is as characterful as the outside and seems well constructed.

The 2.0 litre engine is reliable and economical, but is a little raucous and noisy under hard acceleration. It could do with a few more horsepower too, although it is not slow.

The PT Cruiser handles pretty well and the ride is firm, but not uncomfortable.

The interior is very spacious with ample room for five occupants. I am very tall and there is plenty of head and legroom for me.

No other car is so practical yet has so much character.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th August, 2004

2003 Chrysler PT Cruiser Classic 2.4 litre from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.4 litre Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired35000 kilometres
Most recent distance35350 kilometres
Previous carDodge Neon

Summary:

I'd buy another one

Faults:

As I just recently purchased the car, nothing has gone wrong with it & after checking the service history for the vehicle, it was never off the road in the year the previous owner had it.

General Comments:

The seats are comfortable

The drive-train is quiet

It could use some more space in behind the rear seats for storage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th July, 2004

2003 Chrysler PT Cruiser Base 4 cylindar from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4 cylindar Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired100 miles
Most recent distance24000 miles
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

Vehicle has been unreliable

Faults:

Spark Plugs fell out of casing at about 10,000 miles.

Vigorous Jumping Sensation started at about 10,000 miles (12 times in shop December, 2003 - May, 2004 and problem only goes away for about 500 miles and then returns)

Car decelerated instead of accelerating when passing; around 16,000 miles.

Spark Plugs have been replaced multiple times.

Computer has been replaced.

Coil Ignition Switch has been replaced.

Front and Rear Bumpers showing tape lines 23,000 miles.

General Comments:

The vehicle is very comfortable.

Vehicle is great on gas mileage.

Vehicle can hold more than most vehicles.

Vehicle has let me down enough now that I won't purchase another one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th June, 2004

8th Jun 2004, 20:47

Did you like the Ford better than the PT Cruiser? My dad likes PT Cruisers and I will have to tell him about your review.

19th Mar 2005, 15:37

Your alternator is bad. have it replaced instead of wasting money.

20th Nov 2005, 04:40

I always liked the PT styling and noticed that Chevy has rolled out a similar model now. So I rented one when traveling and was shocked by the low build quality and a flimsy trunk lid that would pop open when hitting a bump on the road. Remember that Mercedes BOUGHT Chrysler and that this is actually a low quality Daimler-Benz vehicle!

16th Dec 2005, 00:24

I'm sorry, but I must disagree with the build quality you say about the PT Cruiser.

I am not the best person to take care of a vehicle, but I have had my PT Cruiser Touring Edition for nearly a year now, and I purchased it used. It is a 2003 model and I have nearly 60,000 miles. I have never had any problem with the trunk latch. The only thing I am having problems with is the power mirror switch.

This car is the best I have ever owned, and I have owned a few nice cars in my past.

I had a Ford Focus ZX3 and it was one of the worse brand new cars I have owned and Fords' customer care was anything, but care. I got rid of the Focus and got a PT Cruiser and have been in love with it since.

It just goes to show, not everyone loves every single vehicle style around. They all have their favorites.

Also, I do not like the Chevy HHR. They couldn't even give it a proper name. I have no idea what HHR is supposed to stand for. But I'm sure it isn't anything impressive.

12th Feb 2006, 22:07

The trunk latch and low quality flimsy build he was referring to was on the "Heritage High Roof" (HHR) he rented, not the PT.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 29 reviews