1998 Chrysler Sebring Convertible Reviews - Page 11 of 14

1998 Chrysler Sebring Convertible JXI V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 miles
Most recent distance81000 miles
Previous carNissan Sentra

Summary:

It's only good for the first 5 years

Faults:

Water pump went out and head gasket blew at 75,000 miles.

Fuse to ignition switch/starter keeps blowing out since 77,000 miles, electrical problem.

Catalytic converter needs to be replaced at 81,000 miles.

Convertible top is wearing at the seams.

General Comments:

It's a great car regarding looks and comfort.

It handles and drives nicely.

It's unreliable as far as workmanship goes.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th February, 2004

2nd Aug 2004, 16:02

Your starter fuse problem is a loose wire leading to the solenoid that is attached to the starter. Check it out. It is a plastic plug that is more than likely burnt to some extent.

15th Oct 2004, 08:27

Dear Sir: The issues you mention are general maintenance problems to be expected at the times and mileages you mention. Any vehicle must be maintained to remain functional.

We have a 1998 Sebring JXi. We enjoy it very much although we now have a leak problem and the top needs to be replaced. The stitching is breaking out on ours as well. The stitching seems to be more susceptible to sun damage than the top itself.

11th Nov 2004, 19:00

I recently began shopping for a Sebring and have noticed the same problem with top stitching deteriorating - IMHO it appears the tops are seamed using unwaxed cotton thread which is prone to rot. A good grade waxed thread or a polyester/nylon thread would have prevented this problem. Anyone having the top redone should verify with their upholstery shop that the thread used for repair is ROT PROOF (ie, not COTTON)

19th Dec 2009, 21:33

I disagree with the above poster. Here in NC there are many old (er) Chrysler products on the road. I have a 1985 Dodge D150 pickup and a 1993 Dodge Spirit, both with way over 200,000 miles and they are driven daily!

1998 Chrysler Sebring Convertible jxi six from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission six Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.6 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carEagle Talon

Summary:

I have had many nightmares concerning this car

Faults:

The car would start, then the security system would shut everything down. After three attempts the engine would be disabled and the car would have to be towed. This has happened seven times. It happened on an island, I had to have the car towed to the island dealer, (they could not fix it) towed from there to the ferry, pushed on the ferry, the ferry ride, pushed off the ferry and towed to the nearest shop to have the computer replaced for the second time, (of three). A year ago they replaced the dashboard cluster, this seems to have taken care of the security system problem. This problem was particularly aggravating since the car worked fine, but the security system would not let me use the car.

Since the dealer replaced the dash cluster, when the interior of the car gets hot, (sitting out on a sunny day) the gages quit working, the air will not chill and the top won't pop, perfect for a hot sunny day with a convertible. What did I buy a convertible for? After driving for 30 to 60 minutes depending on the air temp these problems go away and everything starts working again after something (who knows what) cools off.

General Comments:

I may have gotten a lemon, but how can dealership let the same problem keep happening over and over. The problem should have been fixed and done with.

The car itself performs well, is roomy and comfortable, while short of a sports car it gets twice the mileage with good pick-up and handling.

I will never ever buy a Chrysler again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th January, 2004

1998 Chrysler Sebring Convertible jxi 2.5 liter from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5 liter Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 kilometres
Most recent distance63000 kilometres
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

A comfortable cruiser for the family man looking for a convertible

Faults:

The car is making some kind of groaning sound from the suspension on the front driver side. Have yet to have it examined or repaired.

General Comments:

This car could be the best selling all around sports car in the world. If they would increase the performance at the low end and tighten up the suspension any man or woman could use this spacious car and really be impressed. As it stands now, way to slow from the start and the car sways far too easily around turns. The interior is very nicely done.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd December, 2003

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 41 reviews