1998 Chrysler Sebring Convertible Reviews - Page 9 of 14

1998 Chrysler Sebring Convertible JXi Limited 2.5v SOHC from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.5v SOHC Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired76000 miles
Most recent distance76500 miles
Previous carChrysler Sebring Convertible

Summary:

Chrysler, don't ever discontinue it; just get the mechanics right

Faults:

So far, I've noticed a few things wrong; not really major, just things that bother me.

Leather seats are starting to crack slightly. Possibly due to sun over-exposure from previous owner (s).

Steering is slightly loose, meaning I have to turn the wheel to about the 1:30 position before it will "grip" the axle and turn the tires right, and about the 11 position before it will turn them left. I believe some of the steering hardware is worn, but I haven't had it checked yet. Very annoying considering our freeways are thin, so if you're driving next to someone, it's hard to keep the car in line.

The car frequently (as was the case with my last Sebring) seems to need wheel balancing, as evident by the shaking that constantly occurs at high speeds.

Something must be wrong with the gas gauge, because it's ALWAYS moving. My friend's Hyundai's gas needle is frozen, it rarely moves, if ever. I know it's better gas mileage, but come on.

General Comments:

I can admit that I love the Sebring. This is my second, and I like this one even more than the first.

It's not for everyone, though. I've yet to run into too many people who could see themselves driving the car. They admire it, they comment on it, but they couldn't drive it themselves.

A lot of people say it's a "woman's" car, and I wholeheartedly disagree. I say it's a professional's car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd October, 2004

3rd Dec 2004, 07:56

Please for safety's sake, get your front end fixed.

It sounds like you might need new tie rods.

18th Jul 2010, 16:59

I have to agree. I own my first Sebring and it is 1996 with 113000 miles. But it runs great and smooth. I was shocked at how well this car handled and ran. Great buy, my next car will be a newer Chrysler Sebring convertible. Loving it!

1998 Chrysler Sebring Convertible JXI 2.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired67000 miles
Most recent distance143000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Delta 88

Summary:

A great look, with few problems

Faults:

Got the car November/2001 in California.

After 3 weeks the starter went bad, would blow the fusses every other day, no big deal got a new one under the 90 days dealer warranty.

After 2 years (with over 120,000 miles) got a broken piston inside the motor, had to replace two of them. Fortunately, I live now in Arizona, close to the Mexican border and happened to be driving in Mexico when it broke down. Got the parts in the US (2 new pistons, all gaskets, new valves etc, about $300.00) was charged about N$1400.00 for labor (approx $125.00usd).

About a month ago, May/04 had to replace the electric motor fan, no big deal, very cheap in Hermosillo, Mex (About $70.00usd)

General Comments:

With over 140,000 miles, our car still works great (and we travel very often long distances), the key here is to maintain the car in good condition (oil change every 3500 miles or so, tune-up twice a year, tire balance/alignment, wash inside/outside every 2 weeks)

However, I understand that the maintenance/repair costs are a bit pricey, so I really recommend if you are planning to buy a Sebring conv, you must have enough time to attend your car.

Dedicate time/attention to your car, and you will have a great car for a while.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st July, 2004

17th Apr 2005, 00:06

Last I checked the 2.5 was a six. He is right take care of your car and it will take care of itself. I work on cars for a living and tell many folks that oil is the cheapest insurance you can buy. Thanks, Mr. Mopar.

1998 Chrysler Sebring Convertible Jxi from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance98000 miles
Previous carPlymouth Sundance

Summary:

Terrible investment.. it doesn't look too good when it won't drive

Faults:

First problem I had was a month after buying it. The transmission blew, with two gears getting burned up all due to a faulty transmission fluid hose. very expensive, but thankfully some persuasive calling to the dealership persuaded them to fix it.

The A/C blower has gone out ($400).

O2 sensor gone out multiple times ($200 a pop).

Head gasket blew. Not covered under warranty (~$2k to fix).

Top is coming unthreaded and unglued around back window, making it look ghetto. But I can't seem to save up enough money to get that fixed because I busy paying for mechanical failures.

"Special package" feature wood paneling has cracked off on passenger side as well as knobs on radio coming off.

Had to replace tires ($500) and am trying to save up to fix brakes.

General Comments:

This car has been in the shop 10 times in the last year and a half and never for anything small.

I am longing to pay this car off so I can trade it in (if I'll even get anything for it) and get another vehicle. Never again for Chrysler. I have had more problems with this vehicle than all other vehicles combined; my mechanic now has a prefilled out form for me every time I come in and knows me by first name when I call, since I see him so often.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th April, 2004

13th Apr 2004, 10:09

This jives with the experience of everyone I've known, including my father, who had a Sebring convertible.

I've found one simple rule effective for judging cars -- though this doesn't work with wholly new models. Observe how many are still on the road... From seeing scads of Sebrings when they first came out I've gone to them being few and far between. Contrast this with, for instance, your basic Toyota Corolla, of which you still see oodles of all vintages driving about...

16th Mar 2005, 21:16

It is ashamed that you have had such a horrible experience with your. Mine is at the 100,000 mile mark and I have owned it since brand new. I did get the extended warranty (the only time I ever got one) but it did pay off because the time belt broke at 45,000 miles causing extensive damage, but after that it has been wonderful!!! It looks great and is still running like a champ. Last year my husband asked if I wanted to start looking for a new car - but after looking around there is nothing out there I really liked. I did put a new top on it because 5 years of wear had did a number of it! And put new wheels on it! I walked away with a car that looked as good as when I bought it new and runs just as well. I live in Florida and you see MANY Sebring convertibles. I love it!!

15th Aug 2005, 14:26

I agree with the above poster.

My '97 has 114k miles, and I have had very very problems in the 3000 miles since I bought it. In New Jersey, the land of brutally snowy winters, and atrociously hot summers I see many first generation Sebring convertibles abound. Many in better condition then mine, granted people put them away for the winter... but still. They can last quite some time.

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 41 reviews