1998 Chrysler Sebring Convertible Reviews - Page 7 of 14

1998 Chrysler Sebring Convertible JXI 2.5L Gas from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.5L Gas Automatic
Distance when acquired20 miles
Most recent distance126000 miles

Summary:

This is the most enjoyable car I have ever owned

Faults:

I also have had the 20A fuse blow when trying to start the car. I had the starter checked out at a local auto parts and it was fine. Soon discovered that it is the small wire shorting out that runs from the computer to the starter that is causing the problem. Since it was in the main wire harness, I rerouted a new wire and have not had any more problems.

The volume control on the stereo is hit or miss as to whether the volume goes up or down. I am going to replace the stereo so it will no longer be an issue.

I did get a recall for the anti-freeze causing the freeze plugs to rust, about a year after I replaced them.

General Comments:

I purchased a 1998 Sebring Convertible JXI new in 1998 and have loved it since the first time I drove it. I love the take off power and the way it seems to just glide effortlessly down the road at 75 mph with plenty of power to spare.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd June, 2006

14th Jun 2006, 23:19

I have a '97 JXI convertible and it is obvious that it is an American-made car. It is our only American car and the quality and integrity of the Sebring seems noticeably lower than our Japanese-made cars. My transmission leaks and my antifreeze levels go down relatively fast. My tachometer and odometer die frequently and my power locks quit working. The heater only works on high and the passenger side window is slower than you can imagine. Most annoyingly, the "service engine soon" light comes on all the time, but for no reason. I have had this checked and it is signaling no mechanical despair. It just comes on and off at total random. Granted, this car is 9 years old, but it's nickel and diming us a little too much for 43,000 miles. Nonetheless, it is a beautiful car and a fun one to drive. Lastly, does anyone know how to turn the fog lights on? As stupid as it may seem, I have absolutely NO idea how to turn the fog lights on.

3rd Jan 2007, 17:40

Mitsubishi Drive Train not American. Owned a Sebring for two years now no problems...

26th Sep 2011, 22:48

To turn on fog lights for a 1998 Sebring Convertible... The same lever you use to turn/adjust lights on is the lever you use. Pull out on the tip of this lever (it is stiff and takes a bit of a pull).

1998 Chrysler Sebring Convertible from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired132000 miles
Most recent distance136000 miles
Previous carChrysler Sebring Convertible

Faults:

Since this is my 2nd Sebring Convertible, I have noticed many similarities in the problems or faults of these cars; most of them minor issues, however, 1 in particular is very serious and I am trying to track down others who have experienced the same.

Minor problems (on both my 1997 & 1998) include:

Noisy front brakes

Air Bag light on dashboard that goes on at random

Drivers door noise - hinge needs to be replaced

The seal on the outside/bottom of back window separates from the convertible top - easily repaired by using double sided foam mounting tape which has held up for over a year going thru the car wash frequently.

*Note regarding the convertible top:

The fabric top holds up much better than the plastic/vinyl convertible top.

Major Issue:

Has anyone experienced brake problems with their Sebring Convertible? Specifically in terms of performance. I have had (on both model years 97 & 98) instances where I've had to hit the brakes quickly and they feel almost as though they have "broken" and gone to the floor, but I am able to "re-break" without pumping them up. These occurences have happened at speeds ranging between 35-60 mph. Feedback anyone???

General Comments:

This girl loves her convertibles and I am thrilled that after totalling one Sebring I was able to pick up another one about a year later at a great price. Higher miles, but in good shape - I already knew what to look for and what to expect and it feels like going home again. While I was more of a GM fan prior, I'm a sucker for the comfort and styling of these Chrysler convertibles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st July, 2005

24th Sep 2005, 15:54

This is in response to both the minor and serious problems. I too have experienced the loud front brakes, as well as the back brakes. I've also had to deal with the window separation, and some moderate/heavy flooding in the trunk.

As far as the serious issue with the brakes. I too have experienced this, and I wasn't sure if it was the ABS activating, or not working correctly. It happened to me a few times going down icy hills, but one time I was travelling about 30 mph and had to hit the brakes hard, and it felt like something was going to break off of the car. It seemed, like you said, that the brakes went to the floor, but I just seemed to skid (the ground was wet). It really frightened me, because I didn't know what it was. I had never had a car with ABS, so I didn't know what to expect. I definitely didn't expect that.

10th Sep 2006, 14:03

Word of advice on the major braking problem. Have your mechanic look over that braking system, because it sounds as though it might be related to the master cylinder, perhaps a leaking secondary seal. This is a general car problem, don't worry, it's not a Chrysler thing.

11th May 2009, 17:48

I am working on a friend's car to try and correct this serious problem with the brakes. As I don't drive the car myself everyday, I have never been able to get it to act up. It does it just every so often and under normal braking conditions. She said it feels as if there is no brakes at all, but on retry there are plenty of brakes. Sounds like this could be a very serious condition. If anyone has any repair tips it would be greatly appreciated. The car is a 97 Sebring V-6 convertible. I have tried cleaning rust and debris from the ABS sensors, but it still does it.

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 41 reviews