1991 Citroen AX Reviews - Page 3 of 11

1991 Citroen AX TGD from Malta

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership1993
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance67000 miles
Previous carVolvo 244

Summary:

Gasket defect unacceptable

Faults:

Cylinder Head Gasket. This fails with every Diesel model I know of (3) every ~4 years

Water pump after 6 years

Clutch after 10 years

Relay switch of cooling fan every 5 yrs

Shock absorbers every 6 yrs- but Maltese roads are very bad

Internal heating radiator leak after 10- had to be disconnected as it is practically "unreachable"

Dashboard cracked after 10 years

Seats defective pull-up and slider mechanism after 3 yrs

Spent first three years occasionally finding bolts and nuts that got loose from passenger area.

General Comments:

Very economical - could make about 430 Miles with tank-full when car was new. However gasket defect repair balanced out cost benefits from consumption.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd July, 2003

25th Jul 2003, 03:09

Hello I am Nikola from Serbia. My car is Citroen ax 14tgd 1991.I did not have any problem ever whit this car. Whit 43l this car can go over then 1100km after the twelve years of use.

17th Oct 2003, 12:48

I can just confirm low fuel consumption, 4l/100km is easily reachable. But my 14TGD/91 needs quite expensive service, like head damage, discovered after a complete head repair including gasket,..maybe I just have bad luck. I'm decided to buy a car with 1.5dCi engine...

1991 Citroen AX TRE 1.1 Gasoline from Portugal

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.1 Gasoline Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 kilometres
Most recent distance77000 kilometres

Summary:

Great for city streets or a not to steep downhill

Faults:

Radiator died at 76000 km.

General Comments:

This car handles pretty good.

It's fast as hell for a 1.1.

The cabin isn't that confortable, especially the back seats.

The gear ratio is really short, which fits a car that small.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th February, 2003

1991 Citroen AX 10E 1.0 Litre from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.0 Litre Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired92000 miles
Most recent distance104400 miles

Summary:

Great first car

Faults:

New gearbox needed when I got the car.

Heater and fuel pipes split in the engine.

CV joints and brake pipes needed renewing.

Seats were badly worn.

General Comments:

This is my first car to own. It has been very reliable and quite nippy for a 1.0 litre engine.

The interior was very dull and flimsy, but after putting in a GT interior its a lot better now!

I haven't had any major problems with the car, just general wear and tear.

It doesn't handle to well with a lot of body roll, but quite happily goes along at 80mph.

It becomes very underpowered with people in the back, but then its only a 1.0 litre engine so you'd expect this.

Overall, the car is a great car to own as a first car. Easy to fix and work on. I'd definitely buy another one and recommend it to someone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd February, 2003

1991 Citroen AX GT 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired91000 miles
Most recent distance94000 miles

Summary:

Kept me safe when hit by a big van !

Faults:

New Clutch.

New Headlight.

New Spark Plugs.

Some Minor welding on the B Post.

General Comments:

For all the people who claim that Citroen Ax's are built like crisp packets and are unsafe. I would like to let you all know I just walked away from a 20-30Mph crash with a Ford Transit Van, both myself and my passenger were OK. unfortunately that's more that can be said for my GT, it now has no front end, mainly due to the Bumper detaching and sending both headlamps skyward and bending the bonnet.

Needles to say I am not best pleased and I will post again when I get it all fixed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th November, 2002

17th Jun 2003, 05:32

OK,

I didn't manage to get it back on the road, Chassis arms bent waaaaaaaaaay too much.

So I bought another!!

AX GT's totally rule, v quick, central locking, electric windows, easy to work on, cheap parts, great fuel economy.

16th Jun 2005, 06:38

A crisp packet with electric windows! Nice! That's what you need in your life!

2nd Sep 2006, 18:28

I rolled my AX GT over 3 times on it's roof and into a ditch. I'm 6'3" and walked away unharmed! Pleasantly surprised given the AX is made of tin foil. After many years in various BMW's, etc. I still miss the AX GT's fun character!

14th Nov 2006, 11:18

White van man crashed into mine he said it was 30 but police said judging by the skid marks it was closer to 45. Wrecked the front, but I was fine and the car was sold for spares, but repaired! mind you I think this was quite a lucky case considering the speed!!! I miss my gt :- (rare as rockin horse poo, quick, look great! LONG LIVE THE GT!!!

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 39 reviews