1991 Citroen AX Reviews - Page 9 of 11

1991 Citroen AX GT 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance93000 miles

Summary:

Pint sized pocket rocket

Faults:

Well, the first engine didn't last long, the new engine is going good though. I have replaced most of the parts at this stage, but very little has actually failed. The master cylinder has just pack, and just the consumables - bushes, suspension etc. Not a bad wee motor.

General Comments:

Its an easily tuneable car, handles well and can be made to look good. All in all, it's a great laugh, and has cheap insurance, 0-60 in just under 9 seconds. Good power to weight ratio - perfect.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th December, 2000

1991 Citroen AX GT 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired98000 miles
Most recent distance100000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 106 XS

Summary:

A cheap speed demon

Faults:

The carburettor needed setting up.

General Comments:

Whoever said that the AX GTs are unreliable are talking rubbish, mine has got me everywhere and I love it. I used to have a Peugeot 106 XS and the GT is a lot quicker and less money so don't think new cars are better coz it isn't the case.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th November, 2000

23rd Jan 2001, 14:43

Since this I have put a new head gasket set on.

1991 Citroen AX GT500 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired83000 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Nova

Summary:

Speed machine

Faults:

Clutch disintegrated.

Fog light stopped working.

Wiper relay stopped working.

Locks broke (both).

Central locking switches broke.

Bolts from the gearbox fell out.

Heater blower squeaks like mad.

Bulbs blew.

Gearstick rattles.

Exhaust gaskets blew (6 of them!).

Screw snapped inside the exhaust manifold.

Three of the tyres went flat, but apart from that it's one hell of a quick car!!

General Comments:

Because it's the GT500 it's got leather seats which makes the car look great and its speed is incredible for a 1.4 engine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th November, 2000

1991 Citroen AX GT 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired25000 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles

Summary:

RS Turbo Eater

Faults:

Had a blown radiator.

A dodgy carb.

Reverse switch.

Electric window motor.

General Comments:

The car has been very reliable, had no major problems.

Lots of fun to drive, a very easy car to modify, loves to be hammered.

Just keeps on going.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th October, 2000

7th Jan 2001, 05:36

AX GT 9.0 secs.

RS Turbo 8.1 secs.

In the real world there's nothing in it.... a good AX will beat a "dogged" RST.

18th Jan 2001, 06:07

Yup... the second guy is right... there's not much in it on the road. A good AX GT with a competent driver will whip a dog of an RST with a typical "boy" driver!

I know... I have beaten RST's... and I've been hammered by an RST! I found out that the guy who killed me was a semi-pro driver... so I went and took some advanced lessons... and now I compete in the AX GT cup events... and I destroy many quicker cars on the road (eg Saxo VTR/VTS, Pug 1.9 GTI's, even a badly-driven Clio 16V) cos the owners just can't drive!

So you need to have a quick car AND be a quick, safe driver! One outta two just ain't good enough!

27th Feb 2001, 15:52

At the end of the day the AX will blow up before it gets to 60 - I should know, mine did... twice.

2nd Mar 2001, 01:59

The AX GT seems to be the car to buy if you like to try to beat an RS at the lights.

Buy Buy Buy

2nd Aug 2001, 21:20

I'll race your RS Turbo!!

My AXGT is currently kicking out 120 bhp (I kid you not) and it will destroy your rusty ford at any speed.

Lets see if that rustles some feathers!

3rd Aug 2001, 20:35

What interests me is that why all of these RS Turbo boys are reading AXGT reviews? If they are so crap, why bother reading about them?

You know in the back of your minds that these cars can seriously worry an RST off the mark!!

P.s - my cousin used to own an RST and to be honest they are not as quick as you may think, you have to spend loads of cash on them to make them go really good... not so with the little AX!

28th Jan 2009, 19:27

A good AX GT will beat a "dogged" RST, so what??

RSTs are OK, but they have got crap turbos; they like to blow.

So yes, when it does that, the AX GT wins doesn't it.

Have had both.

So for your 1st car, get an AX GT, then get a Honda Civic VTi 0 to 60 7.7 secs.

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 39 reviews