1991 Citroen AX Reviews - Page 5 of 11

1991 Citroen AX GT 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired97000 miles
Most recent distance117000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

AXGT's are great!

Faults:

Head gasket at 105k, new discs and pads (had the wrong type fitted!!), drivers seat came loose from the floor, coolant leak, carburetter goes out of tune regularly, new tyres fitted, annoying squeaks and rattles..

Apart from that, nothing major has gone wrong with this car.

General Comments:

Regardless of what other people may say about the AXGT I really do like this car, it is not as unreliable as you may think... and as for performance, well it is on a par with Nova GTE's when it is standard (if not slightly faster), but when it is tuned up this thing will eat Escort RS Turbos (I kid you not!). The fact that the car is so light means that every little mod you do is noticeable, and they respond well to being lowered and the extra power helps I think..

One thing - get the brakes sorted as they are pants!!

AXGT's are great!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th December, 2001

15th Dec 2003, 06:51

Your right I have blown away a rs turbo in my ax gt and it is only running 105bhp.

5th Oct 2005, 06:59

Have an AX 1.1i with a K&N induction kit. Very fast and great accelaration. Love the cars to bits.

1991 Citroen AX 11 Thalassa 1.1 compressed natural gas from Italy

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.1 compressed natural gas Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance155000 kilometres
Previous carFiat Panda

Summary:

Economical and fast

Faults:

The axle-shaft broke at 95000 km; the mechanic told me this is one of the chronic problems of the AX.

The starting device blew at 75000 km.

No more problems occurred except, obviously, normal maintenance and changes (oil, 2 batteries, 2 exhausts).

General Comments:

The best quality of Ax is its low use costs, first of all concerning petrol, and in my case gas consumption. It's easy to run 20 km with a litre of leaded petrol.

I greatly reached Praha and Ljubljana, testing its travelling attitude.

Top speed (161 km/h) and 0-100 km/h acceleration in 11.7 seconds confirm the great engine.

One may blame the soft suspension in tight curves.

It would be great to share comments with whom may be interested in my car. Please contact me : Riccardo.Gamberinitravels@inwind.it

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th November, 2001

26th Nov 2001, 16:54

If you like the small engine AX, then you should try the AXGT 1.4, it flies.

25th Jul 2003, 03:16

If you like economical car then you should try ax 14tgd.

1991 Citroen AX GT 500 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance82000 miles
Previous carNissan Micra

Summary:

Fast and handles well, but expensive when things go wrong!

Faults:

Only the usual wear and tear, although my last service cost £360!

A Citroen garage have found 4 separate oil leaks from the head gasket, gearbox and 2 other places I can't remember! They think it will cost over £1000 pounds to get only the main leaks fixed!

General Comments:

I'm positive my car is lacking power even though it is quite old. Maybe this has something to do with the oil leaks?

It still shifts at quite a rate though and the handling is also very good. Shame about the brakes though, seriously bad at stopping you quickly, emergency stops are practically impossible in this car!

The half leather seats though are a nice addition and pretty comfortable. The pedals are far too close together though!

I would recommend one to anyone who's thinking of buying one to make sure you check it over throughly before buying as there are a lot of duds about!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th November, 2001

1991 Citroen AX GT 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired58000 miles
Most recent distance59500 miles
Previous carVauxhall Vectra

Summary:

A steal at the price

Faults:

Drivers seat is broken in.

Fog lamps are smashed.

Heaters don't work.

Electric window motors packed in.

CV boot is burst.

Driveshaft end is away on the driver's side.

General Comments:

The registration plate I have just found out is worth £1200 - and the car is been off the road for over a month getting fixed up.

This is not my first AX, however this GT has been neglected by the previous owner and is now almost restored back to new.

It's very quick and handles on corners like you wouldn't believe, it still has the red stripe on the carpet glowing and no rust under the bonnet.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th August, 2001

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 39 reviews