1997 Citroen Saxo SX 1.1 from Greece

Summary:

The ideal car for someone who enjoys driving, but doesn't have a plenty of money to spend

Faults:

Gearbox oil leak, from a seal.

Premature disk wear.

General Comments:

The car is very quick and nippy for a 1.1 litre.

It handles great in the corners.

Very comfortable on long trips.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd September, 2004

1997 Citroen Saxo SX 1.1 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

A fashionable head turner

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with this car since I have owned it, except for when another driver hit it. This however caused more damage to the offending car then it did to my Saxo. This has increased my confidence in its safety and durability.

General Comments:

I really like this car because it came with a spoiler that is larger and better looking then those of the Citroen Saxo Furio's. The seats are comfortable and the positioning of the seat to the steering wheel and pedals is great for someone who is short.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th August, 2004

1997 Citroen Saxo VTR 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

A pocket rocket in every way

Faults:

Replaced front brake discs as one was cracked.

Sunroof has a small leak.

Alternator needed replacing.

General Comments:

This car, for all its minor faults, is absolutely great.

The performance is very good for an 8v. Lacks a bit though when there are more than two people in the car.

The handling is typical Citroen; fantastic. Mine has been lowered 60mm, which just makes the cornering even better.

With a ram air induction kit and a Powerflow exhaust, the 1.6 gives a great sound, and also gets a performance boost.

Citroen's build quality is a bit iffy, as I had a 1.1 Saxo as my first car, and when it was lowered, the dash seemed to rattle a lot.

The seats are very supportive, but the cushioning seems to compress a lot, leaving you sitting on the metal frame.

Otherwise, this car is a great buy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd July, 2004

12th Nov 2005, 03:48

I took one of these out for a test drive once.

It's quick enough, but you don't feel any shove in the back under acceleration.

It's a good looking little car, but it feels quite cheap on the inside, lacks a bit in terms of luxuries and the footwell is so cramped it makes driving difficult.

22nd Oct 2006, 14:56

Adding another point to the focus remark. having been in one it certainly feels quicker than it actually is!

23rd Oct 2006, 06:13

The VTR has 2 times, 9.9 for the 97, and 9.2 for the later models.

1997 Citroen Saxo VTR 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

A high performance bargain

Faults:

Battery died once.

Flashing Air Bag Light.

Remote central locking poor distance.

General Comments:

Handles very well.

Quick acceleration, good MPG. Nice sears, I love the front fogs. and the optional soiler looks wicked.

A boy racers dream!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th July, 2004

1997 Citroen Saxo VTR 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

A hot hatch with cheap insurance

Faults:

The radiator suffered a hole from a flying stone, but put that down to wear and tear.

Second gear and reverse are a pain to select. It needs me to lift and depress the clutch before they will fully engage.

Air bag light constantly flashes. It is not a problem with the actual airbag, the problem lying with the under seat wiring on the drivers side.

Fuel pump stopped working at 75,000 miles.

Exhaust system constantly develops 'holes' around the welding of joints.

The valve seals split at 100,000 miles.

The idle is erratic and mostly high. Citroen say this is normal.

Tappets needed adjusting at 110,000 miles.

General Comments:

The car is quick and handles perfectly.

It is great fun to drive and will give anyone a run for their money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th January, 2004

1997 Citroen Saxo VTS 1.6 16v from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Saxo VTS a rally car?

Faults:

I've had the car for about 2 weeks now, everything was fine. Until one day I was driving home from work and the car started to sound like a tank. I called the AA, who carried out various tests. Finally it was concluded that 2 cylinders had lost compression! later found out the head gasket had gone. expensive.

Apart from that no other faults.

General Comments:

My previous car was a Fiat uno Turbo, that was a quick little car! But the VTS is something else, it goes so well and handles like it is stuck to the road.

Its reasonable normal until you start to get the revs up into the 4000 / 5000 area, then it just wants to go quicker and quicker! its feels like your driving a rally car, escapecially when your on the country roads and you drop it down a gear and put your foot down.. wow! the handling complements the speed, some of the corners you can take you wouldn't believe. How I didn't end up in the hedge I will never know! yet the car still didn't lose control.

Mine has been lowered 16mm which has improved the handling vastly.

It has a green induction kit, which makes it go a little quicker, makes a nice induction sound.

Although reading everyones reviews, I'm sort of waiting to see what is going to go wrong next with the car.

Oh and by the way, it goes better than a ford fiesta Zetec S, I've driven both cars.

Apart from that what a car! buy one!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th July, 2003