1997 Citroen Saxo Reviews - Page 6 of 12

1997 Citroen Saxo VTR 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired17000 miles
Most recent distance66000 miles
Previous carHonda CRX

Summary:

Cheap to run, but unreliable

Faults:

The steering rack needed replacing, the car has needed 2 new exhaust pipes, the horn has broken, the clutch squeeks, the sunroof leaks, the tappets rattle, the radiator blew, it leaked oil and the CV joint needed replacing. the car has a full service histroy to the manufacturers schedule.

General Comments:

Nice car looks wise, cheap insurance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th August, 2002

22nd Nov 2002, 11:30

Hi guys.

My saxo has come across several problems during its time with me, a new clutch needed, water leaking through the roof, brake discs and pads wear out every 10,000 miles, and in general terrible build quality. The dealerships are even worse, and would strongly advise not buying one of these micro-machines.

Rob.

8th Apr 2003, 06:56

Cheers for the comments boys. I was thinking about buying one of these in a couple of months time, but there seems to be a few too many of the reviews on here that pan the build quality and reliability, which, as I intend to keep the car for a few years and I do a high mileage, is no good to me. Looks likes it's onto plan 2, and a Vaux Astra.

5th Oct 2003, 15:41

I bought my Saxo on August 1996. On January 1997 I had an accident - I was almost killed.

The car's structure is very weak, and if something goes wrong, the possibilities of surviving are nil. The reason for the accident was the broken hydraulic steering wheel. The car was only 4 months old!!!

1997 Citroen Saxo VTS 1.6 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance76800 miles
Previous carCitroen AX

Summary:

Quickest car for the money without a doubt

Faults:

Wheel arch liners detached.

Alarm interior sensors malfunctioned and still aren't working.

Uses a lot of oil, but this is apparently the case with high performance 16v engines. Keep an eye on it.

General Comments:

The car is wonderfully quick. I am a police driver and NOTHING the police have (at least in my force) would catch a well driven VTS around local roads, well apart from the helicopter!!

The handling is great in the dry, but slides a bit in the wet, you have to be careful.

Fuel economy is reasonable at around 30mpg when being used hard.

Spec. could be better. At least a leather steering wheel should have been included.

Also a lad on this survey stated that he had 124mph out of his with a K&N filter on. Mine, bog standard, after 1 year running in...135 MPH, and still another 1000rpm till the red line.

Obviously mine is now exactly 5 years old, and has done a lot of miles, but has not once let me down. Great car, I would have another without a second thought.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th May, 2002

24th Nov 2004, 08:32

If you were a police driver, then you wouldn't have driven at 135 mph.

19th Sep 2009, 18:25

This policeman may have done it on a track - how would you know?

21st Sep 2009, 06:14

I once spoke to a traffic cop who told me of his regular 170mph blasts on his R1 bike. I don't think the police are always as goody two shoes as they would have us believe.

1997 Citroen Saxo SX 1.4 i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.4 i Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired15000 miles
Most recent distance17000 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

An affordable, sexy, comfortable motor

Faults:

Absolutely nothing.

General Comments:

I love it

It's cheap to run

A sexy looking car

Very comfortable

And most importantly for me, is that it's cheap on tax and insurance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th May, 2002

1997 Citroen Saxo SX 1.1 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.1 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired40700 miles
Most recent distance45550 miles

Summary:

Very nippy

Faults:

The car failed to start one morning. The reason is still unknown.

Recently the car has developed a problem where in second gear the car seems sluggish upto 3000 revs. Then the revs begin to rise quickly. This will be investigated at the next service which is now due.

General Comments:

Very nice as this is my first car. It seems very quick for a 1.1. Has some lovely touches and in my opinion looks a lot better than a low spec model 106.

Would have liked to have seem some other standard features added though. It has electric windows, but no power steering.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd May, 2002

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 52 reviews