1997 Citroen Saxo Reviews - Page 10 of 12

1997 Citroen Saxo VTR 1.6i petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6i petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired21000 miles
Most recent distance43000 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

A fun driveable car for all ages

Faults:

Had a set of new tires on the front.

Had an oil seal replaced.

Passenger door hinge cracked - needed re-welding.

Front nearside fog-light needed connection replacing.

Boot light connection stopped working.

General Comments:

Really impressed with the performance of the 8v engine. Havn't had a chance to experience a VTS, although I intend to.

Can keep up with most cars on acceleration, and can live with most cars when flat out.

The chuckability of the car is a dream, just point the wheels where you want and it responds. Handling is superb, even in wet conditions.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th December, 2000

1997 Citroen Saxo VTR 1.6 8valver from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 8valver Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired24000 miles
Most recent distance25000 miles

Summary:

Road legal go-kart!

Faults:

Parked itself into the back of a Rover 400.

Otherwise, nothing mechanical (yet).

General Comments:

Fantastic grip and handling, can get a little tail happy if pushed hard. Perfect suspension settings for British A and B roads.

Having had the car for a few months I'm starting to want more power (it could handle it) but it will still see off more powerful cars down twisty roads (XR2's, GTE's etc).

Fantastic looker. If you are thinking of buying one, go for it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th December, 2000

1997 Citroen Saxo VTR 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance29000 miles

Summary:

Great fun, beware of the build quality

Faults:

The head gasket blew at 29,000 miles.

The brakes still screech after being bled twice and it still pulls to the right under heavy braking.

None of the above is covered by the warranty!

General Comments:

Great fun to drive, if only it wasn't for Citroen dealers.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th October, 2000

1997 Citroen Saxo VTR 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired35000 miles
Most recent distance36000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Golf GTi

Summary:

Hot hatch with suspect build quality

Faults:

Rattle from the dash at motorway speeds (whole thing vibrates).

Brakes pull to the left under heavy braking.

Revs not dropping quickly enough when changing up.

General Comments:

After only having the car for a few weeks, I can't comment on long term reliability. Good crack to drive, as long as you keep the revs up above 3000.

Handling better than any car I have driven. Tried it on cheapo tyres that came with it and then on Pirelli P Zeroes. No contest.

Had a Golf GTi before, not as much grunt but not far off. Would destroy the Golf along back lanes tho'!.... tried it already and lost one!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th August, 2000

1997 Citroen Saxo First 1.0 from Portugal

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance34000 kilometres

Summary:

Fantastic

Faults:

Nothing

General Comments:

Oil and gasoline (petrol) unleaded, and it is so fast for a small motor, sometimes I get surprised at the amount of energy that it can put into driving (kick ass).

I'm planning to buy the Saxo 1.4i VTR, now I can only imagine what it will be with a 1.4i, 75 horse power.

Attention: no one is paying me to say this, but I think I've got a fantastic car, especially in the interior, a good finish with quality, not those plastics that look like they came from my water bottles or Coca Cola cans. There are ways to recycle plastic without the final product looking cheap.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th July, 2000

1997 Citroen Saxo VTS 1.6i 16v petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6i 16v petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired23000 miles
Most recent distance28000 miles
Previous carRenault Clio

Summary:

Excellent performance/handling for the price

Faults:

Only faults so far were the plastic on the inner front wheel archs came loose, and the high intensity brake light failed - the wire snapped inside the boot frame. Both were easily fixed though.

General Comments:

Excellent performance for price. Can average 40mpg if driven carefully (not as fun though!). Recommend fitting a Pipercross induction filter for better throttle response and an unbelievable induction roar!! Top end power is quite amazing particularly between 4000 - 6500 rpm when the cams seem to kick in and the car surges forward. Accelerates all the way up to 125mph without hesitating, usually before you realise! Have noticed the brakes could be better, maybe a big disc conversion is needed?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st July, 2000

1997 Citroen Saxo VTS 1.6 16v petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired16 miles
Most recent distance31000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 205 GTi

Summary:

Fast but poor build

Faults:

1st week the fog light glass was replaced.

1st year there was leaking in on the passenger door.

At 30,000 miles a cylinder head gasket failure cost £460 and there was no goodwill gesture from Citroen or the dealer that has serviced it.

From a new disgusted owner, I will not be buying another.

General Comments:

Build quality is poor.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd June, 2000

6th Aug 2001, 04:11

I had my cylinder head gasket go as well, around 30,000 miles. I've also got a bad leak in my radiator and had to replace the front discs.

Fast indeed but the build quality is poor.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 52 reviews