2000 Citroen Saxo Reviews - Page 14 of 19

2000 Citroen Saxo VTR 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance11000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 214 SEi

Summary:

No comfort, no power

Faults:

Paint came off the front bumper at only 3 weeks old.

The coil burnt out.

Needed new bushes at only 2500 miles.

General Comments:

I think Saxo VTR's are totally rubbish, there's no comfort and the handling is crap. I certainly wouldn't buy another one even if they were only £4000 new.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st March, 2001

19th Apr 2001, 04:46

I totally agree with the comments above, I have a VTR and it has given me no problems, no loss of paint but loads of power... for a Insurance G7.

11th May 2001, 11:49

Too right! We've just bought a VTR and it's great. Stacks of power for its group and no paint problems at all!

Unlucky!

20th May 2001, 11:09

I have had problems with the paint on the front bumper which seems to be a common problem on the VTR/VTS.

17th Aug 2001, 08:14

Do you really think that the comments made were genuine? My opinion is that it's just some prat who thinks it's funny to add a comment cos they've just learnt to write.

1st Sep 2001, 10:26

Well I have had my Saxo since March 00 & it came with 1 years warranty. It went in more times than I can think of with so many problems... I wouldn't go as far as saying... never buy one again, but it really upsets you that once the car is sold they just don't give a damn!!

26th Oct 2002, 06:05

Fair enough if a few people have had troubles with new vtr's, all makes of car have a few new ones with small problems to start with. but in general VTR's are amazing, the handling is not rubbish, its quality, the girls love them. yes. thank you.

25th Feb 2005, 08:45

Put it this way...It's better than a punto!

2000 Citroen Saxo VTS 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired1800 miles
Most recent distance0 miles
Previous carVauxhall Calibra

Summary:

A good little sports car, but shame about the built quality and dealer service

Faults:

Wind screen scratched from the wiper blade wind deflector, dealer replaced the windscreen and wiper blade.

Oil leaking from the head gasket at 3000 miles, which took the dealers 2 - 3 times to fix, but it is now starting to leak again at 8000 miles.

Petrol gauge sticking when it wants to, dealer to replace the whole unit.

Engine stalling at traffic lights after my first service, which only included an oil change. I gave the car a good run on the motorway, but I don't know whether it's solved it. The only thing I've noticed was that dealer replaced the oil to the maximum limit. Maybe this is the cause?

General Comments:

Handles really well, but you need to watch yourself.

Good miles per gallon.

Insurance could be cheaper.

Dealers should go on a training course for improving on customer service.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th March, 2001

2000 Citroen Saxo VTS 1.6 petrol from Turkey

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired5 kilometres
Most recent distance15500 kilometres
Previous carRenault Megane Coupe 2.0

Summary:

Little devil

Faults:

The oxygen sensor went off at 6000.

The fuel indicator gets stuck, I had hard times with that, then when you re-connect the battery it comes back (that's what the dealer does also).

There are those disturbing sounds coming from all around, the quality of the parts are typically French.

General Comments:

The handling is perfect and even greater with my Bilsteins and Eibachs, I placed a strut brace which had no need also.

The stock 195/45/15 Michelin's are incredible..

It is slow on straights and most of my friends here have E36 M3's which upsets me in most ways, but with the moulded slicks on the race tracks I'm faster of course with their P-zeros.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th March, 2001

1st Apr 2001, 14:30

The VTS is a kick ass car and it moves too! For the price that you get it at it's a bargain. My mate's have RS turbos, and it screams past them and leaves them at the lights. The reliability is good no problems as of yet, apart from it eats the old petrol. Overall a very good car.

2000 Citroen Saxo VTR 1.6 8v petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 8v petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance3900 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta 1.25 Zetec

Summary:

Good car... crap build

Faults:

A leak in the boot due to the rear window not being sealed properly at the factory. That was fixed but then the dealer didn't dry the back seat fully. That was changed... OK now.

Annoying vibration from the transmission when accelerating in all gears except first. When I lift off it stops. Dealer says it's a characteristic of the sports suspension... right... I have a Friday afternoon car!!!

General Comments:

Pretty quick, but I'm used to the power already.

The extra 10% power in the model I have doesn't really make a difference.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th February, 2001

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 77 reviews