2000 Citroen Saxo Reviews - Page 15 of 19

2000 Citroen Saxo VTS 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance13000 miles
Previous carToyota MR2

Summary:

A good introduction into the world of performance cars

Faults:

Faulty sensor in the air bag unit - repaired 3 times!

Very annoying squeak from the cabin, can't be traced by the dealer (who doesn't really want to know).

General Comments:

Handles very well when driven hard.

Quick 0-60, but runs out of power at 100+, needs more top end.

Tickover seems very rough.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd February, 2001

2000 Citroen Saxo VTS 1.6 16v petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance2000 miles
Previous carCitroen Saxo VTS

Summary:

Superb hot hatch that does have build problems...

Faults:

First Saxo VTS in April 1998 started pouring smoke from the exhaust and losing power - fuel injection probe changed by the dealer and problem was sorted.

Also false alarming due to faulty internal sensors - fixed after 3 visits and 2 dealers. New Saxo VTS (Nov 2000) has the same problem and is due to be fixed.

New VTS resonates through the pedals and front footwells when a gear change is necessary - can anyone help - Citroen are at a loss and review_9414 has the same problem, but sounds more severe.

cw@freedomcity.com

General Comments:

I would buy another VTS any day of the week because it is compact, well designed and incredibly fast.

The dealers are disappointing though and do not seem able to (or want to) fix electrical or mechanical problems that they do not recognise or think are important.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st January, 2001

1st Feb 2001, 15:14

From my own experience with a few Citroens and a few Citroen dealers in various countries, I think Citroen have a serious workshop quality problem.

In my case, problems are only fixed properly when I diagnose them myself. In other words, I have to tell them what to do, and then they will fix it to my full satisfaction. It is an attitude problem, not a lack of ability.

8th Feb 2001, 10:07

The low rumbling vibration noise that came from my VTS, has been diagnosed from the exhaust downpipe, apparently Citoen had changed the design to this on X reg models onward, I am now waiting for an alternative replacement pipe to be fitted, which the dealer had to order.

19th Apr 2001, 16:39

I also had terrible resonance through the foot pedals at high speed, this was diagnosed as the front tires being incorrectly balanced at the factory from new.

I got both front tires re-balanced, now it's perfect, no vibrations.

18th Aug 2001, 15:57

If you're having problems with dealers it may be worth checking out an independent Citroen specialist. They rely on people being satisfied with their work otherwise customers don't go back and they go bust. Dealers are only interested in selling cars as that is where the profits are for them.

20th Sep 2001, 16:52

I'm having the same problem with my alarm. It seems to go off whenever it likes. Did you eventually resolve this??? and was this covered under warranty???

2000 Citroen Saxo VTR 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance5900 miles
Previous carLand Rover Freelander

Summary:

Pocket rocket

Faults:

No real faults apart from a strange creaking from the nearside which is the front inner splash guard missing a fastner - due to going through puddles at speed during the recent floods!

General Comments:

Has now been tuned by LAD in Morecambe and is quicker than a VTS.

Better torque and really comes on song after 4000 rpm (85 mph).

Unseen mods - still Group 7 insurance!

Do it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th January, 2001

2000 Citroen Saxo VTR 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance1154 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 214

Summary:

Hot hatch all rounder

General Comments:

Just gotten the car and got used to it. Reading reviews I was concerned about the cramped pedals. Being 6'4" and size 12 shoes, I haven't yet had a problem, although I do need to wear trainers for driving. But this is the only complaint of the car. The car is incredible for its price, I only paid 9300 including the extras for metallic paint and other stuff. So if you want a fastish car, with cheap as anything insurance, you can't go wrong with this.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd January, 2001

2000 Citroen Saxo VTR 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance1500 miles
Previous carCitroen Saxo

Summary:

Wonder machine!

Faults:

The handbrake soon went way out of adjustment, but it was easily fixed by the dealer.

General Comments:

Cheap (I payed £8995 for mine), great fun and very fast but...... knowing you can buy a faster one in the VTS does spoil it a little for me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th January, 2001

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 77 reviews