2000 Citroen Saxo Reviews - Page 19 of 19

2000 Citroen Saxo VTR 1.6 8v petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 8v petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired9 miles
Most recent distance13000 miles
Previous carFord Orion

Summary:

Brilliant fun, excellent handling and good performance per pound

Faults:

Nothing really, the headlights became 'fogged-up' which was fixed when the car was in for a service.

Air bag light flashing - just requires a connection under the seat to be 'fiddled' with.

Arch liners came loose going through recent floods.

General Comments:

Brilliant fun, excellent handling (even better when lowered) and good performance per pound. Highly recommended. Better still if you join the Saxo Sports Club.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st November, 2000

23rd Dec 2000, 20:49

The arch liners on my 2000 VTR keep coming loose. The dealership tries to charge £1.61 each time to have a side clipped back on.

29th Dec 2000, 20:35

My local dealer always fix my arch liners for free when they come loose, which has been 4 times.

2000 Citroen Saxo VTS 1.6 16v petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance5000 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

High performance, low cost, infuriating dealers

Faults:

On the day of delivery, the power steering failed. This was solved by the dealer in a day, but it didn't bode well!

The constant bug-bear or thorn in my side, is the tendency for the car to stall at traffic lights or for the tick over to stick at 2000 rpm. So far 2 Citroen dealers have had a look (totalling 9 visits to the garage, one of which was 1 week long) and all they say is no fault found! Citroen UK's opinion was 'Well, if they can't find it then there isn't much we can do!', which is an ongoing arguement!

General Comments:

The performance of the car is outstanding, it canes my mate's VR6 Golf, also out-paces Golf GTi's, 205 GTi's etc. Acceleration is outstanding as well, although a friend has, mine is miles faster to 60 (well about 50 feet down the road whoever is driving mine!)

Top speed made me blink, as it has gone the clock a few times (that's 140mph) although that wouldn't be in the UK (*Grin*) that I would be doing that speed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th October, 2000

7th Mar 2001, 01:43

You're right, it makes 220 and a bit more (140 mph for you non metric), but the only thing is that I have a headers on mine, before that it still did, but like for 2 minutes it would stick on 210 and wait for a downwards part on the highway.

2000 Citroen Saxo VTR 1.6 multipoint injection from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 multipoint injection Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance2800 miles
Previous carCitroen AX GTi

Summary:

Hot Hatch for the Millennium

Faults:

Absolutely nothing! Touch wood!!!!

General Comments:

Fantastic handling car, performance to match, go speak to GMC Motorsport and get it supercharged! Nothing comes close!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th September, 2000

15th Jun 2001, 18:02

I love the saxo VTR and have just ordered my third today, both previous cars I have owned from new and run for 2 years, the only problem I have encountered is the air bag warning light coming on, which was actually linked to a seat belt tensioner fault cleaning the connection to this took two minutes and cured it.

I would recommend this cheap hot hatch to anyone.

2000 Citroen Saxo VTR 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance7000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra Sport

Summary:

Warm hatch bargain and only group 7 insurance

Faults:

Airbag light keeps coming on.

General Comments:

What a great car and they're dead cheap. Handles like a go-kart, loads of smiles all round.

I love it, want a VTS next, could do with deadlocking.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th August, 2000

28th Dec 2000, 12:02

Check the orange wire underneath the driver's seat - something to do with the seatbelt pretensioners and the airbag light will flash if it's loose or damaged.

A

2000 Citroen Saxo First 1.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance2813 miles
Previous carCitroen AX10

Summary:

A good cheap run around

Faults:

Nothing so far.

General Comments:

The Saxo First is a good little run around. It has only a 1 litre engine and makes good miles per gallon. Not much to go wrong with it. Basic but good value for money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd July, 2000

2000 Citroen Saxo Forte 1.1 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.1 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance3046 miles

Summary:

Cheap and cheerful

Faults:

Constant problem with the throttle pedal. Has been in and out of the shop eight times in the last 3 months. Pedal seems to pull away from the foot automatically, slowing the car down and jolting forward.

General Comments:

Nice car, but can't seem to fix the problem with the throttle pedal. Getting very frustrating.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th June, 2000

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 77 reviews