2000 Citroen Saxo Reviews - Page 13 of 19

2000 Citroen Saxo VTR 1.6 8v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 8v Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired2 miles
Most recent distance4500 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Good value - no pocket rocket

Faults:

Power steering leaking when I got it from new, fixed by the dealer.

Air bag light flashing, fixed by dealer, it was the connection under driver's seat.

Steering wheel squeeks on cold days at the beginning of driving, but stops after about 10 turns, still not fixed.

General Comments:

Couldn't decide what to get - a second hand BMW or a new car.

Nice little car to drive but I'm a bit upset that they put the price down and upgraded the spec since I got it. Last year a year old car was only £500 less than a new one, but now it's all changed.

Seemed like a rocket compared to the 1.3 Escort I had at the time, but isn't that fast at all. Really should have got the VTS but couldn't afford the insurance. The car is not really any different to any other hatch round town, but is good on the open road.

Think I will get a Renault/Peugeot next, maybe a 172, 206 GTI or 307 (if it's any good). Get a 106 Xsi 1.4/1.6 (J-N reg) if you can't afford a VTR, just as fast and better value (except insurance).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th April, 2001

2000 Citroen Saxo Desire 1.1i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.1i Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance10000 miles

Summary:

Great fast car, watch out you VTR and VTS owners!

Faults:

No problems yet (fingers crossed).

General Comments:

For a 1.1 injection the car is quite rapid and certainly won't embarass you at the bullie!

I've added alloys to my car and a Max Power petrol cover which really makes the car look cool!

The car's interior is a bit plain, but seat belt covers make all the difference.

My brakes have been put to the test a few times and are perfect.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd April, 2001

25th Apr 2001, 14:52

Put a Superchip in your Saxo and watch the difference.

10th May 2001, 08:34

I drive a Saxo Desire and agree with you, it is nippy, but does die off after around 50-60. I've taken a few corners at speed (on a private road, honest officer!) and have to say, the little thing ain't given me any trouble. Sure it rolls a bit, but it is only 7 grand. Cheap to insure too...

If you wanna modify it, I suggest checking out www.saxosportsclub.com, you'll get some good advice there. I learnt 'A LOT' from it.

29th Jun 2001, 06:04

The car is quite good for corners and trying 0-60 times is good fun.

26th Jan 2005, 06:10

My sister purchased a CN52 reg Sept 02 Citroen Saxo 1.1i Desire Artic Steel 3 Dr with only 18,500 miles on the clock. It had the silver dash kit Citroen Sport Gear Knob, Pedals and Fuel Cap. All for £5,000 from the local Citroen Dealer. She bought in April 2004.

Her Friend also bought a Y reg July 01 Citroen Saxo 1.1i Desire Silver 3 Dr with 38,000 miles on the clock. The Dealer wanted £5,000 for the car and I said my sisters car has low mileage and is nearly a year newer than this car. So the salesman dropped it down to £4,495 and I mentioned the MOT is due so he had a free MOT carried out on it as well. My sisters Friend purchased the car in May 2004.

1st Feb 2005, 04:49

I brought a Citroen Saxo Desire 1.4 auto in October 2004. Lovely car with only 29k on the clock. It's a very nippy car, but I find it very heavy on petrol! Has anyone else come across this problem? if so, is there any resolve?

2000 Citroen Saxo VTS 1.6 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired12000 miles
Most recent distance13000 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta Si

Summary:

Excellent pocket rocket

Faults:

Paint on the front bumper (where the bumper meets the wheel arch) is peeling off.

Petrol gauge seems to have a mind of its own when low on fuel.

Annoying squeaks coming from the cabin area.

Black paint is wearing off the gear knob leaving white underneath.

General Comments:

Seems very quick on 0-60, but as impressive through the rest of the range.

Handles very well.

I have managed 350 miles on £30 when driving steady which is excellent.

Front seats are a little too high and don't feel that sporty.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th April, 2001

19th Apr 2001, 00:31

I can report exactly the same things with my 2000-V reg VTS. Doesn't that cabin squeak really really grate?! Also, my car is now 7 weeks out of warranty, and there is a fault with the alarm; it goes off all the time. The dealer has told me it needs a new sensor at a cost of £170 + VAT + labour!

20th Sep 2001, 16:57

I'm having the same problem with my alarm on a W-Reg VTS, luckily I've still got warranty cover, so they should fix it.

7th Jul 2002, 13:41

My alarm has now started to play up and it appears to be the ultrasonics, £30 per pair to replace from citroen.

You can turn them off by holding the button in next to the hazard light switch for a few seconds before setting the alarm (ignition off).

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 77 reviews