2001 Daewoo Lanos Reviews - Page 4 of 8

2001 Daewoo Lanos from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired300 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles
Previous carNissan Pickup

Summary:

A fun little cheap car!

Faults:

The windshield developed a large crack 6 months after purchase. The dealer said they found a tiny impact mark and refused to replace it.

The timing belt broke at 65000 miles. This is my fault because I did not have it changed. all of the valves are warped and the valves alone will cost $900 to get. Very expensive repair because of scarcity of parts.

General Comments:

I really enjoy this little car.

Roomy on the inside. Both my husband who is over 6 feet tall and my self who is under 5 feet tall fit comfortably in the car. This is a rarity!

It drives much like a little Opal we rented in Germany years ago. We bought it in large part because we liked the way it handled.

No real problems until recently and that was my fault.

Overall, a fun little cheap car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th May, 2005

13th Aug 2005, 05:16

I had the same problem and the car is still sitting in my garage. What did you do to repair your car?

12th Oct 2005, 10:52

I had that same problem at 54K miles, and again last Thursday night at 91K miles. The first repair cost me $1800 in parts and labor, and the second one is still up in the air, but these days you can get re-manufactured cylinder heads (complete unit w/valves and all) for about $450 to $500. Then it just takes removing the old one and replacing it. Not too difficult a job, but care needs to be taken. The mechanic said after the first time it happened to me that the lower half of the engine at 54k miles looked like it had virtually no wear! Be ware though, the timing belts are probably all from the same run, exhibiting the same premature wear and disintegration!

2nd Jan 2006, 03:35

My car has less than 50,000 miles and I have had problems with the engine compression and the cam shaft sensor. Although the car looks very appealing from the outside, it is a very costly and inconvenient car to own due to the scarcity of parts and the limited number of mechanics who can or will repair the car.

29th Aug 2006, 23:54

There is a recall on the camshaft sensor.

2001 Daewoo Lanos S 1.6 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired200 miles
Most recent distance12030 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

This fine little automobile is one of the best purchases I have ever made.

Faults:

The driver's seat belt failed to extend after about 10,000 miles. It was replaced under warranty by the dealer.

The driver's side headlamp unit shorted out at about 11,000 miles. It was replaced under warranty by the dealer.

General Comments:

The car is reliable. The only service problems (seat belt & headlamp) have been minor. I can count on it to get me where I am going.

The car is fairly economical. I get 33 miles per gallon when driving on the interstate at speeds between 65 and 75 mph. I get about 28 miles per gallon for in-town driving.

The car looks nice. The paint and finish look good. My car came loaded with most options and looks much more expensive than it actually was. I paid $5000 for it.

The car is fairly peppy. It is able to accelerate and keep up with traffic.

Dealer support has been good. Although it seems to take a while to get repair parts for the warranty replacements.

The car stands out due to its unique styling. The front grille and classy body design looks like a BMW rather than a low-price contender.

I have had the car since June 2004 and am still very happy with my purchase.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th April, 2005

14th Apr 2005, 06:53

Apparently this thing sat around unsold for several YEARS before you bought it.

That should have been a tip-off right there.

2001 Daewoo Lanos 4 cylinder from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Distance when acquired38 miles
Most recent distance7000 miles
Previous carDaewoo Lanos

Summary:

Good value for 5500

Faults:

Nothing been a very good car this is a follow up to the review I put on car survey a few months back, this has turned out to be a trouble free very reliable car. just came back from Tennessee with it and it ran teriffic.

General Comments:

Well, I must say I'm impressed with this car, paid $ 5500.00 for it and it was new 38 miles on it, now it just turned 7000 miles and not 1 problem, very happy with this car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th October, 2004

8th Dec 2007, 17:54

Just a follow up.

It is now Christmas time in 2007 and my lanos has 17,000 miles on it and still not one issue!! I put a in a new battery because the original one was 7 years old. I am happy to report no issues in 7 years and all works as it should even the a/c is ice cold in the summer... a GREAT car for the money.

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 28 reviews