2001 Daewoo Lanos S 1.6 from North America

Summary:

This is a great little car that will last a long time

Faults:

I have had several problems with the headlights going out. While it was under warranty the dealer replaced the headlight assembly. Since then I have purchased high temperature headlight connectors and the problem has gone away.

I have had the vent control cable to break twice.

I have had the driver's seat belt to jam. It was replaced under warranty.

General Comments:

This has been a reliable little car.

It has never failed to start.

It looks great and drives as well as it did when I bought it as a new car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th February, 2007

2001 Daewoo Lanos from North America

Faults:

I just found out the noise my car is making is the timing belt fixing to break. thank goodness I had warning. They said I must also replace the water pump. I do wish it had cup holders worth speaking of.

General Comments:

Overall I love the way the car looks and so far am not sorry I bought it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd October, 2006

2001 Daewoo Lanos S 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Reliable, and that's about it!

Faults:

Air directional knob stopped working so couldn't clear windscreen in winter.

Driver door window mechanism - wire snapped stopping window from moving.

General Comments:

Cabin quality is poor, really cheap feel plastics which have started to come apart in my car.

Various pieces of trim around the door have fallen off.

AWFUL acceleration.

The ride is rough on all roads but motorways where the frustration is purely down to lack of power.

Brakes aren't the best, and mine doesn't have ABS so can be a bit dicey in certain conditions.

Lots of body roll in corners where the car understeers badly.

The Lanos is however very reliable and mine has never broken down on me; no problems as of yet with the gearbox or the engine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th September, 2006

8th Oct 2006, 10:18

What was done to repair the air directional knob mentioned in the review?..I have the same problem.. Is is a costly repair??..Thanks...

2001 Daewoo Lanos S from North America

Summary:

30 miles to the gallon around town

Faults:

There has been nothing that has gone wrong with the car.

General Comments:

I bought the car for my girlfriend, and she has loved it. It is small, and easy to drive and park. The car gets 30 miles to the gallon. It is a wonderful car for someone that is just starting out. It has a lot of power for a small car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th December, 2005

19th Dec 2005, 19:51

Hope whoever had the car previously has already replaced the timing belt. These cars are bad for that once you get up around 60K miles, and timing belt breakage = new engine.

22nd Aug 2006, 12:51

I have a 2001 Daewoo Lanos Sport that I have gotten along really well with until last month. The timing belt went out, damaging all 8 exhaust pistons & the intake. The estimate is more than I'm willing to pay for a car that is no longer in production. Does anyone have any suggestions on how to profitably get rid of the car? The trade-in value appears to be $0 or N/A.

2001 Daewoo Lanos S 1.6 liter from North America

Summary:

The Daewoo Lanos is a fine little automobile

Faults:

The dealer had to snap the vent control cable back into place. This should have been caught before the car was placed on the lot.

The dealer has replaced under warranty the driver side headlight unit after the original one shorted out.

General Comments:

Although the car had spent several years on the new car lot, it was a real bargain at $5000.

I have put 20,000 miles on the car and have had no major problems or out of pocket expenses. My only expenses have been for gas and oil changes.

This little car looks like a more expensive European car. Since few of these cars are on the road I have a limited edition car without the limited edition price.

My gas mileage averages 28 miles per gallon in city/rural driving. I wish that it was a little higher.

With 20,000 miles on the car I can honestly say this little car is a joy to own. It was a good purchase.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th October, 2005

20th Oct 2005, 19:37

So, let me get this straight. You bought the car when it was three years old, and it only had 200 miles? I smell BS. I bet whoever sold you that Daewoo probably rolled back the odometer or had it replaced.

29th Nov 2005, 18:41

I hate to admit this (because I own a Lanos) but it is quite possible that he did find a three year old car that only had 200 miles on it. Daewoo had some problems at the outset marketing their cars resulting in a lot of unsold vehicles piling up. Then when they filed for bankruptcy, lenders were unwilling to provide financing on new Daewoos, adding to the problem.

You can still find "new" (0 miles) 2002 Daewoos, mostly Lanos, for sale on eBay from time to time. (I bought mine used from a private seller for little $)

14th Jan 2007, 00:00

I have looked at several used Lanos and it hasn't worked out on buying 1 yet.. i have driven several and seem good cars I done some research and it seems you either love or hate the car! as far as finding 1 on a lot "new" it was possible about a year ago I found a new Nubira on a lot with like 10miles.. they still wanted too much for it. and I want a Lanos coupe! they look more expensive than they are and I remember them being sold on Ebay too. its 1 of those things where I regret not buying 1 to begin with! also they are being sold as the Suzuki reno in the USA.

25th Jan 2007, 17:32

I just purchased a used 2000 Lanos SX with 23,500 miles on the odometer for 1900. The car is in excellant shape with after market AR wheels, newer tires. I was wondering if $1900 was a good price for that car??? Seems to be in excellant shape!!!