2001 Daewoo Lanos Reviews - Page 6 of 8

2001 Daewoo Lanos from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired39000 miles
Most recent distance41000 miles
Previous carDaewoo Lanos

Summary:

Very reliable and actually fun to drive

Faults:

My suspension was thrown out of alignment easily, my error.

Poor placement of cup-holder.

Interior and upholstery has a very cheap feeling.

No power windows or locks.

When I tried to have a copy of the key made, no hardware store had Daewoo blanks.

Steering column and frame shake upon reaching 65 mph (you can hear the doors and windows rattling).

Makes a very strange noise when I turn the steering wheel, like you can hear fluid.

Transmission has a noticeable jerky shift and the brakes squeal when it rains.

General Comments:

Very cheap.

Great gas mileage, approximately 200 miles per tank (this car has a small tank).

Great smooth, fast start with a nice "throaty" engine sound if you like that sort of thing.

Takes turns like a dream, unbelievable handling. I can take a sharp right turn doing 40 mph under try conditions very easily.

Roomy cabin and trunk.

Can handle almost anything you can dish out. I ran my Lanos into a muddy ditch after trying to take a sharp right turn doing 60 mph, and I hauled out of there pretty easily considering I do not have 4-wheel drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 18th May, 2003

29th Jan 2004, 18:54

I, too, am experiencing problems with the transmission-feels like something is getting hung up upon acceleration, but it doesn't do it all the time. Dealer says they can't help me. Sure wish someone could.

29th Oct 2004, 08:40

Maybe your car would hold up better if you tried not taking turns at 40-60 mph.

Driving it into the ditch doesn't help.

You didn't notice the lack of power windows or locks before you bought it, or that the interior and upholstery had a "cheap feeling"? Those are not things that have "gone wrong" with the car.

All in all, sounds like the little car has held up well against all the abuse you have given it!

2001 Daewoo Lanos 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance24000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Malibu

Summary:

A great deal

Faults:

The defrostor and heat selector cable broke.

I had problems with the idle motor that caused a high idle.

General Comments:

The car handled very well.

The car was an exceptional value for it's options.

The car stayed together very well upon impact. I walked away with minor cuts and bruises.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th March, 2003

2001 Daewoo Lanos Sport 1.6L SOHC from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6L SOHC Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired78 miles
Most recent distance10150 miles
Previous carJeep Cherokee

Summary:

Fast and cheap

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the car.

I`m really surprised.

General Comments:

This car is pretty quick.

I would like to get some aftermarket stuff, but I can`t find any.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th January, 2003

2001 Daewoo Lanos from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired19000 miles
Most recent distance140000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Summary:

A soupy bargain

Faults:

The window defrost takes about ten minutes to start working.

Both front seats tend to slowly slide back while driving, but nobody seems to notice until they are getting back into the car and the seat is almost laying down.

And for some reason it always smells like soup!

General Comments:

This is a good car for someone going to school, or with a low budget. I am very pleased with it's performance in the snow, it handles very well.

The car is also very roomy despite how small it looks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd January, 2003

2001 Daewoo Lanos S from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.4 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance20100 miles
Previous carChevrolet Beretta

Summary:

A nightmare on wheels!

Faults:

Electrical problem at 19,700 miles.

Catalytic converter broken at 19,800.

General Comments:

There is only one point I need to make. Daewoo does not make parts for the cars it manufactures. If your car breaks down, you are out of luck. The company that makes the parts is out of business. I can no longer use my Daewoo and it is only 1 1/2 years old. The Dealer won't help and Daewoo won't help. Do not buy a Daewoo, you will get stuck sooner or later.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd July, 2002

7th Jul 2003, 11:26

I am currently trying to sell my Daewoo Lanos 2001. Everywhere I go the answer I get from dealers is 'Sorry, I cannot take your Daewoo on a trade because of problems with guarantee since the company was sold to GM, or because most banks refuse to finance anyone who would think of purchasing a Daewoo'. That is extremely frustrating.

I am now stuck with a 2001 vehicle that is worth about the price of a 1995 Lada! Whatever I do, I will loose between 3000 and 5000 dollars. And if I keep it, I am screwed if the car breaks down.

11th Feb 2004, 22:36

Actually, GM is supposed to provide parts/service for Daewoo's now. Any GM dealer can fix your Lanos.

13th Jun 2004, 07:38

I just purchased a 2001 Daewoo Lanos sport and the Nissan Dealership gave me a 60,000 mile warranty. It will be covered until 91,000 miles. I don't think would warranty it if they could not back it up.

7th Nov 2004, 22:55

I had a plastic part break that connected my hose to the thermostat. I took it into the shop and they said they would look around for the part. They called different manufactuers and could not find the part. I called GM and they said they could not help me. I finally found the part online, and paid a hefty amount for the part, as well as, the overnight delivery fee to get it back on the road.

15th Apr 2005, 19:44

I have had my daewoo lanos for 6 months. It was the only car the dealership would give me at my age. I thought it was going to be great. Boy, was I wrong! It started cutting off, leaving me stranded everywhere! So I paid $150 to get a new gas pump... That didn't work! And now I'm stuck again and the car still doesn't start. I can't afford this. Please don't buy a daewoo, you are going to get stuck, stuck, stuck!!!

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 28 reviews