2001 Daewoo Lanos Reviews - Page 2 of 8

2001 Daewoo Lanos from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance40000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Surprised me.. and worth each cent I paid

Faults:

Everything is running fine, as of date.

General Comments:

Car is so good to me, I am starting to worry what might go wrong in future.

I am thinking of look for changing timing belt when it crosses 50k.. though it looks based on my past driving, that it might take 2 more years.

It is a really surprise for $2500 I paid. I am not worried about look and glamour as long as I get 25 mpg.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th June, 2009

2001 Daewoo Lanos Sport Hatchback (3DR) 1.6L from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.6L Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired73200 miles
Most recent distance74600 miles
Previous carGeo Prizm

Summary:

A cheap to own, sporty, reliable car

Faults:

When I purchased the car, I purchased it knowing it had problems. At 73200, the following needed attention:

Valve Cover Gasket leak

Check engine light on for Oxygen Sensor & Camshaft Position Sensor

Didn't have the original oil cap for the valve cover and was spilling oil

Needed an alignment

Needed a tune up.

It had a new clutch recently done before I bought it and tires (Bridgestone Potenza G009) were pretty new and great. I use them on my BMW 5 series.

General Comments:

After giving it a thorough tune up (air filter, oil filter, pcv valve, fuel filter, oil flush & change, coolant flush, throttle body cleaning, intake manifold cleaning and running through a bottle of fuel system cleaner, the car was running a lot better. After I replaced the oxygen sensor the engine code for that went away. The camshaft position sensor turned out to be a recall and a local GM dealership did the work in 1 day with 1 week notice and that code went away as well. The valve cover gasket looked like someone tried to replace it before but replaced it with the wrong one. Put on the right one and it is great so far. The car is now running superbly and I am getting about 38mpg.

The car is really a shock for an economy car. It has leather seats, power mirrors, power windows, power steering, AC, AM/FM/CD/Tape 140Watt stereo, two-tone (red/black) leather seats which are VERY comfortable. The car is built very well I thought for a car in this class.

If you find one in good condition - buy it! Parts are cheap and it's very easy to work on. If you do have to change the timing belt however - you're better off taking it to a shop unless you have an engine hoist/lift.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th April, 2008

2nd May 2009, 17:23

I have a very hard time believing 38 mpg as stated above. 28 mpg on the best day with a tail wind maybe in my case.

3rd Oct 2011, 17:00

I don't find 38 hard to believe. Having owned a Daewoo in the past, I know that dependent on your driving conditions and habits, these things can get up to 40 mpg.

2001 Daewoo Lanos S 1.6 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired200 miles
Most recent distance38500 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

This is a great little car that will last a long time

Faults:

I have had several problems with the headlights going out. While it was under warranty the dealer replaced the headlight assembly. Since then I have purchased high temperature headlight connectors and the problem has gone away.

I have had the vent control cable to break twice.

I have had the driver's seat belt to jam. It was replaced under warranty.

General Comments:

This has been a reliable little car.

It has never failed to start.

It looks great and drives as well as it did when I bought it as a new car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th February, 2007

2001 Daewoo Lanos from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Distance when acquired55000 miles
Most recent distance76000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Faults:

I just found out the noise my car is making is the timing belt fixing to break. thank goodness I had warning. They said I must also replace the water pump. I do wish it had cup holders worth speaking of.

General Comments:

Overall I love the way the car looks and so far am not sorry I bought it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd October, 2006

2001 Daewoo Lanos S 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired16400 miles
Most recent distance26250 miles

Summary:

Reliable, and that's about it!

Faults:

Air directional knob stopped working so couldn't clear windscreen in winter.

Driver door window mechanism - wire snapped stopping window from moving.

General Comments:

Cabin quality is poor, really cheap feel plastics which have started to come apart in my car.

Various pieces of trim around the door have fallen off.

AWFUL acceleration.

The ride is rough on all roads but motorways where the frustration is purely down to lack of power.

Brakes aren't the best, and mine doesn't have ABS so can be a bit dicey in certain conditions.

Lots of body roll in corners where the car understeers badly.

The Lanos is however very reliable and mine has never broken down on me; no problems as of yet with the gearbox or the engine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th September, 2006

8th Oct 2006, 10:18

What was done to repair the air directional knob mentioned in the review?..I have the same problem.. Is is a costly repair??..Thanks...

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 28 reviews