2000 Daewoo Nubira Reviews - Page 7 of 10

2000 Daewoo Nubira CDX 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance19000 miles
Previous carGMC Safari

Summary:

Great ride and great price

Faults:

The ignition key is warm to the touch after driving the car. It is more noticeable during the summer months.

General Comments:

I love it!

The performance of the car is great.

The sound system is wonderful, it even comes with a CD player standard.

For the price of the car you get many many standards that are options on other makes of cars.

My husband is a mechanic and thinks we made a great investment in the purchase of this car.

Ernie Patti, in St. Louis city, takes care of the maintenance on my car. They are very helpful, courteous and don't talk down to you just because you are a female. I get a ride to work when I drop my car off, even when I'm just getting the oil changed.

After over two years, I still get compliments on the look of the car.

The sticker price of the car is low, but the look of the car is expensive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th October, 2002

2000 Daewoo Nubira Wagon ??? from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission ??? Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired13 miles
Most recent distance27000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Great car for the price!

Faults:

In-dash cup holder broke.

General Comments:

Great little car for the money. No complaints except that the manufacturer is discontinuing the warranty work (free oil changes etc...) since way before they went into "bankruptcy". Thankfully the dealership has picked up the ball on the 100,000 mile warranty.

As a 6'5" guy with a 5'3" wife and three growing kids (8,10,13), I think that it is a pretty well designed little car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th September, 2002

2000 Daewoo Nubira SE from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.4 / 10
Distance when acquired36 miles
Most recent distance26000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Galant

Summary:

A giant HUGE COLOSSAL rip-off

Faults:

What hasn't gone wrong with this car? I have had the catalytic converters (this car has two) replaced a total of three times...EACH.

The steering wheel horn just died... at the SHOP.

Car sometimes would speed up or slow down or not accelerate at all... the dealership worked on it for a month before they fixed it... and all they did was replace parts.

General Comments:

Do not buy this car.

I repeat again, do not buy this car.

Ever.

It handles well, until just after you leave the lot... whereupon the car becomes possessed and morphs back into it's true form... which is an overpriced go-cart with AC.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th July, 2002

10th Apr 2004, 06:50

Why would you have such a costly repair done so many times? Ever think that maybe the place you took it to for repairs was ripping you off?

2000 Daewoo Nubira SE 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired9800 miles
Most recent distance21000 miles

Summary:

A great price for a great car

Faults:

I have not had any problems yet.

My only gripe is that it is impossible to find post market modifications for this vehicle. For instance, I have been searching for euro style tail lights, but have yet to find them.

General Comments:

This vehicle runs beautifully.

I am very happy with the fuel consumption. I get nearly 400 miles to my 12 gallon tank.

She handles very well, even at speeds topping 115 miles per hour.

The interior is very comfortable and adjustable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th December, 2001

2000 Daewoo Nubira CDX 2.0L 16v DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0L 16v DOHC Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired50 miles
Most recent distance9700 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

A great way to spend my hard earned cash

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong at all!

General Comments:

I enjoy driving my Daewoo. I have already taken two long road trips.

The vehicle is comfortable and easy to operate.

Maneuvering in all weather types is a joy and no worry.

I own a Toyota Corolla and it has been a great car, and I feel that the Deawoo will bring me the same quality.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th October, 2001

2000 Daewoo Nubira SE 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance24000 miles

Summary:

Korean lemon

Faults:

Not a whole lot. YET!

The air conditioning switch doesn't work.

Had to replace brakes at 23000, even though most of the miles were driven on the highway.

I have to pay attention to my transmission, to adjust the pressure too much on the gas pedal for it to shift.

Tires blew at 20000 miles. Must be because its Hankok!

General Comments:

I will never buy a Korean car again. It has a good warranty just because they want to buy a customer. I have to play a lot with the gas pedal for the tranny to work properly, this way I don't enjoy the ride. It was supposed to be an economical car, but I make maybe 15 mpg in the city which is pretty bad.

Even though nothing big went down, I have a feeling like I'll be spending a lot of time at the dealership in the near future.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd September, 2001

4th Sep 2001, 13:11

Don't dismiss Korean cars as a whole yet. Between Daewoo and Hyundai, the latter appears to be more dependable. Just like buying Korean appliances -- Samsungs I've observed to be consistently reliable, LG's (Goldstar) don't make the grade.

13th Oct 2001, 23:16

LG (and GoldStar) is highly reliable. We have a GoldStar Over-the-Range microwave oven, and LG 17" monitor. Both have worked flawlessly. I have also seen 2 GoldStar monitors from the late 80's being used almost daily.

28th Oct 2002, 00:01

I'd say if your buying a Korean car, go for a Hyundai. They're extremely well-built cars for the money. The alternative makes (Daewoo, Kia) cut corners and produce inexpensive cars with bad quality. (I'd choose Honda over any of these, but hey we can't all afford one)

20th Nov 2003, 12:57

As for not being able to afford a Honda, that's true if you want a new one. But you can buy a late 80s or early 90s Honda, very cheap, and it will still be more reliable than a Daewoo. I would put my money on its reliability over a new Hyundai, too. But to be fair, all indications are that Hyundais are much better than they used to be.

25th Nov 2003, 11:26

Any Honda from the 80's or early 90's that is "very cheap" is also going to be very high (150K+) miles. Even Hondas start to need work at that point and I doubt that one would be more reliable than a newer lower mileage Korean car. Btw, Kia is owned by Hyundai so would expect quality (or lack of) to be comparable.

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 48 reviews