2000 Daewoo Nubira Reviews

2000 Daewoo Nubira 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2012
Most recent year of ownership2013
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired56000 miles
Most recent distance61000 miles
Previous carFord Focus

Summary:

Cheap to buy, but expensive to keep

Faults:

Head gasket blew at 58,000 miles, and head bolts had to be replaced as well due to rust. Total cost, over £800.00.

Heater matrix stopped working at 60,000 miles.

Front shockers had to be replaced about the same time.

General Comments:

The general build quality is quite good, although things like internal fittings leave a lot to be desired. The seats are rather thin and not very comfortable.

Fuel consumption is not very good at all, which was one of the reasons I decided not to keep it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th April, 2013

2000 Daewoo Nubira CDX 2.0 from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired115341 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Summary:

Not a bad car for the price

Faults:

Valve gasket has been replaced, and needs to be replaced again.

AC condenser had to be replaced.

Radio/CD player didn't work for a period after the battery went flat, then started working again.

About half the time, it takes a few tries to start, but for the other half of the time, it starts first try.

General Comments:

For a 4-cylinder, the car has enough power to get out into traffic and to maintain highway speeds.

It has been reliable so far. Haven't needed any major work done.

Seats are comfortable.

Mileage is not as good as expected for a 4-cylinder car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th July, 2010

2000 Daewoo Nubira CDX Wagon 2L from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2L Manual
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance190000 kilometres

Summary:

Good

Faults:

Fuel pump finally gave up after 8.5 years...

Fried bearing in gearbox.

General Comments:

Nicest cheapest car I have ever had to drive... so many people have had problems, but mine has just kept going, and I see a lot on the road still going hard, so I'm thinking the many people aren't such a large number...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd November, 2009

23rd Nov 2009, 12:08

Gosh, 190000, wow that's amazing. First I thought the fuel pump going within 9 years was something not acceptable, but since your car has run almost 200,000 then I must say what a machine. Simply awesome.

Well of course my Daewoo Matiz is ten years old & still each & every part is original except the tensioner & water pump. Daewoo was the best used to give features of costlier cars at less price. I truly wish they would strike back again with their products at with Daewoo only, no GM.

Keep commenting about your car's experience till now.

2000 Daewoo Nubira CDX from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired10000 miles
Most recent distance46000 miles
Previous carCadillac Seville

Summary:

I like this car!

Faults:

The worst thing that happened to this car was the motorcycle that hit it.

Uphill makes you want to put your feet out and peddle like Fred Flintstone!

A tumbleweed dented the hood in Oklahoma.

Power to rear passenger window quit working, but I don't carry passengers.

Two tires had to be replaced at about 35,000 miles.

Not the best mileage, but still got almost 300 miles per tank.

General Comments:

My Daewoo has been totalled and I'm looking for a replacement. I've looked at everything and find the best "bang for the buck" is a replacement Nubira.

Yes, it's had it's problems... Enjoyed the CD/cassette combo, great for books on tape. All in all, it's been a good car. Best part was it was paid for and had five wheels, four on the ground and one for me to hang on to.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th May, 2007

2000 Daewoo Nubira CDX from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.7 / 10
Distance when acquired67000 miles
Most recent distance68000 miles
Previous carDaewoo Nubira

Summary:

I wish I would have waited

Faults:

So far I noticed that the check engine light will come off & on.

Loud engine.

Struts went bad.

Had a friend look under the hood.

Valve cover gasket_bad!

Just everything!

The good part is it's a cute car & it's comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th April, 2007

21st Apr 2007, 12:20

Listen to me trade this thing in as soon as you can afford it unless you have a lot of money for repairs. I'm not saying these cars are no good, but the parts are very hard to find and very expensive.

19th Aug 2011, 20:32

The user did not state a remedy to the on and off engine check indicator. Any effect of this on the engine?

2000 Daewoo Nubira from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
Engine and transmission Don't Know

Summary:

I like it

Faults:

Blown head gasket at 89,000 miles.

The door handles are peeling (but I bought it like that)

My power windows stopped working (some will go up and not down and vice versa)

My antennae doesn't pick up stations clearly (i think that has to do with the previous owner though)

General Comments:

Lets see.. I've had this car for almost a year now and other than the head gasket it works pretty well for me. This is my first car and I don't have many complaints about it. The car is a bit loud when I accelerate and my breaks squeak, but I've had it checked out and everything is OK.

I get my car checked out every 6 months and everything is working fine.

I know I haven't had my car that long, but after reading what everyone else wrote I'm going to be more aware of my car and what it does. I guess try and catch it before it catches me.

I like the way it looks too it's a cute car. I feel it handles well too.

I bought this car from a used car dealership and it was owned by one person before, a lot of the things mentioned above happened before I owned it.

All and all it's a good car. It gets me from point A to point B and thats pretty much what a car should do so no complaints.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd January, 2007

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 48 reviews