1998 Dodge Durango Reviews - Page 7 of 20

1998 Dodge Durango SLT 5.9 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 5.9 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired85000 miles
Most recent distance87000 miles
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

She's a beauty, but she's also high maintenance!!

Faults:

The intake manifold gasket blew, causing an internal oil leak. This lead to massive oil consumption, engine pinging/ticking, and poor performance.

General Comments:

I just recently bought a 98 Durango. I was pleased with the performance of the vehicle when putting around town, but the first sign of trouble was on the interstate at high speeds. I noticed a loss of power while trying to accelerate from speeds of 70+. The engine would make a pinging/ticking sound as if in need of oil. I dismissed it at first, knowing that the vehicle just had an oil change.

The next sign of trouble was the check gauge light coming on periodically. When I made a turn, the light would ding. I looked at the gauges and saw my oil pressure at 0!! After making the turn, the light went off and the oil pressure resumed to 40. All I can say is thank goodness for the check gauge light! I checked the oil, and there wasn't a trace of oil on the dipstick! The intake manifold gasket was blown, causing oil to be sucked up into the motor. This is an internal oil leak meaning, there is no visible oil leaking onto your driveway!

If you have this problem and haven't fixed it, do it soon!! It could cause your engine to blow. The old gaskets were made of paper/cardboard and easily blew out. The new gaskets are made of plastic/rubber. I was burning a gallon of oil/month! If I didn't pay attention to my check gauge light, I'd be stuck with a $6000 problem right now! For more info on this repair, check out this web address: http://dodgeram.info/tsb/2000/09-05-00.htm

I've wanted a Durango since they first came out, but now I wish I had done my homework. These vehicles seem to be plagued with problems. I'm not sure if I'm going to keep mine or dump it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd March, 2005

1998 Dodge Durango 5.2L from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 5.2L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.3 / 10
Distance when acquired96000 miles
Most recent distance109000 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

Unreliable gas guzzler

Faults:

Immediately after purchase, rpm revved high and dealer could find no problem.

Transmission slips considerably above 65 mph.

All 8 plugs misfired, leaving my wife and I stranded on a road trip.

Differential case leaks.

4x4 is very inadequate in moderate snow (4-6" max capability)

Depreciation is horrible. Bought it for 8,000 and selling it today for 5,000 (2 months later)

General Comments:

Terrible gas mileage (13-15 mpg)

Awkward shaped rear gate entry for bulky items (less cargo room than it appears)

Comfortable interior, but the armrest is cheap.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th January, 2005

1998 Dodge Durango from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.2 / 10
Distance when acquired85 miles
Most recent distance50600 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

A big lemon

Faults:

The car seems to idles really high, but was told by the dealer that that is OK. My window motors have been replaced 17 times rotating between all four windows. The thermostat went out at about 6,000 miles. At 50,000 miles my tire rod is bad, I need new ball joints, and new bearings. I also have a grinding noise coming from the front that is not the brakes, but no one seems to know what IS making the noise.

General Comments:

This car has been in the shop many many times. Each problem is a two visit fix and the problems seem to repeat themselves.

The vehicle is marketed for a big family, but is not child friendly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th November, 2004

4th May 2005, 09:46

My Durango has had many of the same problems that you have posted. The unexplainable noise in the front, ball joints, tie rods. Now my speedo has gone out. I had the speed sensor changed, but didn't fix the problem. No one can tell me why it doesn't work. It is a very poorly built vehicle. I paid a good price for the vehicle, but the upkeep of the vehicle is killing me.

1998 Dodge Durango SLT 5.9 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.9 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired16000 miles
Most recent distance109000 miles
Previous carChevrolet S-10

Summary:

Great looking, but too many problems

Faults:

OK well...I've replaced my steering knuckle, ball joints 3 times, brake calipers, rear window motors twice, drivers seat motors went out, a/c has been worked on twice, battery connectors have broke twice, drivers door handle broke as I went to open it, fog lights are constantly going out, rear view mirror just fell off as I was driving, jack extension piece broke first time ever being used.

General Comments:

This SUV is a great looking car, it cleans up very well, but I have had way too many problems with it, after I fix one thing within a day or two something else bad happens.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st November, 2004

25th Feb 2005, 13:28

I agree with you totally. I bought mine in Feb of 2003 at 75000 miles. I now have 122,000 miles no it and in the two years that I have had it, I have replace the A/C, my windows and door locks have been fixed 20 times, I replaced the engine, the tie rod ends, the belt tensioner, the brakes, the ball joints (3 times), the timing chain, gears, gaskets and battery. I don't think there is anything left to fix. I am averaging $4000 per year in repairs and it is only Feb of 2005 and I have shelled out $2000 already. I wouldn't recommend this auto to my worst enemy or even my ex-husband!!!

4th Apr 2006, 17:37

I've had my Durango since 1998 when it first came out... not a single problem... normal things like brake pads obviously and I've only had to change a belt once, which was this past year... you were j/ unlucky... :/

4th Apr 2006, 20:08

If you are shelling out $4000 plus a year why not trade it in for a warranty? You are laying out $300 PLUS A MONTH just on repairs...that surely would buy you something a bit newer at least. There comes a time to let something go.

Average review marks: 5.6 / 10, based on 66 reviews