2000 Dodge Durango Reviews - Page 15 of 24

2000 Dodge Durango SLT V8 Magnum 360 5.9 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V8 Magnum 360 5.9 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance72000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

An awesome performing vehicle

Faults:

The only thing that I have had go wrong with it so far, is when I hit the alarm button on my remote, it makes a weird noise. Other than that, my car has been perfect.

General Comments:

My durango has awesome take off.

I love the third seat in the back. It is really nice to have an eight passenger vehicle without having to have a van.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th November, 2003

2000 Dodge Durango Sport 5.2 Supercharged from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.2 Supercharged Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired24 miles
Most recent distance73000 miles
Previous carMazda MX6

Summary:

Chrysler has been cutting quality from this car by putting in cheap unreliable parts

Faults:

At 30000 miles, the door locks started to make loud buzzing noises and not opening. It seemed as if they were each on a self destruction timer. Soon after, the transmission started to slip and had to get it rebuilt because the car was leased and had only the 30000 mile warranty. not long after the rotors in the front had to be changed because the started to warp!!! Next at around 50,000, the engine started to burn oil and needed to be rebuilt. The ball joints have cracked and need to be replaced and eventually the bushings will have to be replaced. Eventually I upgraded all engine parts to performance parts, added headers, reprogrammed computer, vortech supercharger, crane ignition box and coil, flowmaster cat-back exhaust system, 410 posi gears and now a fully beefed up street performance transmission. I will forward my design and upgrade info to Chrysler so that they may use it to redesign the Durango more efficiently in the future. This Durango is worth about 60.000 with all the added bells and whistles. I am hoping that it will last for another 6 years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd November, 2003

21st Mar 2004, 10:54

Good for you!I have the 2000 with the smaller engine (66k), with not one single problem (yet). I was debating an extended warranty after the 7/75k expires soon, but now have new hope. You build-up sounds great. Maybe the money I would use for the extended warranty can be used toward a build-up of my own. Question... what do you think I should get the dealer to replace before the warranty expires? Ball joints? Transmission? You seem to have experience with this. Your thoughts are appreciated.

17th Mar 2006, 11:22

I have a 2000 Durango too. If it was me I would replace the ball joints first. Transmission slipping isn't as bad as your front wheels falling off at 60mph. The setup for the upper ball joints is terrible, they are sealed so there's no greazert so that you can maintain them. The upper will come apart totally.

2000 Dodge Durango 4WD R/T from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired82000 miles
Most recent distance92000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Eclipse

Summary:

Powerful Truck

Faults:

I purchased this car from a dealer in Florida and I could tell the previous owner did not respect this great SUV. I suspect that the brake fluid, power steering fluid, front and rear differential fluid, tranny fluid, and radiator fluid were not changed or not changed regularly enough so I am in the process of changing all these fluids.

The brakes are probably factory or a cheap aftermarket brand so they squeak and are being replaced.

The shocks are the factory shocks and are work and need to be replaced.

The serpentine belt is original and is being replaced.

General Comments:

The engine is strong and can probably tow a house. :)

The seats are gorgeous and the interior is roomy. My dogs love it compared to my convertible.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th October, 2003

2000 Dodge Durango SLT 4x4 4.7 Litre from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.7 Litre Don't Know
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance45000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Good on and off Road

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the vehicle.

General Comments:

The vehicle handles well, but you must realize your driving a truck not a passenger car. Good amounts of room and good A/C system makes for a pleasure to drive. This is not one of those high priced cushy SUV. Its a work horse but sharp enough to take out to dinner.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th September, 2003

2000 Dodge Durango SLT 5.7 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.7 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired36000 miles
Most recent distance39760 miles
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Summary:

Best SUV on the market

Faults:

Fan's blower motor cage began making VERY loud noise.

General Comments:

This SUV has EXCELLENT acceleration Handles beautifully Would buy another one in a heartbeat when this one's done.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th August, 2003

14th Oct 2003, 07:36

Just wait a while. We would have said the same things about our Durango until the engine failed at 69,000 after frequent oil and filter changes. This SUV is a turkey and Chrysler knows it.

Good luck!

22nd Jul 2004, 10:47

I really enjoy my Durango. FYI - at 31K+ my oil sending unit (screen) became clogged with gunk. The engine threw a rod and my engine had to be re-built. There was a Vaseline type material on the oil cap/threads. I noticed this at time of purchase was told by the dealer it was to prevent rust. Of course the warranty had just passed when it blew. I had no recourse with the dealer. Just a heads up.

Beside that, I really enjoy my Durango and would buy another one.

MJ (FL.)

23rd Aug 2004, 19:10

(this is a follow-up by the original author of the review.) my Durango is still running beautifully at 52,000 miles. As for worries about the motor, I have none. My husband is a mechanic and re-builds engines all day long, and is obsessed with maintaining the vehicle correctly.

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 86 reviews