2000 Dodge Durango Reviews - Page 16 of 24

2000 Dodge Durango SLT Plus 5.2L SMPI V8 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.2L SMPI V8 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance40624 miles
Previous carAcura Legend

Summary:

Would never buy another Durango

Faults:

Oil pressure light came on at 25,000 miles. Replaced oil pump.

Oil pressure light came on again at 40,000 miles. Dealer claims I need new engine because of sludge due to "poor maintenance." New engine cost is $5K. Even though I have receipts proving timely oil changes, dealer says it's highly unlikely the extended warranty will cover this.

General Comments:

There are hundreds of identical cases of this problem documented on the Internet. According to an operator of an independent service center on www.consumeraffairs.com, Daimler Chrysler "attempts to cover up the fact that the engine is (in trade terms) a smog sludge motor... the engine develops sludge."

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd August, 2003

2000 Dodge Durango SLT 5.9 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.9 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired62 miles
Most recent distance44500 miles
Previous carToyota Truck

Summary:

Great except for gas mileage, but that was expected

Faults:

Other than my sister throwing up in the car, the only problem I have had are the bushings, which were replaced by the dealer. I was concerned about the brakes being undersized for the vehicle based on the first couple of model years for the Durango, but has not been a concern for me. I have not experienced the troubles with the windows as others have. However, I have had trouble with the cruise control being sporadic.

General Comments:

Love the power, stylings, sound system, and interior. However, in the future I will buy an environmentally friendly SUV.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th August, 2003

5th Sep 2003, 14:51

I too have had problems with sporadic cruise control. The dealer has replaced the computer, the clock spring and to no avail, the cruise will not work at all. The cruise would work sometimes, but would disengage especially when the vehicle had run for a while (the engine had reached its normal heating temperature). The dealer still cannot fix the problem and it is very frustrating.

2000 Dodge Durango SLT 4.7 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.7 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.6 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance37000 miles
Previous cartoyota tacoma

Summary:

One problem after another

Faults:

There is a rattling (metal to metal) coming from the front left wheel setup. I'm not sure exactly what it is and either does the dealer. I have had it in 4 times now in 4 months for the same noise. It rattles when going over bumps, but does not rattle when I am applying the brake. They said they replaced a spring the first time, but that evidently was not the problem. Then they said they could not pinpoint the noise.

There is a vibration in the brake pedal when coming to a stop. I think it is related to the above problem.

When sitting at idle, there is a vibration of the whole vehicle (spontaneous, not a pattern to the vibration)

The transmission is slipping when going from a stop.

There is a grinding noise that goes with the rotation of the tires when turning under 15 mph.

When the wheels are turned all the way to the left, there is a jolt every rotation of the wheels. This sort of feels like the vehicle is in 4-wheel drive.

General Comments:

After spending so much money on this vehicle, there should be no problems, atleast not within the first couple months. It is a comfortable ride, but I don't think it will last too long after reading all these complaints.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th July, 2003

6th Feb 2008, 23:57

I recently heard that durangos have problems with the front ball joints. Might try that. Its caused a lot of accidents. But, I'm not a mechanic.

2000 Dodge Durango Sport 407 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 407 Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance73000 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

Do not buy

Faults:

The oil pressure in our 2000 Dodge Durango dropped to 0. Luckily we were within a few blocks of our service man. We dropped the car off for 1 days - we've just been informed that to to "oil sludge" in the engine, the car is undrivable with unrepairable damage to the engine. The engine will need to be replaced. $6,000! The car has 27,000 miles on it and we still owe $20,000! I called Auto west Dodge in fermont, ca to ask if they had heard of any similar problems and was told "no, never." I then started looking on line and have found numerous examples of the same problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th July, 2003

7th Aug 2003, 06:10

I have a similar problem. I have 1998 Durango that I purchased with 26,000 miles on it 2 years ago. Last week as we were going on vacation, the oil pressure dropped to 0 and the check gauges light came on. I pulled over to the side of the road immediately. To make a long story short, I was told the motor was shot and now have to put a new one in. I called around to find out if there were any reported problems with the Durangos and all the dealers said no. I did a simple search on the INTERNET and found many people like myself.

Dodge should own up to their mistake and do something about this engine.

I am in the process of telling all my friends who have Durangos about this problem. This will definitely be my last Dodge vehicle.

2nd Jan 2004, 08:31

I certainly agree with the previous comments made about the Dodge Durango. At 36k I heard a knocking coming from my 1998 Dodge Durango. I took it to the dealer who said he did an engine clean. I thought that was odd for such low mileage, but was relieved it was fixed.

Despite regular maintenance, my engine blew at 80k due to the oil pressure dropping to 0 and sludge in the engine. They claim it was lack of maintenance, but that is simply not true.

Like the others that have commented, I searched the web to find HUNDREDS of people with the same complaint, same symptoms, and the same final statement -- This is my LAST DODGE!

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 86 reviews