2000 Dodge Durango Reviews - Page 13 of 24

2000 Dodge Durango SLT 4.7 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.7 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired9 miles
Most recent distance41000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Prix

Summary:

Space for 7 and then some with the cargo area-perfect family vehicle

Faults:

All in all, it's been pretty good... little things have come up, but have been resolved quickly. I don't like the captain chairs they are very uncomfortable, too long of a drive and my back kills me and the ride is a bit bumpy. My husbands Ford Truck rides better! I am only considering a new car at this time as my commute to work has doubled and I need to find a more efficient GAS running vehicle. Terrible depreciation on this vehicle.. paid just over $30,000 for it in late 2000, with only 41000 miles-just out of warranty and it's worth around $12,000!! I might consider keeping it really instead of taking that loss.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th February, 2004

23rd Mar 2004, 11:36

If you are concerned with the gas mileage, try a installing a Tornado or any part that acts as a Tornado and it will save you on gas. It did to me on my 2000 Durango 4X4, with a 5.9L engine.

2000 Dodge Durango SLT 5.3 liter from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.3 liter Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired1 miles
Most recent distance82000 miles

Summary:

Dodge needs to recall the Durango for the transmission

Faults:

I love my Durango, but, just like other customers, the door locks make the loud sound when locking. We had this repaired at the dealer on one door, but it has started on another.

Transmission seems to be slipping. Not sure how much it will cost to have it repaired. If anyone has any information where I can get a new or rebuilt transmission, please email me at doitlynne@hotmail.com.

General Comments:

The Durango is the best looking SUV on the road. When working properly, it is the best performance SUV on the road. Hence the words working properly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th February, 2004

15th Jun 2004, 16:17

I too love my 2000 Durango R/T, with 65K miles on it, but the transmission was slipping also. I am sorry to say that the bill was $2500.00 to repair it. I have seen that this may be a recurring problem or weakness with the Durango, in other statements. I do hope that it is recalled at some point and time.

2000 Dodge Durango SLT 4.7 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.7 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance58000 miles
Previous carJeep Cherokee

Summary:

Overall I enjoy the vehicle, but transmission failure is a high costs repair

Faults:

Had transmission rebuilt at 57,000 miles.

General Comments:

Dodge needs to address this problem. I have wrote to them with no reply.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th January, 2004

31st Mar 2004, 23:30

My 2000 Durango only had 32,000 miles when I bought it on May of 2003. I noticed that the transmission began to leak at 35,000 miles. It turned out that the transmission needed to be rebuilt. Fortunately, I bought the extended warranty from the dealer. The warranty company even sent an inspector to verify that the repair would be legitimate. So, I ended up dishing out $250 on a $1900 job. I would've been one upset cat had I not purchased the warranty! Despite it all, I'm still enjoying the car. Although, the high price of gas is hurting the pockets.

21st Jun 2004, 12:25

I purchased my 2000 Durango in late 2000 and this weekend, with only 60,040 miles the transmission went out. I was on my way home from Father's Day weekend and it would not transfer gears at all. There was no prior problems with the transmission and we had it serviced only a few weeks before. The dealership said they would half the cost with us, but they want almost $3400 to rebuild the transmission and the auto repair shops want $1800- so much for their GENEROUS offer to split the cost. Additionally, after reading lots of other comments from customer complaints about their Durango's, I've noticed all out other vehicle problems are not uncommon. The rear window motor going out, the A/C that never blows cool air, and the brakes that slip.

18th Jan 2005, 08:26

I don't have any problems with my transmission (we're at 85k miles now), unless it's cold. We're in south Texas, so that's rare, but when it does happen, it doesn't want to change gears. I can't imagine living somewhere where it's cold a lot. It would be very problematic.

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 86 reviews