2000 Dodge Durango Reviews - Page 11 of 24

2000 Dodge Durango SLT 4.7 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.7 V8 Semi-Automatic
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired39500 miles
Most recent distance56100 miles
Previous carDodge Neon

Summary:

A nice SUV, but expensive to fix

Faults:

The Fuel pump quit at 42000 miles.

At 48000 miles I had to replace the front brakes and pads.

General Comments:

A real nice SUV.

Even though I have had to put about $1000.00 in repairs since I bought it last year, It is a real nice truck to drive, But a little hard on Gas.

My only concern has been when I was in an accident this past winter (I hit a tree head on) my airbags never deployed. The dealership had no answer for that even though the whole front end was taken out.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th July, 2004

25th Feb 2006, 00:10

No kidding! If your airbags had deployed, you'd be looking at a lot more than a $3500 repair.

Happy Driving!

28th May 2007, 18:29

This is another comment from the person who wrote the original comment. My durango now has 110.000 miles on it. I have only had to replace tires and brake pads. I love My durango hope it lasts me years to come.

3rd Sep 2007, 21:03

This is from the person who wrote the original entry.

The truck would not pass inspection this year the ball joints were shot had to be replaced (the truck had 115000 miles on it).

Front brakes had to be replaced (they were only 2 years old)

It also was having issues with the Engine just stalling out at any given moment.

Just traded it for another SUV that was better on gas and is supposed to have a good reputation.

I would not buy another Durango just too thursty on gas and too expensive to keep fixing. It is a nice truck, but you need to have the check book along with it to keep up with the repairs.

2000 Dodge Durango R/T 5.9L Tritan V8 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.9L Tritan V8 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired48450 miles
Most recent distance48850 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

What a great ride, with all the power you need

Faults:

The front bumper was replaced before I got it, due to an accident.

General Comments:

The R/T has a great power to weight ratio.

It has a real comfortable interior.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th July, 2004

27th Dec 2005, 00:11

Um, your Durango has a 5.9L _MAGNUM_ engine and not a Triton. A Magnum engine is a Chrysler motor and was first used in production vehicles in 1992 when the 5.2L motor was introduced. A year later, in 1993, the 5.9L motor was used on production vehicles. First the Ram truck got the 5.9L and later the Dakota and then the finally the Durango.

27th Dec 2005, 11:47

The use of the "Magnum" engine by dodge goes back to the 60's, and the classic muscle cars that had the big block 440, etc. Check out a classic Dodge Daytona, say from 1969, with a 440 Magnum engine. These cars were just plain awesome, and the trunk wing such a unique finishing touch. You could go from the street to the track in one trip.

2000 Dodge Durango V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired2 miles
Most recent distance36000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Not as reliable or as safe as I would like

Faults:

Problem with a transmission seal right after three year warranty.

Most recently, upper ball joints failed inspection at 36,000 miles.

General Comments:

When I was told the upper ball joints failed inspection on my 36,000 mile Durango, I decided to research the problem. I discovered that for months there has been an investigation ongoing with the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration concerning whether premature wear of ball joints has been the cause of numerous accidents.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th July, 2004

2000 Dodge Durango not sure not sure from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission not sure Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired18000 miles
Most recent distance40000 miles
Previous carGeo Prizm

Faults:

It is a very nice riding vehicle.

The only major problems I have with it are rather important to the safety of anyone who drives one.

First off the throttle gets stuck last time I almost got wrapped around a tree because of this.

I took it to the dealer and they said that it was a fluke, I am finding that hard to believe from what I have been finding about this issue with this vehicle on the net.

The other issue is drive shaft snapped when I hit a pot hole in the road, I know damage can occure from hitting pot holes, however, I was only going 35mph.

General Comments:

It is cozy and the power is good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th June, 2004

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 86 reviews