2000 Dodge Durango SLT 4.7L from North America


Best SUV on/off the road!


Excellent rig! all I do is add gas, have it serviced every 3k, plugs, a/t flushed and coolant replaced every 30k, drive belt at 50k, and I replaced the tires twice.

General Comments:

Prefect size for me needs, outstanding performance, good fuel economy (18highway loaded), I', a photographer and it cuts my traveling expenses almost by letting to rear seats down and sleeping in the back every other night while going from sight to sight... I cannot be more pleased!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st December, 2006

2000 Dodge Durango from North America


Not worth it


The Durango fit all of our needs and it looked nice. We had no problems in the beginning, only that quickly changed. The seats are tearing and fading.

The car over heats when its hot outside. The car over heats if we turn the air conditioner on in the back and front. We took the Durango in to be looked at and was told there is nothing they can find. We can't go through traffic without pulling over to allow the car to cool off.

The oil gets changed on a regular basis.

Now the motor light came on.

The battery cables need to be shifted to get the car started.

General Comments:

The car is very spacious and comfortable.

This car feels as if it is going to turn over very easy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th September, 2006

2000 Dodge Durango SLT 5.9 from North America


Good car, Good value, Take care of it and it will take care of you!


The only problems I have had with this car is the back windshield wiper had to be replaced as it was loose.

I had to replace the thermostat housing at 65,000 miles because it got a crack in it, but only cost me $20.00. I installed myself.

The driver side second seat handle to bring the seat up does not work, but hasn't since I purchased it.

General Comments:

This is a very powerful SUV it has the 5.9 liter engine.

The third row seat it a little tight, but comes in handy.

Just normal wear and tear other than that, its stylish and has run very good thus far.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd May, 2006

2000 Dodge Durango RT 5.9 litre from North America


Excellent tow vehicle


My biggest problem with this vehicle 2000 Durango RT. I finally got fixed after reading of another Durango owner with similar problems that wrote into a column that a well known Boston auto repair expert diagnosed. The problem was an annoying shifting of the vehicle ranging from 150-200 RPM between RPM ranges of 2,000-2200 RPM during normal acceleration. I had taken the Durango to several repair shops with no resolution until I followed the advice of the above named mechanic and changed the transmission modulator valve. It was a $20 item and easily installed on the outside of the transmission. Since then the annoying revolution changes has been eliminated. Other than the RT has to use a high quality grade of premuim fuel and is heavy on gas it is a fine SUV.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 21st May, 2006

15th May 2007, 20:39

What did the annoying change sound like? Your best description, because I have a sound when going up hills or going from one gear to the next (it seems)


2000 Dodge Durango SLT from North America


I think it is a nice vehicle


My 2000 Dodge Durango was a Programmed Car, but it was in good condition when I bought it. Then...

Btw - the AC went out (while we were on family vacation about 500 miles from home)

I had to get the compressor and dryer replaced to solve that problem.

Driver side door and rear passenger door no longer locks. They also makes the loud noise when locking. I was told that the actuator need to be replaced. It will cost approx. $500 to replace both.

Btw - fan clutch went out (while on vacation again. Had to rent a car and SUV had to be towed home). Fan clutch had to be replaced. I thought that would be it.

Shortly after that, my transmission appeared to be straining, my RMPs would go up until I get to 45-50 mph then would drop down to 1-2 rpms. So my transmission had to be rebuilt. The transmission seems to still be straining, but I haven't taken it back to the mechanic yet.

If anyone out there is having the same problem I am having with the RPMs, please respond. Thank you.

General Comments:

I like my Dodge Durango other than the problems, I think it really has served me well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd May, 2006

9th Jan 2007, 16:27

On your rpm deal its the egr valve on the intake its sticking.

9th Jan 2007, 16:49

I could have been wrong about the egr valve, anyway it has to do with to much air or not enough.