2000 Dodge Durango SLT V8 5.2 from North America


I'm buying another one!!



General Comments:

I own a 2000 Durango, and am getting ready to buy my second; a 2003. I love everything about them (power, ride, room, comfort, stability,). But before I bought my first, I checked all the auto review sites to see what people had to say about them. Almost all the complaints I have read have something to do with the ball joints, so with a quick Google search, I found out that 2000-2003.5 ball joint have been recalled. I don’t know if people are paying little shops to fix their ball joint problem and paying for it, or taking them to the dealer for the recall. I figured I would write this reply, just so people know if they do have a problem with their ball joints, or do not want to buy a Durango because of this problem, it is a manufacturer recall that will be fixed for free.

Please don’t let this problem be the deciding factor in buying this vehicle. Like any major purchase, do your own research, but as far as I am concerned, they are an awesome overall SUV.

The only gripe I have is the gas mileage, but they aren’t much different than any other 4x4 I have researched.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th October, 2005

2000 Dodge Durango SLT 5.9 from North America


Well, here we go: engine went kaboom last week. Took it in to diagnose, and sludge in the engine; threw several rods; valve embedded in cylinder; anyway: looked like scrambled eggs inside. Conclusion from indep shop: install rebuilt engine at 51k miles at $1600; parts/labor, etc all came out to under $5k; did my homework: got a '98 1500 engine with 79k miles for $800 with comps at 165-185, 6 mos warranty; had it delivered to Juan's auto for $900 labor install; parts at $300, 2.5 days later got it back... oil pressure gauge fluctuating below 40 and above 40 intermittently. Getting ready to sell it. Interested?

General Comments:

I love the Durango; excellent camping SUV; reliable, until engine blew: I did all oil changes, including Lucas oil stabilizer; do my own plugs/wires/ dist cap and rotor. Maybe go with the FX45, or lease the Nissan Pathfinder SE.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th October, 2005

6th Nov 2005, 15:44

I really like my Durango until a whole bunch of things went wrong in the engine. I too, am getting ready to sell it. I maybe going back to buying Acura's models.

2000 Dodge Durango 5.9L from North America


Truly Horrible Auto


Transmission, ball joints, power train, serpentine belts.

General Comments:

Worst car mechanically owned car ever!!! Have driven the car for 4K miles and regret every second spent in it. This SUV is not a good buy. I also encourage everyone to never buy a Dodge, horrible automobiles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th October, 2005

2000 Dodge Durango Sport 4.7 litre from North America




After 5 years and 325,000 Kms I really can't complain. Here's a list of problems I've had, mostly due to wear and tear:

- ABS Sensor (Replaced Under warranty)

- Front Brakes (Pads wore out after 250,000 Kms)

- Clutch Fan fell off (apparently I'm the only guy in Canada that had this problem?)

- A/C Compressor ceased and caused fan belt to snap. Occurred after 300,000Km.

- Radiator and Water Pump shot. Occurred after 310,000 Kms. I attribute this to wear and tear.

General Comments:

Overall, I've been very happy with this vehicle. It's a tank in the winter, has never let me down. The 4WD is great.

The engine is running well and still doesn't burn any oil. I have religiously changed the oil, tranny fluid.

It is hard on gas and that's the only reason I'm considering a trade to a more fuel efficient vehicle. I will miss it once it's gone though.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th September, 2005

2000 Dodge Durango from North America


Good looking, but lots of problems


Help!! Anyone had this problem with their 2000 Dodge Durango? Drive it for 10 minutes and it shuts down. In the odometer field it says "no bus". The truck will turn over, but won't start. Wait 2 hours and it starts right back up. Maybe the ECM?

Any help, email me gpwhls@inreach.com

General Comments:

Had a lot of problems with this 2000 Dodge Durango. This is the latest; the shutting down problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd August, 2005

6th Aug 2005, 01:31

I just ran into the same problem about 2 hours ago. If anybody knows how to fix it please let us know.

8th Aug 2005, 22:43

I just had the same problem with my 1999 Durango SLT with ~54K miles on it. Doing 65+ MPH coming down a hill and poof, the engine stops. After 5-10 minutes it started up, ran for 10 minutes and stopped again. This was after numerous occurrences where the truck died while parked or barely moving. Decided best choice was to have the truck towed 110 miles to the dealership. The dealership is telling me the computer is fried. It has nothing in it. Luckily, according to the rep this computer along with the cat converter is one of the few things that carries a federal mandated 8 yr 80K mile warranty (emissions deal I guess).

They installed a new one, took it for a test drive and 4 miles out it died on them. That's got to be a first! Anyway, something seems to be shorting out the computer module so waiting for another 'new' computer module and will go from there. Don't be fooled if the vehicle starts up again and seems to run fine. My Durango has done this several times in the past and since it started up again I ignored it. Doing 65+ MPH and having it go out coming down a hill is NOT much fun. Luckily the road was straight and had a wide shoulder. Could have been a different story had the road been windy as you lose power steering and brakes.