2001 Dodge Durango Reviews - Page 10 of 12

2001 Dodge Durango SLT 4.7L from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.7L Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.6 / 10
Distance when acquired85 miles
Most recent distance36000 miles
Previous carPlymouth Voyager

Summary:

Fun car to drive, but definitely not worth the price

Faults:

The steering column required replacement. (which was recalled)

Automatic locking system had water leak problems that shorted out the system. (common problem in Dodge Durangos)

Water leak in body seam required repair. (fixed two times)

Drivers side passenger door required 4 separate service calls due to a water leak.

The tailgate rattled quite a bit. (fixed 2 times, but still rattled)

The clock-spring required 2 separate repairs. (air bag problem)

18 months after purchasing the car, we mailed all the service paperwork off to the Arbitration Board who ruled that Chrysler had to provide us with a new vehicle. They declared our Durango a Lemon.

General Comments:

How do you spell Lemon? : D-U-R-A-N-G-0.

Very disappointed in the way Chrysler treats it's customers. They were very rude and unwilling to help with the problems.

Fun car to drive, but definitely not worth the price.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th August, 2003

4th Feb 2005, 11:38

I have a 1999 Durango that has many repairs as well. I tried to get help with a problem with the front disc brakes, but Chrysler basically told me it was my problem not theirs. To this day I have to change brakes and rotor (high performance after market) every year. It is true that it's a great car to drive, but mechanically it is the worst I have ever seen. Chrysler is in no way customer oriented and in no way helpful when a problem arises. However, when it was time to take my money they did it with a big smile.

2001 Dodge Durango Sport 4.7 litre V8 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.7 litre V8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired27000 miles
Most recent distance33000 miles
Previous carIsuzu Rodeo

Summary:

If Dodge keeps this up there will soon be no competition

Faults:

I have had no faults with this vehicle as of yet.

General Comments:

For an SUV this vehicle really gets off the line quickly.

This vehicle is also very spacious as far as cargo space it takes you back to a time when you bought and SUV because you wanted space and not just looks.

Don't get me wrong though! We all know this car has the looks.

Also the comfort of this vehicle will knock your socks off, especially when you get a load of those theater like seats.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th August, 2003

2001 Dodge Durango SLT 4X4 4.7L SOHC V8 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.7L SOHC V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired50 miles
Most recent distance35756 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

This is the toughest most versatile vehicle I have ever owned

Faults:

The driver-side brake caliper began to leak at approximately 23,000 miles.

One of the brackets on the driver's side seat is broken, but will be repaired under warranty.

General Comments:

While shopping for this vehicle, I was looking primarily for third row seating for my children. After driving all of the mini-vans on the market and being underwhelmed by the reliability of the Ford and Dodge products (most of the problems were with the V-6 engines and Transmissions), I began to look into the sport-utility products.

After driving the high dollar Nissan, Toyota, and Chevy products, I decided to take a look at Dodge. In the Durango I found a vehicle which was;

1) imminently more affordable than the Toyota, Nissan, or Chevy sport-utilities.

2) had much better acceleration and handling than all except the highest end offerings from Chevy and Toyota, and.

3) was much quieter and refined in its driving than the ford explorer.

I have been overjoyed with the performance of my vehicle and chalk-up what few problems I do have to the fact that I drive this vehicle off road daily, and perhaps a bit rougher than anyone should.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th May, 2003

21st Oct 2005, 02:16

I'm surprised you give the Durango such kudos considering all the malfunctions you listed.

You don't find the broken seat bracket a little odd? The quality of the bracket is about the same as a die cast model.

My employer bought four Durangos, and two of them have already suffered the broken seat brackets, and blown transmissions.

20th Nov 2005, 15:51

Well of course transmissions blown you said they are cop cars I believe they don't get driven lightly that's for sure!! and as for the broken seat brackets well maybe they should consider a diet plan maybe!! I own a 2001 Durango 4.7L V8 with 82,000 miles NO problems love the heated seats and towing pkg. plus wood grain dash!! my seat never broke?? and trans is fine!!

2nd May 2008, 08:44

I'm 19, just I bought a 2001 Durango 4.7 two years ago, I beat the crap out of it and as long as you change the oil and trans fluid, it will last.

Amazing truck, great off-road.

16th Dec 2008, 10:41

I bought mine brand new back in 2001, and have put 146,000 miles on it and have not even had to put new spark plugs in yet.

Runs like brand new, and all I have done is replace the brakes, tires, and air filters. I still have the factory belt on the engine.

I obviously don't drive it hard, but it is easily the most reliable vehicle I have ever owned, and that list includes 2 BMW's, 1 Chevy, and even 2 Volkswagen Jettas.

MOPAR or NOCAR.

Average review marks: 5.9 / 10, based on 47 reviews