2001 Dodge Durango Reviews - Page 9 of 12

2001 Dodge Durango SLT 4.7 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.7 Automatic
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.5 / 10
Distance when acquired58000 miles
Most recent distance71000 miles
Previous carDodge Durango

Summary:

I've purchased a lemon.

Faults:

My engine locked at 71,000 miles.

No indication of engine malfunction or warning.

The engine light came own literally 12hours after the truck stopped working.

General Comments:

I purchased a 2001 Dodge Durango SLT in Lithia Springs, GA on April 3, 2004. On, October 4, 2004, my Durango stopped on a crowded Atlanta highway during rush hour. This was really scary, as the engine light came on just the day before and I checked the oil levels as well. The oil indicated it was time for a oil change, however there were no obvious signs of things going bad (loud noises, difficulty driving, etc.). I also purchased an extended warranty on this vehicle, and I was told by the warranty company that they would not authorize any repairs unless, I the consumer authorized the dealer to remove the oil pan for $400. I was also, told from the dealer, that while completing their inspection, it was found that there is a crack in the engine block and the engine has completely locked. I have only had the Durango for 6 months, and I am almost sure that the extended warranty company is not going to pay out. They are already hinting at signs of vehicle neglect.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th October, 2004

6th Dec 2004, 08:15

YOU are hinting at signs of vehicle neglect.

The engine light came on the day before and the oil INDICATED that it was time for a change???

How did the oil do this? Did you pull out the dipstick and find taffy-like sludge???

Anyway it sure doesn't sound like you were changing your oil every 3000 miles.

You know you can't just drive a car until a warning light comes on, and then maintain it.

26th Feb 2006, 20:08

I am considering purchasing a durango coming from the same area and wanted to make sure that it was not the same vehicle, and that's why I am getting such a great deal on it. To verify this please include the first 3 and last 2 characters on your VIN please.

Don't want to buy a vehicle with serious problems right off the bat.

2001 Dodge Durango SLT 4.7 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.7 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired9600 miles
Most recent distance9800 miles
Previous carDodge Durango

Summary:

I would buy another, but I would make sure front end is perfect

Faults:

9,600 miles on a 2001 ram 1500, for some reason the truck will not drive straight. Wheels and tires have been balanced and rotated. Brought the truck back to the dealer and they can't find a problem. The entire front end has been gone over and they can't tell me what's wrong.

It's too bad because its the 3rd Dodge I've owned, never had any serious problems. The truck tends to drift a lot and the steering wheel is always cocked to the left to drive straight.

General Comments:

Very nice looking rugged truck, problems with the front end, dealer can't seem to find the problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th July, 2004

2001 Dodge Durango SLT 4.7 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.7 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.6 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance23000 miles
Previous carDodge Durango

Summary:

Not a safe vehicle

Faults:

Front brakes and rotors replaced at 20000 miles.

Driver side front suspension collapsed at 65mph in rush hour traffic resulting in crash and rollover. The first indication of this was when the top side of the front wheel appeared beside the front fender. The vehicle then became uncontrollable.

General Comments:

I owned another Durango (98 model) and the dealer replaced the ball-joints at about 20000miles.

This vehicle is a disaster waiting to happen. Once it starts to roll you are sunk!

Both vehicles have never been off-road and were serviced every 3000 miles by the dealer.

If you own a Durango get them to check your front suspension/ball joints.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd September, 2003

22nd Jul 2004, 10:56

I brought my 98 Durango in for an A/C leak. While changing my oil he noticed that my transfer case was leaking and then noted my valve cover gaskets were also leaking. Since we were on a gremlin hunt we checked several other items and found that the lower ball joints were extremely worn. These four items all happened at just over 60K miles. How sad. I sold my Ford Explorer with 85K miles on it and had never even visited the dealership and never had a recall.

22nd Sep 2006, 14:42

I have a 2001 Durango SLT, I bought it new, right now I have 110,000 and the only thing that I replaced were the brakes, once, besides regular oil changes. I often run out of gas because I don't have time though.

Average review marks: 5.9 / 10, based on 47 reviews