2001 Dodge Durango Reviews - Page 12 of 12

2001 Dodge Durango from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.4 / 10
Distance when acquired2 miles
Most recent distance18000 miles
Previous carDodge Caravan

Summary:

A suitable car for our family, but serious concerns now

Faults:

Electrical fire, from the cable that passes under the driver/ center bench seat area.

General Comments:

The electrical fire began with a good amount of smoke emminating from underneath the front bench seat.

Within a few seconds... there were small flames.

Fire and police responded. The fire department determined it was the electric cable under the bench seat.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th July, 2002

2001 Dodge Durango SLT Plus 4x4 5.9L from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 5.9L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance30500 miles
Previous carPontiac Sunbird

Summary:

A pleasing SUV and a decent buy when you compare with equal competition

Faults:

At 3000 miles a small paint flaking was noticed under the passenger side front wheel flare. I dropped the car off at the Dodge service department had the wheel flare repainted in one day. No further paint issues other than stone chips in the front bumper.

Around the same mileage, slight rust was noticed around the front windows, but it is not from the door frame, just the window's metal retaining clips. The rust is barely noticeable. I scrape it away (from view every so often).

The interior plastic in the cargo area can be easily scraped by transporting large items that aren't secured, but that's why I bought it! I secure cargop now and have no further issues.

General Comments:

I have NOT experienced any engine, transmission, seat/window motor, alarm, or other functional problems and am quite pleased with the vehicle.

I am curious to know which specific engines and transmissions have had difficulties and if it is limited to a specific model year (s).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th April, 2002

5th Sep 2004, 20:50

I've been looking at getting a 2001 Durango RT, but trying to find out more about them. Right now it's a toss-up between the Durango and the newer Grand Cherokees. Personally, I'm a Jeep guy... But that third row seat would come in quite handy.

If you get fed up with your transmission problem and would consider selling yours, let me know.

2nd Oct 2004, 07:59

I've got a 1999 Grand Cherokee Limited, love it. Recently went to a Jeep dealer and they say the 2006 Grand Cherokees are slated to have a third row seat! I'm looking for a Dodge for the same third seat in the mean time.

24th Feb 2005, 07:13

If your transmission is similar to what they put in Jeeps, that is, if it is electronically controlled through solenoids, then a solenoid may have gone bad. A bad solenoid would explain why it works in some gears some of the time, but not all the gears will work as they should or shift in the order they should.

2001 Dodge Durango SLT+ 4.7 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.7 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired91 miles
Most recent distance36000 miles
Previous carChevrolet S-10

Summary:

Greatest Sport-ute out there

Faults:

I love my 2001 Durango. I bought it in March of 2001 and have had none of the aforementioned problems. The only issue I had was where some bird droppings damaged the paint on the hood. The dealership repainted the entire hood without opposition. They also provided me with a rental Sport Utility every time.

General Comments:

Before I bought this vehicle, I test drove Explorers, Blazers, Tahoes, Expeditions and other Sport Utilities. There was nothing that compared to the ride, handling, and looks of the Durango. The only thing I can complain about is the fuel economy, but that could probably be helped with less right-foot pressure.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th January, 2002

2001 Dodge Durango SLT 4.9 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4.9 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance5100 miles
Previous carChrysler Cirrus

Summary:

A serious accident just waiting to happen

Faults:

At high speed (70+ MPH) the transmission has a habit of changing from Drive to Second. This obviously causes an immediate reduction in speed, of approx. 10 - 15 MPH, with no indication of this to the vehicle behind.

Today, September 3 2001, the problem occurred at 75 MPH with a semi-truck following. I do not know how the truck managed to slow down in time to not rear end us. This would have been a serious accident if the truck had run into the Durango.

After stopping, reselecting drive and calming down I immediately returned the Durango to the dealership for their follow up. I will not drive another Durango and will be trading the vehicle regardless of any dealer offered solutions to the problem.

General Comments:

Great comfort on long journeys.

The only "Problem" is the one listed above!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd September, 2001

11th Oct 2001, 07:44

IF the problem only occurs when going over 70, then why go that fast? Isn't the maximum speed limit in the US only 70 MPH?

14th Jan 2002, 21:12

Nope, in South Dakota, you can go 75 MPH on the interstates.

29th Jan 2002, 06:40

Just sounds like the Throttle Position Sensor has failed or is gunked up. Easy fix, common problem.

12th Aug 2003, 10:41

The Dodge Durango doesn't actually lose speed. It just feels that way when you reach high speeds because when the vehicle is started the Overdrive is on once you reach a certain speed you should cut it off, realize how much more gas your giving it than needed, set your foot on the petal right and cut it back on. "that's one of it's best safety features".

5th Mar 2004, 22:30

Just wanted to comment on the last entry. We just bought our Durango and it to does the same thing and it is when you are at a high speed like interstate speed. But if this is such an easy fix why doesn't Dodge fix the problem instead of selling more vehicles with the same problem. I really love the Durango, but it is not safe for someone to be going the speed limit of 65 and have the car get sluggest. I think Dodge should fix the problem and satisfy the customers that they have.

23rd Jun 2004, 20:13

The 2001 Durango SLT that I bought a couple of weeks ago is the best vehicle I had. No complaints so far. I live in Arizona and the speed limit here is 75 mph as well and I've had no problems with it. I hope your problem gets fixed and you reconsider keeping you Durango.

29th Jul 2004, 08:53

I bought a 2001 Durango two months ago. Just this morning I had the transmission slip several times on my way into work. I am extremely nervous that this is going to lead to a major problem and/or leave me stranded somewhere. Very upsetting since the vehicle is so new to us. I have done my research this morning and there seems to be a serious transmission problem in the Durango.

2001 Dodge Durango SLT 4.9L from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4.9L Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance4438 miles
Previous carGMC Typhoon

Summary:

I'd rather take public transportation

Faults:

My idle drops to 500 RPM when I come to a complete stop causing it to vibrate & shake.

General Comments:

The dealer has been giving me the run around. No one seems to want to help. I've had it 4 months & have taken it back 6 times within a 2 month period. Totaling 7 full days.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th August, 2001

11th Sep 2002, 09:36

I have had the same problem almost from day one on my 2001 Durango. My vehicle also stalls out about 50% of the time when this happens. Pretty dangerous when you are about to merge into traffic and the car goes dead! Other times it attempts to correct itself and will rev up to almost 2000 RPM while sitting still. If I don't have my foot on the brake hard enough it will lurch forward about a foot or so. So far I have not rear ended anyone or lurched into traffic. The service department cannot duplicate the problem. However, I am now on my 3rd gas tank. The gas tanks keep getting a bow in them and releasing bad emissions. They have told me that they are stumped and that they have been told to run some new tests to see what is causing this "suction" on the tanks. My car is in the shop as I type this for this very problem. Maybe, and it's a big maybe, the RPM problem will be fixed along with the gas tank problem! One can only hope.

Average review marks: 5.9 / 10, based on 47 reviews