1999 Dodge Intrepid Reviews - Page 2 of 51

1999 Dodge Intrepid ES 3.2L from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.2L Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired48000 miles
Most recent distance98500 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Eclipse

Summary:

Great car if you change the timing belt

Faults:

Inner tie rod replaced at 75000, only cost me $200.

CHANGE YOUR TIMING BELT AND WATER PUMP at around 80k!!! My timing belt went at 98000 miles and ruined the engine, so I ended up junking the car! If I would have fixed it, it would have lasted a couple more years.

Also don't get the 2.7L engine model, the 3.2L is very reliable compared the the flawed 2.7L.

General Comments:

The car is a very good car, very comfortable with the leather.

Handles very nice and I loved the shiftronic.

Not expensive for the car.

Very roomy.

Loved it.. wish I would have changed the timing belt.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th September, 2009

9th Sep 2009, 07:16

Your car doesn't have a timing belt! Did this reviewer mean the serpentine belt or did he mean the timing chain? There is a MAJOR difference.

25th Oct 2009, 18:24

The 3.2L V6 engine DOES have a timing belt.

1999 Dodge Intrepid 2.7L from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.7L Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.0 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance71000 miles
Previous carAudi 5000

Summary:

If you are thinking about buying a Dodge, search google for 2.7L Dodge

Faults:

The engine exploded at 71,000 miles.

General Comments:

Instead of buying a Dodge or any other Chrysler product, I would suggest hitting yourself in the face with an aluminum bat and throwing ten thousand dollars into the nearest lake or ocean. I wish I would have done that. At least I would have known that I was wasting a bunch of money that a twenty-one year old college student couldn't afford to throw away.

The customer service department at Dodge was very unhelpful, dishonest, and smug. The only help that I got was from a Nissan Rep. They do not stand by their products at Dodge!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th August, 2009

1999 Dodge Intrepid 2.7L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.7L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired139000 miles
Most recent distance150000 miles
Previous carChrysler Intrepid

Summary:

AWESOME exterior and interior, but please, do not buy this car... explanation inside

General Comments:

I wish I would have seen these reviews before I got my Intrepid! Had my Intrepid (first car) for 6 months, parked it, let it sit for a week during Christmas, moved it to the front of my house, and turned it off. Wouldn't start after that :\

After being diagnosed, we were told the timing change slipped (just slightly). We gave the car all new belts and new timing changes (the main, primary and secondary chains) put it back together and it doesn’t work >:|

Currently between deciding whether or not to put a little extra money into the car. Thinking I might be selling it for parts (kills me because it’s so nice interior AND exterior) because it does after all have 150000 miles on it (and reading all these reviews, I’m lucky to have gotten the maybe 12000 of my own miles into it (foolish choice to buy car with so many miles on it)).

I hope that for anyone considering a purchase of a Dodge Intrepid, they will seriously take these reviews into account.

This quote is from an elderly friend I once knew:

Being smart is learning from your own mistakes, but being wise is learning from other’s mistakes.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd August, 2009

1999 Dodge Intrepid LS 2.7 V6 JUNK!!! from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.7 V6 JUNK!!! Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.6 / 10
Distance when acquired60656 miles
Most recent distance90599 miles

Summary:

God bless anyone with this car!!

Faults:

Oh well let me just start by saying, every 2,000 to 5,000 miles the front brake pads needed to be replaced, and usually the rotors too. I had to do that 4 times in two years, about ($300) each time. This was probably happening because the back brakes were not helping to stop the car at all, and all the weight was placed on the front.

Another thing was the blower for the heat and air only worked when it was on high, I thought I fixed that problem ($250) for a new blower motor, and of course 3,000 miles later it went again.

The starter went, which left me stranded at work until finally I got it jumped, I never took care of that problem because I was broke from fixing the brakes, the blower, the engine tune up because of the ticking, and don't let me forget... The windows came off the track 3 times. Took care of that problem ($50).

Oh don't let me forget the front end was completely out of whack ($1,100). Finally around 90,000 miles I could feel that tranny starting to slip and there was a weird noise coming from the engine. Reading other reviews I was not in the financial state to pay over 5 grand for a car with so many miles. I threw in the towel and started to look for a new car.

Total for car: $5,000.00

Total cost for keeping it for the short time I had it: 2,700... I could only imagine what I would pay if I kept it for another year.

General Comments:

Don't get yourself into this mess!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st May, 2009

1st Jun 2009, 12:57

Hate to tell ya this after all the money you sunk into it, but you should get rid of it NOW before your engine seizes up, the 2.7 is a ticking time bomb literally, and you don't wanna have to replace the motor, trust me.

20th Jul 2009, 11:27

I haven't even owned my Intrepid for 2 months and I've had to replace brake pads and rotors, I have to keep oil in it because it burns oil and now the timing chain snapped and went through the engine. I would not recommend this car to anyone.

Average review marks: 5.4 / 10, based on 185 reviews