1999 Dodge Intrepid 2.7 from North America


A poor vehicle with no resale value that could put the average family into bankruptcy


30,000 miles transmission sensor

42,000 miles transmission sensor 2

59,000 miles electric windows switch

59,000 miles, high oil conusmption, Jay Wolfe Dodge, Lee's Summit Mo. said a quart of oil per 900 miles of driving normal

65,000 miles heater/ac control out

75,000 miles transmission sensor 3

89,000 miles oil consumption now at one quart per 600 miles, blue smoke from tail pipe extreme loss of power especially on hills. Dodge dealer says normal for the amount of miles.

99,000 miles blue smoke much worse, attempted to have extended warranty cover obvious defects, warranty company declined repairs estimated at over $5,000 because we could not prove oil was changed at 3000 miles although owners manual states oil change under normal conditions 7500 miles.

General Comments:

This is only a readers digest version. It would take a day to report each and every problem with this horrible vehicle. The service manager, who has been fired recently, told me months ago that we were lucky to have driven the car so many miles without complete motor failure. Not only do we have a vehicle that is ready to dye at any moment, but we still owe thousands more than it is worth. A local Pontiac dealer offered 1700.00 trade!!!

While the extended warranty covered some of the repairs, this car will turn out to be the most overall expensive vehicle I have ever or will ever own. They retain no value whatsoever. Under no circumstances purchase a Dodge, Chrysler or Jeep vehicle. Trust me.

Use any search engine and type "dodge defects" and start reading. Be prepared to spend several hours of blood boiling time reading other consumer complaints.

Class Action? Not sure if it would do any good, but I would be in for the fight.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th September, 2003

19th Nov 2003, 20:32

I also own a 2000 Dodge Intrepid and at 59,000 miles my oil light came on. Low & behold the oil was below the add mark. This was with only 1800 miles since the last oil change. Thinking maybe the serviceman did not put the propp amount of oil in it, I had it serviced again. This time keeping an eye on the oil. Again at 900 to 1000 miles the oil was a quart low. I then noticed that when taking off from a dead stop that every once in awhile light blue smoke would puff out the exhaust. The care continues to use a quart of oil every 800 to 1000 miles. What a lemon.

14th Feb 2004, 07:34

I had the same basic problem with my 99 Intrepid. I took my car into the shop repeatedly for a year. The service manager basically told me to drive it until it messed up; that way they could fix the right thing. What a joke.

21st Mar 2004, 15:33

I purchased an Intrepid 1999 in 2001, with an extended warranty. I was driving and my car started to run hot, smoking and sputtering. I made it to my destination, but the car would not start again. I had to add oil and let car cool down. On my way home I stopped at a service station to gas up and to add water to the radiator, and my car caught on fire. I was able to put it out with some effort and a little damage. Then when I took it to a dealer. I was told that my wiring harness had to be replaced, which had to be pulled 1st, if a problem was found the warranty would cover, if not I would have to pay about $600.00 to find out. I vetoed that option and then they decided that it was my alternator, a year later the exact same thing happened. Next, I found out that my radiator needed to be replaced along with other things that should not happen to a young car.

5th Jun 2004, 08:38


replace your engine with a 3.5 1-877-802-4336.

1999 Dodge Intrepid LX 2.7L from North America


A spacious rock when the engine seizes


I just purchased my wonderful 1999 Dodge Intrepid 2 months ago. It had 42,000 miles on it and I have put 4,000 Miles on it since then. Now it needs a new motor. It has the 2.7L It seems this motor has a reputation for going bad. I would like to explain to Dodge how I love having to drop thousands of dollars on a new motor on my "fairly" new car.

General Comments:

When you purchase a newer vehicle that has less than 50,000 miles on it you expect it to run for a while. Not with an Intrepid. If you are looking to purchase one DO NOT purchase one with a 2.7L. They are at high risk for motor failure at low miles. I wish I would have read this before my purchase. If you are reading this after the purchase of your 2.7L Intrepid you probably already know.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th September, 2003

17th Dec 2003, 06:22

I have purchased a 1998 Intrepid with a 2.7 engine, it started to make a lot of noise and engine light flickering on after only 300 km's of my purchase. I was told by a Chrysler dealership it needed a new engine and it was worn out, but I fail to see that a engine with only 180,000 km's or 105,00 miles could be needing replacement. The dealership said about $8000.00 would correct my problem. This and the purchase price I should have just bought a new vehicle of a different brand, if only one could turn back time. At least on the brighter side I now have a really good looking driveway ornament.

22nd Dec 2003, 19:24

I'm another proud owner of a 99 Intrepid yard ornament. I was fairly happy with the car after replacing all four brake rotors a fuel sensor not to mention the transmission being slow to respond on cold mornings. But when the engine seized up at 53,000 miles. and found out that the car in perfect running order was worth about half what I owe! I join the rest of you proud owners!!!

4th Mar 2004, 15:42

Just this week, March of 2004, my 99 Intrepid Seized up and I got the bill of $7000 to fix it. Looks like I'll be donating it to a charity who might be able to replace the engine. It really saddens me as the car was a really great car except for this latest incident, I also had the rotor problem and the window problem, but even with that, I was happy with the car. Dodge, I'm sorry, but this one ended my relationship with your company.